We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Shame it's not beach front but is a very short walk the rooms were lovely as was the restaurant. It was a little noisy but it was New Years so probably noisy everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 246 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Arrived 8pm on Friday 23rd Dec for one night, just needed somewhere en route to our destination.
We specifically looked for a more expensive place than your usual off-the-highway motel as we desperately wanted room service.
Despite having room service available til 9pm as written in the "resort guide" in our rooms, at 8:20 pm we called to order room service to be told that the kitchen staff had gone home.
The lovely Scottish man behind the counter was initially quite abrupt and advised us that there's nothing that he could do. Upon walking from my room to reception to talk to him he did google a few local restaurants that might have been open, which was helpful.

Personally I had hoped for a more pleasant customer service experience, and I found his defensiveness irritating at the time.

I hope the manager reads this as I feel that it is a staff issue - please keep the restaurant open til when you say it will be open! It was not a public holiday so the 8pm closing time for public holidays also listed in the "resort guide" was erroneous.

It was hugely disappointing to us not having a good dinner that night as we had left directly from Brisbane after work that day, there is very little around the area and we were too tired to go foraging for much.

However the room was spotless and pleasant to stay in. And the menu LOOKS delicious, if you get lucky enough to try it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelique1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments - and yes we have taken these onboard and have updated all in-room information.

Restaurant trading hours had been changed, with some earlier starts in the evenings and later close in the day time to reflect guest feedback and preferences. As a resort-style property, we find the majority of our guests prefer to dine early and enjoy happy hour on the terrace, rather than dining late - often after having spent the day travelling or exploring the region on holidays.

The compounding issue over the summer months is also the difference in time zone between NSW & QLD, with some guests discovering the time is 1hr later when they arrive compared to what they estimated before they travelled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The service at this resort is excellent, all more than happy to help out, all friendly people.
We stayed in a suite which was great, had a double bed and a single bed as well as a dining room table, kitchenette and bathroom. The room was exceptionally clean and well decorated and appointed.
As the resort is older the bathroom and shower is basic and could be updated, however it was very clean.
We had friends stay in a 1 bedroom room and upon visiting their room realised that their room was probably only slightly larger than our basic suite with the bedroom being tiny, only fitting the bed in it with only just enough room either side of the bed to walk.
The main part of the room was smaller than ours with just the double bed in it.
I guess the resort is only so bit so space is a factor.

The pool looks good although we didn't get in it throughout our stay, they have some great day beds around the pool which looked comfy.
The property has a great tropical feel to it and is very well maintained.
It is in a great location, only a 2 minute walk to the beach.
I would say this is a good resort, a bit pricey for what is is however it is in a great position at a location where there is not too much competition for the resort so to stay at a resort on the beach on Ballina you have to expect to pay a little as there are only a few within the town.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy, staying to the 'back' of the resort is quieter and ground floor rooms vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachhair89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We recently got married at the Ballina beach resort. And they were great in helping us with anything we needed. We had our ceremony in the gazebo, nibblies outside and reception in the function room. This was exactly what I wanted in a venue for our wedding, everything in the one place and the gardens are gorgeous for getting photos. Most of our guests stayed at the resort too so it was very convenient. The food was beautiful!!! nibblies, canapes and mains were all high standard and the service was excellent.They also include a honeymoon suite in the package which was lovely big suite with a spa and they let us check- in in the morning. The other rooms were all nice too, although the two bedroom suite we stayed in the night before the wedding was a bit cosy but still fine if you know who your rooming with well. Overall it was a nice relaxed feel for a garden wedding and the staff were very helpful. Yumo food!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Fantastic location, basically that is all I can say good about it. Arrived Friday10th June 2011 for long weekend, thought front desk team member was less than happy to see us. Gave us milk for Tea and Coffee that we discovered was dated the 7th June. Spa bath was a real surprise, put on the jets and were instantly attacked by the plastic parts flying off. While it worked it was okay, Saturday night the thing gave up, reported it Sunday 11.00am before going out. Came in 6.30pm for a nice relaxing bath after being drenched with rain, guess what!!!!!Nothing had been done and also another surprise awaited, no hot water. Called the reception and still awaiting response as I write this review, surely nothing else can go wrong, CAN IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! They say you get what you pay for but unfortunately in this case, the rule sucks

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BrisbaneTezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Very surprised to read this review.... a lot more to the story than the author suggests!

When reporting the spa bath plastic cover had come off on the second day of their three day stay, the guest said not to worry about it for now... and declined to be moved to an identical room. When we were later able to access the room and check, it turns out to be a simple plastic cover on 1 only jet, which did not impact the use of the spa bath. The cover slipped back into place in a second and tightens with a quarter turn by hand. Certainly the guest had used the spa bath during their three nights - based on the towels & bubble bath used!

Strangely, no other room had any issues with lack of hot water (they all share the same supply), and when testing the temperature with thermometer after guest reported on departure, the temperature was measured and photographed at 47.4degC - which is spot-on to be within the 'safe' temperature guidelines of under 50degC as specified by the Australian Standard'

The same room was in use the same night as these guests departed and has been since then without any incident with either spa or hot water.

So, despite our efforts and apologies during the guest stay and upon departure, we clearly weren't able to satisfy their 'demands on checkout'... and unfortunately we suspect we never would have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

group of us spent a long weekend in Ballina and had the best time
Staff really looked after us, great cocktails! and the spa & sauna was perfect on a wintery day
We each had a king bed with jacuzzi and bottle champagne to celebrate - couldn't get better

Room Tip: go for the king bed and jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andersandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We shared a fantastic weekend at Ballina Beach Resort. Our king spa suite was just what we needed to unwind.Suite was nice & clean.
The food was excellent from breakfast to dinner and all presented well.
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful
Resort is a short walk to the beach and walking/bike tracks.
We would recommend this resort to anyone.
Sharon & Andrew White

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCoaster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
1.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#7 of 20 in Ballina
186 reviews
16.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
4.9 mi away
Lennox Beach Resort - Lennox Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort

Address: Compton Dr | corner Cedar Crescent, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ballina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range: $112 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort offers 4 star hotel accommodation, conference and function facilities located just opposite stunning Lighthouse Beach adjoining the walkways along the Richmond river that meander into nearby Ballina. A short drive to iconic Byron Bay, the nearby village of Bangalow and the surfing hotspots of Lennox Head & Yamba, the best of the Northern Rivers region is right on your doorstep. Enjoy the 3 acres of lush tropical gardens with outdoor areas to lounge in and relax, read a good book or simply unwind, you'll feel at ease the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballina Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing