We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for 5 nights in February. The room was fantastic and great view on the river (even though it was flooding along the north coast at the time!). Room had very comfortable king bed, great bathroom, cooking facilities and laundry facilities. Excellent for a couple spending a few days. Bar downstairs was a lovely location to enjoy a drink and a bite to eat. However, staff we average. Room was only serviced three out of the five days (we had to ask on two of the three occasions). The front desk staff were disinterested in this issue - in fact they didn't really seem to enjoy dealing with customers. The credit card surcharge is ridiculous - especially when paying for a five night stay. In summary, the rooms and facilities are great. Close to restaurants and shops. Customer relations need a little work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca9092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Macca9092 Thank you for your feedback. Its great to read that you enjoyed your room and its facilities. Rooms are serviced daily unless otherwise requested. I apologise you felt our staff were disinterested in your concerns, all staff are credited for being engaged with our guests and I will certainly bring this to their attention. Surcharges are inline with reasonable cost of card acceptance but can be avoided by selecting savings or cheque. I do look forwarded to hosting you again soon. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for two very wet and wild nights when driving south from Toowoomba to Sydney. The one bedroom apartment was super comfortable and a haven out of the very wet weather. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. The very large RSL club is just a short walk up the road, so no issues finding a good meal and a few drinks, with no need to drive. Our only gripe was a council (we don't think a hotel employee) workman decided to high pressure hose clean the outdoor furniture on the public grassed area at the ungodly hour of 5.30am!! Right outside many of the guest apartment windows! When my husband spoke to reception they were aware of what had occurred but we believe the hotel should have been able stop this as soon as it started rather than just apologizing. Hopefully they have by now had a "discussion" with the council/ cleaning company and it won't happen again. Otherwise a lovely short stay in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a great time at the Ramada. Great rooms. Bathroom was neat and tidy. Facilities were modern. Bed was comfortable. Great location. Nice to have a few drinks in the evening with the sun going down overlooking the river. Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Food was lovely. Wonderful large meals and well cooked. Nothing I could fault about the stay. Conference facilities were excellent. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear ShaneC2 Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you got to experience and enjoy every facet of our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times and are disappointed in what was once an outstanding hotel. Service was lacklustre and staff seemed disinterested in assisting. The room we stayed in was tired, there was a broken cupboard and the walls and floor coverings are looking sad. This is a fantastic location with great views but our room was very small with limited views. To be fair, we have stayed in rooms on higher floors with great views, but the last two stays, despite requesting a high room with good views, we have been let down. On checkout we were also advised that ANY credit card payments would attract a surcharge. This was not explained to us when we booked and has not happened on previous occasions. We will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Evaret Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that your stay was not as grand as you were expecting. Our staff do take and aim to meet all requests that guests raise however these can not be guaranteed, as the requested room type may already be occupied. Credit card surcharges were applied within the last 24 months and are in line with the reasonable cost of card acceptance. Surcharges can be avoided by selecting either savings or cheque. Thank you Evaret and we do hope to see you again. Kind regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was a bit unsure after reading the other reviews, but we stayed here last week & it was great, clean, big rooms and good service.I would recommend this hotel, but stock up as there are no shops near by.

Room Tip: we had a river view & it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear mazza01_11, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Ramada Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it is very rewarding for all of our team to provide an enjoyable experience for our much valued guests. We also sincerely appreciate the recommendation. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked on-line, using Seniors card may have been slightly cheaper. Water view room had very good views down river but is not water front. The room/apartment was clean well appointed and very comfortable. The location is close to the centre of town and the carpark was easy to access and secure particularly after 6pm. The room was also 'secure' - swipe cards were required to go to the bathroom - fortunately a staff member had some door wedges. The room has A/C and the river breeze was great through the large sliding doors, however there was no ceiling fans in the room. A special treat was room service from the ground floor Point Restaurant, the food was excellent and recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor riverview should be requested. Could not find availability of river front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sayed here when i booked on wotif. $160 for waterview spa room. Check in was abreeze, lots of staff on. Free underground secure parking which is great. The Point restaurant is well renowned and is on the ground floor.

Rooms are very well appointed. Didn't try the spa but great ambience as you can open the shutter windows into the bedroom and look out the window at the river if you like. Sower was good with rainfall shower head.

Bed very comfy - great nights sleep. TV has all FRee to air channels and movie channels (pay per view).

There was no mention of a gym in the compendium, but i saw a sign to the gym on checkout (disappointed!!)

Location wise, Ramada is just off the main street and an easy walk to plenty of brekky and lunch options.

Overall i would consider this hotel to be 4.5 stars. Very nice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben D, Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Raura Thank you for your feedback. It is great to read that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. As well as finding the time to venture into town to sample some of Ballina's award winning local cafés and eateries. Apologies you missed out on using the gym due to being uninformed of its existence. New hotel information cards are being printed up as we speak (type) which will ensure this opportunity need not be passed up again...unless one chooses. Thank you Raura we hope to host you again in the near future. Best regards Ben Dargie Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $126 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing