We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like this one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ramada Hotel & Suites
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Rivers
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like this one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travel a lot for business and this is one of the hotels I don't mind stay at. Nice and handy location staff have always been helpfully and friendly and has 3 restaurants within the complex and short walk to others.

Handy place to stay

Room Tip: Water front have great views of the river whilst the others have a pretty average view of CBD so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebearsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    229
    47
    24
    2
See reviews for
90
291
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
mid north coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Dont be fooled by picture on website. The hotel spa room did not look like this. Spa was an old worn our spa bath. No shutters as per pic. Tiles were very chipped - overall misleading and overdue for a revamp. At no stage was I advised it would b different . On a positive note bed was comfortable and liked having a balcony which had some water views. Service was average. Staff need to at least look like they enjoy being there. A smile and Thankyou goes a long way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Hez64, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. However I am a little confused by your comments regarding misleading information. ALL our Spa Rooms are as per the image, all are fitted with shutters and all spa baths are in great condition. I am of the thought that you may of possibly been referring to the property formerly known as Ramada located near by in Ballina and not this actual property. Could I ask you to please contact us so as to address these concerns. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

During a road trip up the NSW coast, my husband & I stayed at the Ramada, Ballina. We originally booked a 2 night stay but enjoyed the experience so much we booked an extra night. The suite was very well equipped with a full kitchen, dining area, lounge with flat screen TV, large bedroom with en-suite bathroom including large glass shower area containing a rainforest shower. There were private balconies to the lounge/dining area and from the bedroom. The suite also had access to complimentary laundry facilities, shared with one other suite( very useful when travelling).
We used the bar and dining room. The meals were excellent with a wide ranging menu. All levels of staff we met were helpful and polite.
The Ramada made a good base for exploring the area. There is a great breakwater where you can watch the birds, fishermen and surfers-- fantastic.
I could continue but would recommend anyone to visit and make their own judgement.
Can't wait for the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've just returned from a weekend stay in a Spa room. I'm surprised I hadn't read this before, but there's a weird situation where two rooms share a mini hallway - or at least, this is how it was on my floor. So my room (spa room) shared a hallway with the next door 1 bed apartment. In any normal situation, this would actually be good, because it would minimise noise from the main hallway - but the mini-hallway magnifies any noise within it because it's just a tiny hall with file floor, all the sound reverberates off the hard walls and floor. So what this meant is that every knock at the door of my neighbour was as loud as if it was happening in my room. One night I was napping, my neighbours had room service, the delivery guy literally banged on that door like he was announcing armageddon - quite a shock to the system.

The other downside of sharing this hallway is that it's not just the hallway, it transpired that I was also sharing a balcony - personally - perhaps because of my unsocial attitude - I find this peculiar - I've got my own room, could I not have my own balcony? I was surprised by this, I've never seen it before - and it made me uncomfortable about using the space.

Overall the hotel is OK, they advertise themselves as 4.5 star, it's nearer 4 star in all honesty. Nice enough, very clean - my room was supposed to be non-smoking, but there was an odour in the room - I guess it could have been from smokers on the balcony - but there was also a big cigarette burn on the carpet.... easily aired out though. Nice bed, comfy and I had no issues with noise. The front desk staff were very helpful and helped me out with taxis and advice during my stay.

The TV channels seemed to show all sport and not a lot else, internet was available and was reasonably priced in terms of time, but not download - eg 2 hours = 100mb and only a few dollars, so great for basic email/social media etc, but you couldn't download a movie - or even a TV show. I spoke to front desk staff about this and they explained it was an issue they had with their own download limits and that they were waiting for NBN - fair enough I guess, frustrating for anyone used to being connected 24/7!

And Ballina - a sprawling town, nice enough - not at all touristy - and no real catering towards tourists - which is a real shame. Very difficult to get around the town, very limited public transport - and nothing really to see or do in Ballina - that I could find - it was really a town you pass through rather than stay *in*. A real shame - people visit the area and leave immediately for Byron, Lennox, Bangalow - Ballina misses out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and all times have been enjoyable.
Check in is a bit tedious, but once this is worth the stay.
The rooms are very well priced and well appointed, the bed very comfortable spa bath a blessing adn the veiw out to the Richmond River peaceful.
The Bar area is a nice place to start your night, with good resturants and the RSL all in walking distance to the hotel.
Breakfast was really good and the service was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I will try to keep this review short and.....sour. Yet again a good chain is let down by rotten front desk staff. The woman who checked me in tonight was a complete[--]!!!
I don't normally use such strong language but I bit my tounge and did not express my disgust to her, as she couldnt wait to get rid of me quickly enough. I checked in at 8pm and she gave me the impression that I was spoiling her night by actually checking in. Rude, surly and thoroughly unprofessional- she is a disgrace to Ramada's name and turned me off the entire chain.
I stay at over 30, 4 and 5 star motels and hotels a year, and this receptionist is the worst.And yet....

Lovely room, well worth the $160 for a spa room. Good tv with good Foxtel channels, nice bed and bathroom. But again crappy coffee and tea is provided...Such a simple thing to get right, yet so few do.Why?????

Anyway I hope the manager of this hotel reads this becuase they need to employ new front staff. It is a shame becuase the hotel is well located in Ballina and has three restaurants, just metres away. Had I received a reasonably pleasant greeting this hotel would be getting 4.5 stars from me. But again a 2 minute interaction left a sour taste in my mouth. Surely Australia can do better than the current unhappy, unprofessional and rude front desk staff we have to endure at supposedly upmarket hotels and motels???

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Fussyandhonest At Ramada Ballina we pride ourselves on our level of professionalism and customer service and was surprised to see your comments. I have noted these and will address all staff to ensure we maintain the high standards we have worked hard to establish. Thank you for your review on the high standards of our rooms, facilities and location, again it is our main priority to ensure our guests experience a pleasant and comfortable stay. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed there during his work Christmas party and we absolutly enjoyed it. The Hotel Spa rooms was fantastic, The pool was wonderful and the view from the rooms where beautiful. The Point Bar was the perfect place to hold the Christmas party and we really enjoyed ourselves. We had previously stayed here in 2009 and always had a wonderful experience.

Highly recomended!

Room Tip: if you budget allows.... splash out and get the 1 or 2 bedroom suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Steph O thank you for your review, We are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed yourselves and our facilities. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#9 of 18 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballina Palms Boutique Motel
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina (Ballina Beach Resort)
0.9 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#8 of 18 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites
Address: 2 Martin Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing