We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have been staying at the Ramada 4 times a year for the last 7 or so years. Generally I find it a pleasant stay in comfortable surroundings. However, I must say that my recent visit was a disappointment. I entered my room to find it possibly the smallest room I have ever stayed in, and if they think that is a Queen size bed, I have news. I own a Queen size, and this was not it!
After that I noticed an awful smell which I tracked down as the floor waste in the bathroom. I opened the balcony door to ventilate and covered the waste. I then had a shower only to find the soap holder was broken and my soap and shampoo kept falling on the floor.
Due to the small size of the room, it was difficult to set up my bag and the ironing board at the same time.
The following morning, I turned the TV on to watch some news whilst getting ready. It didn t work.
As I said, I am a regular business traveller to Ballina and I often have a colleague with me. My stays overall have been good. But of late, the rooms allocated to me seem to be at the bottom end of what is available. Small, no table or lounge, broken fittings, etc.
As a business traveller, I do like that little bit of space that a lounge or table offers for doing that bit of work at the end of the day. I know these rooms are there. I have stayed in them.
On several occasions I have stated that I would like various points noted in my profile about room location, etc and have been told this has been done. I am finding this is generally not the case.
I reported the room faults to the front desk upon checking out and the maintenance issues were noted.
I just hope that my future stays at the Ramada go back to match my earlier ones, because the experience in the last 12 months has not been fabulous.

Room Tip: Lower floors near Martin Street do suffer from a/c noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracois29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Tracois29 Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Apologies for the maintenance issues you mentioned. As you would know from previous visits this is not our standard. I am unable to comment on your room allocation as I do not know which room type you booked, or the circumstance associated with your booking. You seem to have described two different room types. If you could please make yourself known to reception and myself on your next stay we can address this for you. I look forward to speaking with you. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    273
    55
    25
    5
See reviews for
108
362
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
byron
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a 1 night getaway while nana was here to mind the kids - liked it so much we stayed a second night (& would have stayed longer if nana didn't have to go back home!). Beautiful, big clean suites, super comfy king bed. Very friendly and efficient service. Really nice rooftop pool. Everything we needed was right there, loved it - bliss! Can't wait to go there again! I have put it on my birthday wish list.

Room Tip: we had a pool side suite, as we just wanted to swim & lay about in the pool and have easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Ramada at Ballina is situated in a magic position on the Richmond river. There is a walking path all along the water way suitable for walking, bikes etc.
The hotel itself is well appointed. The rooms are on the small side with a maximum of 18 inches between the end of the bed and the entertainment unit. They have also followed the tend of opening the bathroom into the bedroom, so that sitting on the loo and looking at the river is an option! The bathrooms are very large with full bath and double vanity, separate shower & toilet.
The cupboard was too narrow to properly hang clothes and definitely had room in the room to correct this.
I did find the bed a little too firm & felt that a cushion top underlay would be of benefit
The restaurant called the Point was excellent for meals and breakfast. Staff attentive, food quality and variety above expectation - an all round great experience.
One word of warning - checkout is at 11am - I checked out at 1125 and due to business meeting running over and was charged a $20 late checkout fee! This is a first for me anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Don't be late checking out. Riverfront rooms have huge balcony with quite a few rooms opening on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived on dusk and were very efficiently checked in. Our room (405) overlooked the river although as a hotel room the walls of the balcony did rather limit the width of the view! King size bed - very comfortable sleep. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful sitting out on the terrace next to the river. Very friendly staff on front desk on arrival and departure and in the restaurant. A great find and we would not consider other options next time we pass through Ballina.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Othafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arrived late check in quick and easy Room 616 faced the small harbour great view. Airy room room service prompt. Huge storm to watch only annoying part was the walkway lights which did not dim all night and even with block out curtains was still noticeable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

After returning from a beautiful dinner my husband and I were looking forward to a spa seeing as we had purchased the spa suite which was quite a bit extra. We were only away for a night (enjoying a night away together without our 1 year old). We ran the spa only to realise there was no hot water at 10pm at night. We contacted management and were told to keep running the water for 15 minutes and that it would return. 20 minutes later still no hot water. Management then said they would look into in and come to our apartment to check it. Took them another 20 minutes to get there and then still no hot water. This was at 11.30 PM. By that stage we were tired and just wanted to go to bed so went without a shower or spa. We were offered no apology from management, no refund for the extra we paid for the spa suite, nothing. We certainly won't be staying there again. Very, very disappointing unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmcgan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed overnight in a One Bedroom Suite overlooking the Clarence River. This was a very clean, modern apartment with a balcony with great views over the river. We even saw the dolphins playing right in front of our apartment in the morning.

Everything you could possibly need was supplied. The kitchen is well equipped, next time we will stay for a few days and this will be very handy. Tea/Coffee/Sugar/Milk and a bar fridge. An air-conditioner in both the lounge and bedroom which were whisper quiet!

There was a TV in both the lounge and the bedroom as well as a very comfortable lounge which made a nice change.

The bathroom was clean with a large rain shower. If anything the bathroom is a bit small with the toilet behind the door, but that is being a bit picky. The bathroom amenities were really lovely.

The pool area is very nice and there are sun lounges as well as shaded areas.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was ready when we arrived and the parking is undercover and secure.

As I mentioned earlier, we will be going back to stay for a longer holiday next time. I can't wait to sit on the balcony, sipping wine and eating a seafood lunch while watching the boats come and go - maybe even some more dolphins!

Room Tip: Personally, I would choose to overlook the river rather than the pool. If available I would also pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Emerald8888, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to come back for a longer holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
5.5 mi away
Lennox Beach Resort - Lennox Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing