We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay at Ballina Island motor Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Milford Haven,Uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend stay at Ballina Island motor Inn”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent very clean,and comfortable acomodation
Nice large room
Great internet access (free)
Close to main shopping area and plenty of dining spots--didn't eat in,but the continental breakfast
was fresh and more than adequate
Also close to really fabulous beaches
Would definitely stay again
Peter and Theresa,Milford Haven,Wales,UK

Room Tip: for a few dollars more,the executive rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 184peterp184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    86
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
78
100
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We'll appointed clean comfortable.
Large room with couch and table. Told to get out bed by wife as making too much noise turning page of book so sat on comfy couch by window overlooking pool. Didn't eat here but had excellent dinner in town at La Cucina di Vino

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Arrived late after a big drive and was welcomed by a pleasant check in . Ordered room service to save going out or eating at the on site restaurant. Meals was excellent and service was quick. Rooms were large and fitted out well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a corporate room for an extra $10 & found it to be all one could want in a motel.
Room was clean, comfortable, quiet, modern, good pillows & bedding, movie channels. Overall we experienced pleasant staff & facilities with a good restaurant & nice pool with grassy area where we ate our breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked into the Ballina Island Motor Inn at short notice on our recent road trip back from Sydney to Brisbane. Ballina is only a short distance from Byron Bay but the accommodation prices seemed more reasonable when we looked on line. We were made to feel very welcome by the new owners.

Typical motor inn accommodation - comfortable, clean rooms. The pool was a bonus as the weather was very hot so a swim late afternoon after touring the local area was very welcome!

The restaurant/dining room had an excellent choice on the menu and wine list - we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity served for a motel. Another bonus was the breakfast packs brought to our room the evening before - it was nice to wake up and have everything in the refrigerator ready to serve up at our leisure.

This is not a 4/5 star hotel - but it definitely rates higher on the motel type accommodation that we have stayed in around the world and we personally would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have to say I am surprised at the positive reviews on here - I had to double check that I was reading about the same hotel. We just travelled for 5 weeks through AU and NZ, and this will be the only negative posting I have about any of them. The room (just because there was four of us) was over $280 for one night, and it was an 80's throwback style room that desperately needed updating. One remote for 2 TV's (??), the back of the bathroom door hadn't been wiped down in who knows long, and the AC unit (which barely kept up with the heat) was inspected by my husband to try and improve the performance, was full of dust, dirt, and mold. The dining room was decent however, and we had a good dinner there with friendly service. Front door of the hotel was broken, and the front desk person seemed friendly yet very defensive and argumentative in a way with any thing that you brought to their attention (need another remote? "well we don't know about it unless the cleaning staff tell us" -- breakfast is done and cleaned up already at 8:30 am? "well there are signs everywhere telling you that"). Needless to say we wouldn't be back if we had a choice somewhere else. . . that night we didn't. We were VERY surprised that Best Western put this under their banner -- definitely not up to their usual standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina T, Owner at Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for positing your review and I, like you, am surprised at the review. As you can see from the many reviews we try to provide quality accommodation at affordable prices. The period you choose to stay with us was Peak Period, yes you would have paid something like $280 for a family of four, had you chosen somewhere like the Ramada you would have paid $390 for 2 people. Christmas holiday period does incur higher charges.
We are disappointed that our family room did not meet your expectations; the vast majority of reviews rate this room positively
The TV remote was explained to you by our staff that it had been taken by a previous guest and could not be replaced until January because supply businesses close down over Christmas.
Our housekeeping staff have been with us for a long time and they take pride in making sure the rooms are cleaned to the highest standard. We are unable to understand what the problem was with the back of the bathroom door, when it was checked by our staff there was no issue.
The air conditioner in this particular room is of the older style and has been programmed for replacement; it is the last of the older style air conditioners that do not perform as well and the newer inverter styles. All of our air conditioners are cleaned on a regular basis and whilst there was a small amount of dust on this filter in this one the reference to being dirty and mouldy is unfounded. Cleaning the filter of this unit was missed by our staff due to it being the busiest period of the year; this is not an excuse for failing to clean the filter on that day. You should be aware that it is very unusual practice for a guest to dismantle parts of an air conditioner and hand it to Reception on departure, this practice is fraught with danger as resulting damage to property becomes the liability of the guest.
The front door is once again one of those situations where a component had failed and we are still waiting for a movement sensor to return the door to fully automatic operation – we understand that having to slide the door manually instead of opening automatically would be cause of great concern.
In support of our Front Desk, she is one of the most polite women I have ever met and she would struggle to be offensive. When you arrive at 10am, our checkout time, for breakfast that finishes at 8.30am it is hard to explain to guests that their needs cannot be met.
We have only recently became a Best Western property so we had to pass their stringent entry test, we accept their standard as being the correct one not your assessment
It is unfortunate that you did not find our motel up to the standards reported by our many other guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night on our way northwards. This is a good, clean motel with friendly staff and a warm welcome.

Rooms are quite large, well kept and contain all the requirements for an overnight stay. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom of ample size and clean and tidy.

Outside there is a free form pool and a very pleasant shaded garden to sit in and relax.

The restaurant and bar area on site were very good. Pleasing choice of food which was well cooked, limited choice from the bar.

Free wifi throughout the property was a distinct bonus, and an on-site laundry at $3 was a plus.

The property is on the main road into town but is still very quiet, it is about two kilometres from the CBD where there are plenty of good restaurants and all the usual facilities of a small town.

At $115 to $130 per night I think this motel represents very good value for money and would not hesitate to recommend it to you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballina Palms Boutique Motel
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Address: 1 Ronan Pl, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballina Island Motor Inn is a resort style 40 room motel. 10 minutes to Lennon Head and 30 minutes to iconic Byron Bay. The grounds include a lagoon style salt water pool and spa, located within a tranquil garden setting. All rooms are located at ground level and are fully equipped with LCD TV’s, free WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, reverse cycle air conditioning, iron and ironing board and free FOXTEL. Additional free car parking is also available for larger vehicles.The property also boasts a private function room which is ideally suited for weddings, conferences and functions. Guests can also enjoy our fully licensed restaurant and bar. Open Monday to Saturday for Dinner with Breakfast being served 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing