We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and busy”

North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a a very busy and small caravan park, even at a low season. The park location is quite good, near the beach and town centre, but the park is very small, which you do not have a space to park your car at the reception. And the park just locates at the river street, which is a busy main road. The car engine will wake you up early in the morning. Your neighbourhoods live quite close to you, not too much between each cell.

For the excellent side, the park is very clean. They clean the bathrooms and toilets every afternoon. I think they have to, otherwise the frequent use is hard to keep them clean. By the way, toilets are very busy in the morning, and the bathrooms are always full between 7:00pm to 9:00pm.

To be mentioned, they do not have stove and a well facilitied kitchen. What they have is a shared small kitchen with the laundry and a small BBQ area.

Additionally, they are not belong to big4 any more.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Happytreefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I don't like to write bad reviews but we were very disappointed with this caravan park which lacked the facilities and quality we have come to expect from Big 4. On the positive side the park was clean and well maintained and very well located next to tourist attractions like the water park and maritime museum and also the local shops and restaurants.

On the down side there is no parking for members at reception which creates a bottle neck when you have more than a couple of cars at once or have cars towing vans or larger vehicles. Cars are left to park on empty sites nearby if you can find one. We stayed in a delux cabin which was clean and relatively modern. It was however exceptionally small and definitely not big enough to accommodate a family of 4 as advertised. It would be cosy for a couple but definitely no more. The dining table in fact had only space for 2 and only included 2 seats. The view from the balcony of the cabin looked directly onto a tall fence with a drain running along its bottom which was quiet ugly. The overall park was very small and basically consisted of a fenced patch of grass with cabins and camping sites squeezed in. There were absolutely no facilities for children like a pool or jumping pillow or swings/ park which we have never seen before at a Big 4. The only recreational faclilties was a very basic and small BBQ area.

Would not recommend this place for families and will stay somewhere else if in Ballina again.

Room Tip: Avoid a delux cabin if you have any more than 2 people
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LetsGo869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've been staying in a lot of caravan parks (powered sites) in Australia and this one was the cleanest of all! The bathroom facilities were spotless clean and bug-free. It was heaven to for once stay in a place where you don't stumble over hundreds of spiders and bugs. The only negative thing about it was that there were almost no trees. The sites were clean and the grass was always cut. The camp kitchen was very clean too and was cleaned each morning. The price is quite good too. So very well worth the money. Just the city itself has nothing special to offer. But the park is quite close to it if you need to go shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbundanReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I actually don't think I can say a bad word about this park.
The staff are cheerful and very assisting always; there is something appealing about a person with a smile on their face don't you think, well here that is what the staff are like.
The park it self is very clean and well maintained, is on the small side (but it doesn't matter). I may not have a pool but the Ballina Waterslide and pool are just opposite. Also opposite there is a boat ramp, and beach where you can go swimming and fishing and all other water activities imaginable. Not far from the shops nor the RSL for that matter, close to everything you could want.
The amenities are always kept clean and are located right in the middle of the park, laundry next door with lots of clothes lines. The powered sites are big, with or without a cement pad and flat. The BBQ area is cleaned after each use, and has heaters above the picnic tables for the cooler months.
I definitely would recommend this park as it is centrally located to everything, and is very well kept.

Room Tip: You get a pick as to where you want your cement pad (left, centre, right) know before you book, so t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This park is in a good position for walking to the CBD, cafes on the river and to the beach. The cabin was clean and maintained. The only negative is that it appears that all cabins have open plan for the bed and kitchen which is OK for short stays but not for an extended period.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed here on a number of occasions when visiting the North Coast. We have stayed in onsite units each time and found them to be of an excellent standard and a reasonable price. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly. The Park is situated near the river but also close to town so you can walk to restaurants and shops but also out to the breakwater. Even though it is on a main road it is surprisingly quite. They also have free internet access. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The deluxe units are a bit bigger and don't cost that much more
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tivamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently spent one night here while touring NSW and QLD. This holiday park is quite small, but is very central to township. Facilities are excellent, very clean and new looking. Lovely large showers and toilets. As we were travelling in a motorhome didn't use kitchen facilities. But there were good also. Great to have some free wi-fi provided to contact family at home. And for a change it was good - often getting on the net at some holiday parks is nearly impossible. But this was great even from own laptop in van. Very quiet location and only a few mins walk into town and many restaurants. Great walk across the road along river boardwalk and across the road from a waterpark which would be great for families with younger children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
0.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
1.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
266 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chaparral Motel
Chaparral Motel
#9 of 20 in Ballina
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ballina Palms Boutique Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central

Address: 1 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly NCHP Ballina Central Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ballina
Price Range: $68 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the serenity of the Richmond River, shoot down the brand new waterslide at Ballina Water Park or swim and surf at patrolled beaches that boast some of the world's finest breaks. Yes, there is something for everyone, no matter what age, at North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central. Though a short stroll will take you to the main town with its host of clubs, restaurants, cafes and specialty stores, you'll be longing to get back to the peace, tranquility, friendliness and comfort of the park. Don't forget to allocate a full day for some family fun at the Ballina Water Park with its outdoor swimming pool, heart stopping giant slide or shorter slides offering a gentler ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing