We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Motel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaparral Motel to your Saves list
Chaparral Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Pacific Hwy | 486 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Motel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are staying here just for 1 night, it is a very good standard for a motel, it is by far the best motel we have stayed in its spotlessly clean great location on busy road but traffic noise not an issue, nice light breakfast included if you are thinking of visiting Ballina then please don't hesitate to stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    43
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
50
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel was excellent. The relieving management were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well presented and big enough to fit in a portable cot. A light breakfast was a bonus especially travelling with 2 children.Traffic did not seem to be an issue. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget the standard rooms are more than adequate but they are on level 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is probably the nicest motel I have stayed in... impeccably clean and well appointed room, complemented by very friendly owners and staff.
The room is large and spacious with big bed and plenty of space to spread out.
Big flat screen wall-mounted TV has all local channels plus a selection of Foxtel.
Free WiFi is also included... and good sized fridge, microwave oven, kettle, tea / coffee etc and crockery / cutlery.
Next door is a modern pub with good dining options and other nearby alternatives include Thai, Fish & Chips... there are menus for many others who will deliver.
A small shopping strip next door to the pub includes a bakery / cafe, newsagent and supermarket, and the local fish co-op is a couple of minutes for fresh and cooked seafood.
The adjacent service station incorporates a 24 hour convenience store.
The BIG PLUS though is the motel itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Friendly owners, clean rooms, quiet. Room rate included wifi, breakfast (delivered night before, toaster etc provided in room) all in all a bargain!
Has ground floor and second floor rooms, you can specify when booking which you'd prefer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kar-travel-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This motel is located on the west side of Ballina on the old Pacific Hwy. Its one of the old motels in Ballina, however, the rooms are fabulous and traffic noise is not a problem due to the newly opened bypass.

Freshly renovated/refurbished rooms with large LCD TV, microwave, great bed with triple sheeting, quiet and effective air conditioning and a fantastic shower. The shower has one of those "rainwater" shower heads mounted on the wall - this allows for a tremendous flow without the annoying avoiding getting your head wet.

The motel also has very fast and stable internet for free.

The room is great but the best thing about the motel would be the operators Bob & Judy. They are the friendliest people you could come across - having a chat to everyone in the morning and you get the impression they would do anything for you to make your stay enjoyable.

Price for my night (2 people) was $88.00 but obviously this may change during peak periods as per normal Ballina pricing.

Had bacon and eggs for breakfast - wow, they know how to cook breaky.

When in Ballina give the Chaparral Motel a try - you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stayed in a deluxe room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesdanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in mid May in room no 1 which is on the ground floor next to reception. We paid $88 which we thought was good value. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They suggested we eat at the tavern two doors up which we found to be very good with generous serves at a reasonable price.

This is an older motel but well maintained and clean. The room has a queen bed and a set of bunks, microwave, toaster, iron & ironing board. The bedroom is a decent size and has been lightly refurbished with new carpet, fridge, TV etc. The bed was comfortable with fresh, white linen. The bathroom is old but has a new vanity which is a bit too big for the room. It doesn't leave much space to squeeze past to the toilet.

The motel was very quiet during the night but there was some traffic noise from 6am. There are undercover carports for cars. Would stay again if passing through Ballina.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Full praise for the new owners of the Chaparral - was just a pleasure to stay there on a recent trip to Qld. Location for an overnight stay just perfect with the Chapparrral being just a short distance from the Ballina –Bypass.
We were more than impressed with the changes made by new owners Graeme and Diane. They have taken a former very average budget motel and worked wonders – rooms now are of a high standard with all mod cons including flat screen TV's.
Nice now not to have the Highway noise that previously could have been a problem and undercover parking another advantage which we appreciated. Didn’t get to use the pool but nice to have one available.
For true Aussie hospitality, Graeme & Dianne would be leaders of the pack, nothing was too much trouble right from our first contact when making our last minute booking travelling along the Highway to even using their personal BBQ (even though they do have a BBQ available to guests.) A continental breakfast was included in our rate which makes a stay unbeatable value for the north coast.
A top seafood centre is located next door and a tavern and small shopping centre just down the road, everything in easy walking distance so saves a trip into Ballina for meals.
We highly recommend the Chaparral, most certainly will be our preferred stop-over travelling north from now on!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites
Ramada Hotel & Suites
#2 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#9 of 18 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coast Inn Motel
Coast Inn Motel
#4 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ballina Island Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
#11 of 18 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 18 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaparral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Motel

Property: Chaparral Motel
Address: Pacific Hwy | 486 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ballina
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaparral Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chaparral Motel is a 3 1/2 star rated motel located in West Ballina. We have a great range of Deluxe and standard rooms available. The Chaparral is located within walking distance to the Westower Tavern, Thai Restaurant,l Northern Rivers Seafood, Spar Supermaket, chemist, Butcher and being only 3 minutes from the by-pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chaparral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaparral Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing