We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip. Good rooms, good location. Average customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Business Trip. Good rooms, good location. Average customer service.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

As a regular visitor here I have always been impressed eight he quality and standard of the rooms. I have even pro used feedback which has resulted in changes being made to the room window blinds.
It's with regret that this time I was found with Aircon that would warm. Housekeeping heir try and fix this however were unable to. The hotel were gracious and upgraded my room to a suite which was excellent. They are spacious and it's great to hava couch and separate bedroom area.
Downsides- no room clean received. So wet towels still in room, no bed made or bins emptied. Again one call and new towels were bought Jo just no what you want to come back to.
Food from room service good although limited menu. You can charge the Indian and Italian restaurants to your room if you eat in but no room service menus are in the room which is inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Downing,

Thank you for again taking the time to submit feedback following your most recent stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina. Upon reading your review, I was quite dissapointed to hear of your concerns.

As a regular guest at our Hotel and per your review posted on Tripadvisor in February 2012, you will be aware that we very rarely experience issues with our Housekeeping team. I have however passed your feedback on to our Housekeeping Team and will be working with them to ensure our high standards of cleanliness are maintained at all times.

You will also be pleased to know that following your stay, we have had a technician onsite and the airconditioning unit in your original hotel spa room has been repaired and is now fully functional.

Please feel free to contact me directly via eam@ramadaballina.com.au when you are next travelling and I will be happy to assit you with your reservation. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada Hotel and Suites when you are next in town.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    277
    56
    26
    5
See reviews for
109
369
28
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here for work and was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Brett was especially lovely.
The food in the restaurant was beautiful, although a few hiccups with breakfast but I was advised this is not owned by Ramada but they were still so apologetic which I thought was really professional and nice since it was out of their control. Would definitely recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Michelle T,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your recent stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina. Our team are very happy that we were able to assist you in ensuring your stay was an enjoyable one - and thank you so much for my special mention.

We are very fortuante at the Ramada in that we have such a dedicated and loyal team who are all here for our guests. There is nothing more rewarding than receiving positive feedback from a guest who has had such a great experience. We do always encourage our guests to advise us of who really has gone over and above to assist them just so we can also individually recognise members of our team who are striving to achieve.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Ramada on your next trip down the coast.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights during a month long honeymoon in Australia during January 2012, we were originally looking at Byron Bay, but 6 nights here was more than half the price of 5 nights in Byron Bay, we had a hire car so getting around wasn't a problem.

On the first night we stayed in a Spa Hotel Room which overlooked the river, within moments of arriving we were sat on the balcony watching a dolphin and a turtle, a lovely welcome. The Hotel room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely and big with a walk in shower and a jacuzzi bath. There was also a laundry room outside our apartment (shared with the neighbouring room) and this came in handy.

That evening we quickly realised that although beautiful, the town of Ballina was a little sleepy with not a massive variety of places to eat out, so we asked if we could upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment, they allowed us to do this for something like an extra $20 per night. The apartment was AMAZING, we had a separate bedroom with a bathroom and small balcony and then had a large living area with full kitchen, dining table, sofa and large balcony overlooking the river - I would 100% recommend the apartments if you are staying more than a few nights and enjoy the flexibility of being able to cook your own meals, for us its a novelty as there are many wonderful fresh foods Australia has to offer than the UK doesn't.

The hotels bar service, food and drink was all very pleasant and each evening at sunset we would sit outside with a drink or a coffee, and also used this time to make use of the free bar wifi to keep in touch with family back home. Highly recommend their milkshakes :)

The immediate local area has a variety of small shops, take away food places and a few restaurants and bars, you can also walk to the big surf club where they serve meals as well. We had a car so we were able to explore some of the local areas, shopping centres, beaches and also took a day trip to Byron Bay.

As I have said, I did feel Ballina was a little bit 'sleepy' and the Ramada seems to be a diamond amongst the rough (for lack of a better phrase as Ballina is not 'rough), however we spent a month in Oz so for us it was nice to have a mix of atmospheres and surroundings and the natural beauty of the area more than compensates for the lack of things to do in immediate distance.

This hotel really is a hidden gem, we enjoyed relaxing by the pool, sitting by the river, enjoying the sunsets and then having a home-made dinner on our balcony, I miss this hotel a lot and would have no second thoughts about returning here again.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear belindacoles,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of the Ramada Hotel and Suites following your month long honeymoon in Australia!

We were not only thrilled to read of your adventures, but also see the amazing photographs that you were able to capture during your time with us. The summer sunsets are truly something to behold. Were you lucky enough to see any dolphins in the river while you were staying with us?

I hope the rest of your honeymoon was as enjoyable as your time with us, and on behalf of our team would like to congratulate you and wish you both the very best for your life together.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Australia soon.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful 1 bedroom apartment on level 4 overlooking the river . Wonderful views very quiet and suite very well fitted out. Staff were all friendly and helpful . Will stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Julie E,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back if you do have the opportunity to return to Ballina again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Perfect for a no weekend getaway. Great location. Lovely well appointed, modern rooms. Great Views. Room ready for us even though we arrived an almost 2hrs early. Clean. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhalve10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear lhalve10,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your stay with us at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and loo forward to welcoming you back the Ramada the next time you are in Ballina.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was the 3rd of our hotels along our east coast road trip from Sydney to Cairns. We stayed here for one night but as with many of the other hotels en-route we could have stayed much longer. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is located right on the waters edge. We took the opportunity to look around the township whist there and this hotel was well situated. Would stay here again when we re-visit Aus. Would recommend to others. On-site parking which was included in the room rate so no rushing to move the car from parking zones in the morning. Excellent room with great views from the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oj4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear oj4u,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stayover with us at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina during your journey up the Eastern Coast of Australia.

Thank you for also taking the time to take such beautiful photographs of the hotel. The shot titled "View of Hotel" really does capture just how close to the waterfront we are; not to mention how beautiful the view is for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada should ever be travelling the coast again.

Many thanks,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here as visiting relatives in Ballina. What a great place, fantastic staff, pristine room, very comfortable and made very welcome. We stayed three times in March and April 2012 as travelling around East Coast of Australia, we are from England and found everything excellent.

Room Tip: We had a third floor suite which led straight out to the pool. Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillingamJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear GillingamJill,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience/s at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina with us. Our team are so pleased that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay.

It was such a pleasure to see you each time you stayed with us throughout your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada if you are ever in Australia again.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing