We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed one night as we were passing through Ballina, studio room rate was $180au which I found extremely expensive for such a basic room. Beds were very uncomfortable too. The old school 'feel the springs in the mattress' kind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank katharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

thanks for your feedback Kathy, unfortunately room rates are primarily impacted by demand and over the peak seasons of Christmas & Easter each year, these do increase. Conversely of course, as we head into off-peak winter months they go down again quite considerably. Throughout the year however, we try to keep all our pricing as competitive as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our way down the Gold Coast. Stayed in a family room with 2 queen beds in 2 rooms as travelling with my sister and brother in law. The shower needed cleaning before we could use it as it was full of hairs and dirt. The location was good and the cost was good but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discho190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your review comments. We do appreciate all the feedback we receive and take the chance to look into any areas of concern.

Our apologies for any inconvenience and we'll certainly check again with housekeeping practices to see where things went wrong with the shower during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and well equipped for overnight self catering travellers. Beds were clean and comfortable, showers hot. The restaurant was very good and service was friendly except for the guy on the front desk who thought guests interfered with his day.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali-Chris1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Ali-Chris, good to hear how you enjoyed your visit but sorry to hear something was amiss with reception. Our apologies on that front and hopefully this was a misunderstanding and we have the chance to see you back again to see things in a better light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 week nights. We had an upstairs room which was a bit daunting for elderly people to lug up their suitcases. It was also a nuisance having to go up and down to the pool or over to the beach. The room was spacious and clean but there is a very small shower room. The grounds are in need of maintenance. The location is great just a park between the resort and the beach which is accessible via a sand track. It's too far out of town to walk comfortably so you need to use your car if you are going anywhere other than the beach. Meals were hit and miss. We ordered fish but it was overcooked and dry. Prefer not to eat here. I would only stay here again if I could have a downstairs room away from the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocam2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Jocam, thank for taking time to write your review and your positive comments... we do understand your concerns about being an upstairs room (1 flight steps), and agree with your advice to other readers, to ASK FOR A DOWNSTAIRS ROOM if this is an issue for you. As you can appreciate, with so many online bookings, rooms are allocated based om such special requests and as available on arrival.

We get as many requests for upstairs and downstairs, as guest all have different preferences based on views, access to pool area, quiet away other rooms and so on... We try to accommodate as many of these as possible and rely on guests making their preferences known before or during their stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Only negative was that we had an upstairs room and the stairs were a bit difficult for my senior parents. Positives, extremely friendly staff, spa sauna pool and daybeds are like going to a day spa. Comfortable beds, spacious room, walk to the most amazing surf club for breakfast, we will be back, not just for the weekend. :-).

Room Tip: Whilst the upstairs rooms have a pleasant outlook, the stairs are a bit too steep, not quite standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CoffsKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Kate, thank you for your feedback-great to hear and hopefully we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I are an elderly couple, and have just spent ten glorious days at the Ballina Beach Resort, and can't fault it! The management and staff are very friendly and courteous!
We both had the most relaxing time that we have ever had, and that is including overseas travel.
We would highly recommend it to everyone looking for tranquility and service combined!
Keep up the good work!

Regards: Gerry & Jo. From, Brisbane

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, General Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Gerry & Jo
Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear how you enjoyed your relaxing time. As you can see from so many reviews, the peace and tranquility of the resort grounds and beach is a welcome surprise. Hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Ballina Beach Resort on three separate occasions and each time is incredibly enjoyable and unique. At one time we even hosted a forty person event on the grounds and the hotel staff was accommodating as can be.

It is the small things that make you remember a visit, and the last occasion made me especially grateful for this small and independent resort. Our flight from Hawaii came into Sydney late, and consequentially our connecting flight to the Gold Coast was late. We drove down from the Gold Coast and were of course stopped off by a routine sobriety check point. This made us very very late. Due to the incredibly late hour we were not yet able to pick up local Telstra sim cards so we could not even let the hotel know that we were late. We knew they were closing at midnight but all the same, the hotel was looking after us.

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk was closed, but they had left a note for us letting us know that our room was ready and where we could find the key. It is incredible that the wonderful community of Ballina is so trustworthy and amazing that this sort of extra service can still be performed. There are not many beach towns that can boast the same.

Very impressive, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but make sure you request an area that does not permit smoking if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Melissa & Grant
thank you for taking time to write your review.... we're really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you have returned once again.... we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#7 of 20 in Ballina
185 reviews
16.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
4.9 mi away
Lennox Beach Resort - Lennox Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort

Address: Compton Dr | corner Cedar Crescent, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ballina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort offers 4 star hotel accommodation, conference and function facilities located just opposite stunning Lighthouse Beach adjoining the walkways along the Richmond river that meander into nearby Ballina. A short drive to iconic Byron Bay, the nearby village of Bangalow and the surfing hotspots of Lennox Head & Yamba, the best of the Northern Rivers region is right on your doorstep. Enjoy the 3 acres of lush tropical gardens with outdoor areas to lounge in and relax, read a good book or simply unwind, you'll feel at ease the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballina Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing