We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Ramada and once again it proved to be a comfortable, clean and convenient place to relax and chill out for a couple of nights. We elected for the 1 bedroom suite with river views (our favourite position) and were located on the 6th floor - very quiet although the view towards the sea was obscured by the building - views up river are great and the abundance of bird life on dusk was spectacular. The balcony is spacious with table/chairs for viewing, drinks, breakfast or lazing about.

As always, the rooms are spacious and very clean - no complaints other than a bit of attention is needed to replace light globes/dimmer.

The king size bed offered plenty of space and does not cramp other aspects of the room. The bedroom also had a work desk with cabled internet access (as well as the wireless access) but these are provided at a cost (from $5). The kitchen facilities provide everything required for a short stay. Covered off-street parking is conveniently located with swipe-card (room key) access.

The cafe/restaurant is in a great location right on the riverbank with offerings that are OK rather than stunning. Adjacent restaurants offer alternatives - we dined in one night but went to Che' Bon at nearby Tintenbar the other night.

Overall highly recommended at reasonable rates, provided you pick one of the deals that are regularly offered.

Room Tip: For more space suggest the 1 bedroom for a couple, rather than the standard room. Rooms on river si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquarelle2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Aquarelle2245, thank you so much for your positive review about your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. It is a pleasure to receive such lovely feedback and we hope that we can of service to you again in the future. Kind regards, Karen Whiteford, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 757 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

A great 2-night stay. Staff at both reception and in the restaurant were helpful and friendly. The facilities and rooms were modern and clean. Waking distance to 'town', with a lovely view over the river.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear queenbee1981, thank you so much for your review about your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. We sincerely appreciate your time in making the review and that we were able to provide a positive experience for you. We hope that we can be of service to you again in the future. Kind regards, Karen Whiteford, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here what was supposed to be a 2 bedroom suite. We knew that it was a studio plus a 1 bedroom but were under the impression it had an internal door between the door- it did not. You needed to enter and exit through the front door using your room card.
You also needed the room are for the lift, which left us in the dark when someone wanted to go downstairs and needed the card, and our 2nd are powering 1 room.
It's not ideal for families as your children would be in a completely other room with their own card/key.
There was a party on level 6 which was oiling up the lifts as they told in the doorway talking and the lifts filled quickly, leaving our dinner to go cold as we waited to get up to our room.
There was also a wedding, and not enough car parks. A lot of guests were left having to park in the street, not in the secure car park.
The staff were lovely and we enjoyed watching the dolphins. But the restaurant there as expensive charging $4 for a glass of soft drink. Yet again, the staff there were lovely too, as we're housekeeping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Trav47, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Ramada Hotel & Suites. We do advertise as Suite and Spa and staff are trained to advise all guests, particularly those travelling with children that they are separate rooms. It would appear that on this occasion we have not communicated this to you. Please also feel free to ask for more room cards when you have multiple guests staying. I will pass your comments along to the restaurant for their action and we thank you once again for your comments. Kind regards, Karen Whiteford, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved our room overlooking the river; the sunset was just amazing from our balcony. Very nice facilities, however my boyfriend could not fit under the shower.  If you are over 6ft you have no chance. It was after we came back after dinner that our issue began. Our neighbouring room had a function in one of the hotel's function rooms from early afternoon. If 7 hours wasn’t enough downstairs they then continued to party loudly next door with their room door open which fed the sound straight into our small lobby our rooms shared. We called reception; they rang their room direct and advised them to close the door. About one hour later we were awoken by a drunken guest banging on our door continuously as she clearly couldn’t remember what room the party was in. We rang reception again and the night manager handled it well by standing outside the lobby between our doors before knocking on their door to tell them to keep the noise down...again. In their hotel compendium they mention a no party policy at their hotel as well as limiting the number of visitors to hotel rooms; they state that breaches of these policies are immediate eviction without refund. After complaining to reception the next morning we were advised that the manager was off site. We were then contacted by the day shift manager later that morning with the usual spiel…terribly sorry etc. and he was sorry that we had a terrible night’s sleep. We were very disappointed he felt it was not important enough to come see us in person. We are mainly dissatisfied that the hotel did not abide by their own no party policy and in consequence we suffered by a lack of sleep before our drive back to Sydney. The management has overall failed us as guests, we complained because we needed their assistance in ensuring that all guests were looked after. We wanted a relaxing hotel experience not abuse from drunken guests, doors constantly banging with party guests coming and going and feeling like the hotel didn't consider us with equal importance. The offsite day manager did say that if we are ever up this way again to please pay them a visit and that we would be looked after. Well they didn’t look after us when it came time to pay the bill on checkout so I very well doubt we would be “looked after” on our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoodooHelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear VoodooHelo, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Whilst we are happy you enjoyed your room and the facilities, we do offer our sincere apologise that your experience was dampened by guest behaviour. Thank you for also acknowledging our staff for promptly attending to your concerns once brought to their attention. I assure you all our guests are treated with equal importance and we take great pride in all our guests comfort and needs. We have noted your feedback and will revisit our policies in highlight of your review to ensure there is no repeat behaviour. I do hope you can allow us the opportunity to host you again so as to experience the relaxed atmosphere we have on offer to you and all guests. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My room at the Ramada was comfortable and afforded a nice view of the waterway.. There is a small tuck shop near the desk where you can but milk, fizzy drinks and add hot water soup in a bowl (among other things).

I got into an interesting discussion with the desk manager about the origins of Ballina's name. He said it was an anglicization of an Aboriginal word - I maintained it was named after the town in Co. Mayo in Eire. I think that we settled on it being an Aboriginal name, interpreted by an early Irish settler.

There is a nice restaurant/bar downstairs off the lobby and the patio was great at sunset.

My main complaint (for want of a better term) was parking. Difficult to find, difficult to access and a bit of a maze of crisscross lanes.

Oh yeah, and I never DID find the Big Prawn - I was so disappointed!

Room Tip: see if you can get one with a view of the water (especially for sunset)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Terry Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The Big Prawn is located just as you come into Ballina from the southern entrance. The origins of Ballina's name will have some locals and visitors divided, but the two explanations above are the most common, with the latter said to be most plausible. Hope to host you again in the near future. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Last November stayed a few nights here. I had a top floor room which had 2 balconies. One with a river view the other a city view. Both excellent. Also had an enjoyable meal there on my first night with family. It's only 30 minutes away from Byron Bay and at half the price.

Room Tip: I had a room at the top on the corner and it had 2 balconies with different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martir18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Martir18, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Karen Whiteford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were travelling to Coffs Harbour from the Gold Coast and decided on a whim to stay in Ballina - The Ramada had some good specials on but we were a bit late for the cheaper room we wanted so ended up with a more expensive room that overlooked the river and we loved it - total luxury!! The room was spacious and clean and we could see the dolphins playing in the river from our balcony. We had a drink in the restaurant and watched the dolphoins some more then later went to an Italian restaurant that is on-site which was also great. In the morning we went for a swim in their pool as the check out was 11am - a great way to start our day :) If you're in Ballina pay a bit more and stay here I say!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river and then you can watch the dolphins too :) You could also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaRamada, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Linda L, Thank you so much for your positive review on Trip Adviser, we sincerely appreciate your comments. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it gives us great pleasure to be able to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Karen Whiteford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#3 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $128 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing