We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great Stay...”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with our 14,8 years old girls and 5 months old baby last week and was never disappointed. Called them 2 nights before our check in date regarding our accommodation if we could be near to the pool and they provided the perfect spot for us.Hotel wise its clean and new.
The only downside was the air-condition in the lounge wasn't working. It was just blowing air and not good at all. Informed the staff about it but unfortunately the maintenance man was on holiday for two weeks. Requested for a fan instead and they provided it straight away, which is good. Luckily the aircon in our bedroom was working.
Overall not bad at all. Would love to book again with my family and maybe river view next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear FaithTrust,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina.

Our team are extremely happy that we were able to provide your family with a relaxing getaway, and were able to assist you with the perfect room allocation. You will also be pleased to know that a techinician has since been called out and the fault with the air conditioner has been repaired.

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly when you are next travelling to Ballina, as I would love the opportunity to meet with and personally welcome you on your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    275
    56
    26
    5
See reviews for
108
368
28
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location and room. Take note of the room you are given. If it doesn't feel like the room you booked then question it as you are probably right. We noticed a lot of people with this issue but it was resolved quickly and competently by staff.

Rooms are fantastic especially the river view with full kitchen. Bar staff were a bit rude and the restaurant was more like pub food. But we'll be back for the room and location.....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoobieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear DoobieSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and am pleased to hear that our team were able to assist you with your room type query promptly and efficiently. An error with a room type is certainly a rare occurance at the hotel as many procedures are in place to prevent such things occurring.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel, as I would love the opportunity to discuss what did occur, and if applicable to your situation, potentially look at ways of strengthening our procedures.

We have also taken the time to speak with the Point Restaurant, addressing your concerns with food and service quality. The Point Restaurant is privately owned and operated, and certainly welcome any feedback that is received by our guests, both positive and negative.

I look forward to personally speaking with you DoobieSydney.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom river view apartment and the views are truly amazing! This hotel has everything you need for a perfect stay.
the restaurant overlooks the river, the food is great and it is the perfect setting for a nice brekkie.
the service is of high standard, there is an undercover car parking free of charge and the room is complete, large and very welcoming
as a plus, the swimming pool area is perfect for an end of afternoon swim
highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear PCSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina.

Our team are very happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and memorable stay. It is also great to hear that despite the unpredictable weather we have been experiencing, you were still able to enjoy a few laps in our outdoor heated pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Ballina.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Myself and my partner loved this hotel room. It was a bit more expensive than some others but managed to find a cheaper offer as was fairly last minute. We decided to stay here as wanted to visit nearby Byron, but the hotels there seemed very overpriced from what we could see. Ballina is fairly near if you are driving/ bus.The room was spotless, the bed really comfy and the bathroom fantastic! It had 2 nice chairs in the room as well as the double bed, a TV and even a small fridge. We were therefor able to keep some cold drinks and some small food items in there to eat for breakfast on our balcony looking out onto the river. My favourite thing by far though was the spa bath. There was also a seperate shower in there which was also fab. You were able to sit in the bath and open the bathroom screen if you wanted to so you could look out into the room. There was also a washer/dryer room for our room and an adjoining hotel room which we could also use. We didn't eat in the restaurant though so can't really comment on it but it always looked very busy. We also were able to park our car in a secure hotel carpark. Would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear kelabel,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your recent stay with us at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina. We were thrilled to read of your experience at the Hotel; particularly your thoughts on the Hotel Spa Room.

This popular room type proves to be a great value-for money option for many travellers looking for a shorter stay or a weekend away in Ballina.

A little hint for your next stay... with the louvres open and the television angled in just the right direction, you can enjoy an in-house movie while relaxing in the spa! Who could ask for a better way to spend a weekend!

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Ballina.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After a bit of a false start with a power blackout, incorrect room allocation and fire alarms requiring emergency evacuation (cancelled about 45 seconds later), we finally checked into our very nice room at the Ramada Ballina.

We chose a one-bedroom suite for the extra room and weren’t disappointed. It had lounge area, dining table, kitchenette and bedroom/bathroom. The balcony was quite spacious with table and four chairs and a view overlooking the river. The apartment was very clean, nicely decorated and serviced daily. The kitchenette had everything necessary to cook up a small meal; two hot plates, a microwave, toaster, kettle, bar sized refrigerator along with crockery and cutlery.

Downstairs is the Point Restaurant which has a good menu and very friendly staff. The service suffered on our second visit though when we dined with friends. The main meals arrived at decidedly different times to the extent that my husband requested his be reheated because we had all waited until everyone was served. Breakfast is a little on the expensive side, but I guess you pay for the outlook and comfortable seating.

The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants in the area in including the Ballina Manor, Wicked and By the River, as well as the RSL Club which has a large bistro/dining room.

A very nice mini-break and will hopefully visit again.

Room Tip: 406 is a nice sized, one-bedroom king suite with a decent balcony. Be careful when booking to ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Lovingagoodholiday,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your recent stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites, Ballina.

The power outage which affected Ballina was thankfully only for a short period. Fortunately we do have a back-up generator; allowing for smooth and continual operation of the Hotel on the rare occassion that we do experience a power outage.

It was a pleasure to personally meet you during your stay and to be able to assit you with your room move. The majority of our Apartments and Suites feature King Sized Beds; however a select few do contain Queen Beds. When a request is made for King Bedding, the Hotel certainly makes every endeavour to meet these requests. I am pleased that on this occassion we had a room available to move you into. I am also very pleased to hear the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

While The Point Restaurant is privately owned and operated, we certainly do pass on any feedback that is received by our guests, both positive and negative.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Ramada when you are next in Ballina.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

we stayed twice overnight on a trip down the coast. both times in a pool view room, once on the 5th floor and once on the 6th.

the pool view rooms overlook the pool and then onto one of the main streets in the distance. certainly not a private setting however if you are snoopy like us and like to people watch that's not a problem. no street noise except the rubbish truck banging about at 6am. with the door closed it was muffled.

the rooms are one bedroom units with a separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge. both times the sofa bed was comfortable according to our kids but the second time round the springs squeaked a bit when they moved around. note that when the sofa bed is pulled out it takes up the entire lounge area so its an idea to leave it until the last thing in the evening.

there is a small fridge and kettle and toaster and the usual coffee and tea sachets - all good.

a few "extra" tv channels and some fairly expensive in-room movies that can be booked via the tv remote.

the main bedroom was small but fine, bed was comfortable and a second tv in there. the bathroom was in good condition and huge (my wife commented that they might have cut down on the size of the walk in shower and given some of that space back to the rest of the room)

there is only the one bathroom with a two way exntrance from both the bedroom and the rest of the room so if theres more than the two of you it takes a bit of to-ing and fro-ing to ensure that its locked when it should be and unlocked when it shouldnt.

there's a small balcony with a couple chairs and small table

staff were courteous and helpful, check in and check out was straightforward.

as stated already the restaurant and bar downstairs is absolutely lovely, situated right on the riverbank with relaxing views down the river and some very comfortable chairs outside. we had both dinner and breakfast there and while a little $$ the food was very good. wine list a little limited.

the pool area is clean and well kept and the pool was just the right temperature (in summer)

everything (well everything thats available in ballina - which isnt all that much as its just a small beach town) is within walking distance and there are a number of good cafes in town.

all in all we were extremely happy with the place for an overnight stay - for the four of us it would have been too small for any more than that but there are penthouse rooms apparently with more room available.

only one complaint which could cause an issue for the unwary. the carpark is quite tight and a bit of a free for all. there are no set spaces allocated to each room. we arrived around 4:30pm and found the last spot in the carpark. admittedly it was xmas school holidays but it could cause issues if you cant find a spot and have to park out on the street.

Room Tip: river view room for privacy. pool view probably better in summer as they face north and get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear tomsBrisbane,

Thank you for your generous feedback following your stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites, Ballina.

It was an absolute pleasure reading your review and subsequently sharing your feedback with our team - all of whom were so very happy that your stay was such a positive experience.

If you are travelling with a family we have the option of our 2 Bedroom Apartments and Penthouses available; all of which can sleep 4 or more guests. Information on these room types can be found on our website or by contacting the Hotel directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada on your next trip to Ballina.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment with a river view. We were given room 421. The layout of this apartment had the bedroom at the back with the window facing the open lobby. The lobby lights are on all night and shine directly in the bedroom. And the room was one of the furtherest from the river, however, you did get a view if you went out to the balcony. We were very disappointed. If we had spent all 5 nights in this room I would have left negative feedback. So after one night I asked if there was another room available. We were lucky, we moved the room 413. The layout was fantastic, much closer to the river, a view from every spot in the apartment. We were very happy with our stay and would definately recommend this room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Willoughby, Executive Assistant Manager at Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Ajajn,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your recent stay at the Ramada Hotel and Suites Ballina.

I am pleased that although your stay did not get off to the best of starts, our team were able to assist you with a room move and ensure the rest of your stay was memorable for the right reasons.

At the Hotel we are fortunate enough to feature uninterrupted river views from the majority of our river view rooms and suites; however due to the shape and layout of the building, some are a lot closer to the river front than others. While a small number of rooms are set back a little from the waterfront, the views you do receive of the river and boat moorings are still a sight to behold.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada on your next trip to Ballina.

Kindest regards,

Brett Willoughby
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron

Property: Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
Address: 2 Martin St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#2 Business Hotel in Ballina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#4 Family Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Suites has 115 rooms consisting of hotel spa rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses, all with modern, stylish decor and all the facilities you would expect from an international class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing