We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pet friendly beachside camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballina Beach Village
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed April 3, 2013

By far the friendliest most pet friendly park we have stayed. Huge camp site, amenities clean, great camp kitchen, great entertainment for adults (music at mermaids), for kids pool, beach, river, can use scooters skateboards and bikes, playground, poor pets a dog whisperer with daily dog activities. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest, you review is just what we are aiming for happy families, having the GREAT AUSTRALIAN BEACH HOLIDAY - thank you for your wonderful review. Many blessings. Rikki, Ballina Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Several of our friends and family have stayed here over a number of years, having found the location and facilities suitable for our needs. The park itself is in a great location, close to the beach (not patrolled) and river; and really not that far from town (although you have to be prepared to travel across the ferry each time, at a cost). There is a small pool and playground for kids, but you really need to be able to make your own fun. The beach isn't patrolled but you can drive on the beach if you have a 4WD and local fishing is pretty good (as long as you have a NSW fishing license).

Sadly however, after our most recent visit, we have decided that despite the great location, customer service and current management at this establishment has really let the park down.

The current management seems to have a specific clientele in mind and they do not seem to have any regard for patrons they are not interested in keeping. If you are a quiet middle aged couple or perhaps a 'grey nomad' passing through, this is probably your cup of tea.
There are very strict rules for noise at nightime, so if you like the idea of a typical camping trip, sitting around the fire with friends without worrying about a bedtime, this place is NOT for you.

There is a 10pm curfew and it's very strictly enforced whether you are being noisy or not. We were approached just past 10pm, whilst sitting around the fire sipping our cups of tea, and told to 'go to bed' as noise complaints had been made regarding our 'partying'. We considered our behaviour to be very respectful of the noise rule and certainly felt unfairly chastined. We even went to apologise to fellow campers neighbouring us for the unintential 'noise' the following morning, only to be told that they hadn't heard a thing from our camp.

Given our previous experiences at this park (all very positive) we emailed management with this feedback and to express our concerns regarding their approach. The response was certainly not what we would have expected from a management team and essentially were told we weren't welcome back anyway. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahE915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

This is the best advertising I could hope for. This is a very good review for me to respond to as it really helps to highlight what our ethos is. The guest who wrote this is a repeat visitor and indeed, a recidivist offender with noise and behaviour. On their last visit, exactly the same thing happened, lovely young people, but BIG group, too much noise (fuelled by party time attitude) and they received several noise warnings.
Despite this, they returned with another BIG group and despite being advised of the rules (as we discussed their last incident) we had the same problem. The noise complaint against them was at 11.15pm (though 10.15pm QLD time – but we are running on NSW time not the guests time) triggering a phone complaint from a mother with children in a cabin. So of course we must respond.
I have had a full and frank discussion with the guest via email – who wrote to me. Quite simply we have to look after the majority of our guests and not the odd party-hard goers who make live hell for everyone till the wee hours of the morning with their “quiet talking over a cup of tea.”
We have spent years getting rid the doof/hard drinking/big party culture and now we have one of the largest tourism destinations if judged by visitor nights – in other words what we are doing has worked very well indeed.
Firstly we are a large village with HUNDREDS of people here – and like any village, we have rules. The majority of our guests are families with young children (see the photos posted on Trip Advisor), couples having a getaway, or guests on a mind, body & spirit. So many blessings to you dear guest, but as discussed in the email our cultures are incompatible and you are best off elsewhere where late noise is tolerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed just before the Easter break and we did enjoy our stay overall. I give fair & honest reviews. Lets start with the pros:
The camp grounds themselves are well kept
With lovely surrounds.
Staff at reception were friendly
Quiet, secluded
Provision for campfire is fantastic!

Cons:
The ferry! Unless you want to take the long way around (25mins or more extra) you will pay $4.60 each way. This quickly adds up if you go out even just twice in the day. A shame as it must affect their business. The wait is also annoying. Has the council thought of those putting in one of those new fan dangled high tech things we call bridges?
The amenities, very old and not clean enough. Locks on toilet door missing (how long has it been left like that?) the showers were really low on the wall, I'm only 5'4 and had to bend to wash my hair.

Some other staff members were quite rude.

There were a few other things like, we had a tent but they placed us in a pretty rubbish spot between all cabins & vans instead of in with all the other tents. Because of that we had the loud drone of the cabins old circa 1980's air cons all night.
Because we found many other areas to camp that are in a better location and don't have the nuisance of a ferry, we would stay somewhere different next time.
I will also mention that the beach (only 4 mins walk from the site) is great for 4WDing & apparently you can get some good fishing in too. You cannot swim at this beach as it is unsupervised, isolated and pretty rough. Beautiful for a walk in the morning however.
Very kid friendly, you also can have pets. We didn't use the pool ( too many kids) but it looked very well kept.
I hope this review helps in your decision making.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevron24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for both your 'pros and cons' review. Of course one person's annoyance can be another person's delight! As it is with the ferry. I would have to say that overwhelmingly most people love the ferry - especially if they have children.

It also ensure that we are separated from the noisey highway that affects so many other destinations. The Ballina Beach Village is one of the highest ranked destinations by nights in the Northern Rivers - meaning A LOT OF GUESTS stay with us! (thank you to all of you who do). I would suggest guests buy a weekly pass which makes the ferry very affordable for multipe trips - and truly I find getting on the ferry the highlight of my day. Today I had to be in town for an important appointment and I was there in 15 mins and had to wait 15 mins for my appointment. Of course if you just miss the ferry - then add a few minutes as well.

I know that you were a big group of young singles, and because you booked right at the last minute for Easter, we weren't able to give you any flexibility on the site as everything else had been taken. So apologies. As with everything we have a full time maintenance manager, full time housekeeper, full time chef and restaurant staff, full time grounds keeper and everyone did a magnificent job ensuring our guests had a fantastic Easter - so repairs, housekeeping and food are provided for extended hours especially over the peak period.

So things do break with so much usage, but are fixed as soon as we are told about them of course.

So come back and stay some time in May to August, we have our great stay for 4 pay for 3 special or stay for 7 pay for 5 - which really is a cost saving. Look forward to having you back.

Kindest regards, Rikki, Ballina Beach Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Well after getting this place thru on a cudo deal thought that would be ok but found the vouchers not valid on long weekends no problems .I then rang them about a week or so out from Easter not thinking we could still book a site but they said yes we still have some left which was awesome .
We also had my daughter and her husband and kids book to so in total 8 kids and 4 adults booked in and asked to put together they said no problem .So off we go not ever been there before found it easy to find across the ferry was interesting and unique and we dont have dogs and my wife was a little sceptical as not a great fan of camping with them close by .

But upon arrival RIKIKI was very freindly and helpful and moved us to two powered sites adjoining each other as originally that wasn't the case .The sites and area they gave us were huge heaps of room to setup our camper trailers and nice and close to the ammenities block .

After being there for a short time my wife was relaxed and not even worried about the dogs and the ones that were there were well behaved unless you looked around you wouldn't notice they were there .We were quite amazed and had never seen this in any other park before but the ammenties blocks are cleaned several times a day and also seen the lady doing her final clean at 1130pm at night wow couldn't believe this.

I tried the big breakfast and found it to be very nice prices are reasonably as you are slightly secluded but thats what you get if you want to be in a peaceful place ,we found other guests freindly on both sides of us and everywhere in the park and there 10 pm no noise rule is fair was pretty quiet after that we werent up much later than this as we had fairly busy days .

We had four wheel drives and found the beach access excellent nice and close and not busy at all given its Easter weekend ,we even took a drive into Lismore on Easter Saturday to catch some friends racing at the speedway which was only a short 30 km drive .

On the last afternoon before our check out day we decided we better try the fishing out so drove down the beach on low tide and found a nice gutter and effortlessly caught 6 legal size bream and a small stingray and a flathead so as far as the fishing goes it is good .

So all in all a great place to stay we will definately be back we felt us and our kids had a ball always something for them to do plenty of open spaces they rode there bikes the whole time when not doing something else .

If i may suggest anything it would be this :

1. shower floors very slippery when wet with thongs on so maybe some sort of anti slip surface .

but other than that it suited our needs very happy thank you :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello Andrew, thank you for the wonderful review and yes we very much enjoyed having you with us. I am pleased that we were able to meet your holiday needs. To us it is very important to try and find the right spot for each guest.

But full praise to you - we can only meet a guests needs if our guests take the time to speak to us about them. There is nothing more frustrating than having a dissatisfied customer - when the problem could have been easily fixed HAD WE KNOWN WHAT THEY WANTED. So more power to you. You are the ideal guest. You discussed your needs with us, and happily we were able to make it work.

So for any traveller reading this, I believe every hospitality property really wants to do the right thing by their guests, and by communicating your expectations ike Andrew did, you can be told honestly whether those needs can be met (or sometime not) and that way there is communication and maximum satisfaction.

See you back soon Andrew and family - many blessings. Rikki and the A Team Ballina Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 days over Easter and enjoyed our stay. We had a big pitch and weren't cramped in with other people, as in some camp sites. Loved being out in the wilderness with the beach 5mins walk away. No shops nearby (other than the camp shop) so take all supplies along. Would recommend for peace and quiet and to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fothhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place for the family and pet friendly which was a huge plus. The staff are friendly and facilities are older but super clean and well maintained. The yoga program was good and the lovely man that instructed was a true delight to meet. I will definitely be returning for a retreat in this secluded paradise in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Yes this Easter we offered free yoga, free dog whispering dog training course, geat shows each night including The Queens of Country; The Johnny Cash and June Carter Show, and the Buckley Family Band (didn't that take off) starring young rising star and winner at Tamworth Country Music Festival Sarah Buckley (just 14). What a wonderful weekend we all had (Chef is very tired, he cooked up a storm all weekend).

Thanks to all our wonderful guests who are like family, and our wonderful staff to who are like family as well. Sometimes I think we live in a perfect 'hippie meets camping world'.

PS We have 2 night 3 day yoga retreats in May, June and July.

Many blesssings, Rikki and the Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed with our kids and friends in mid March had the most relaxing camping experience ever. I choose a tipi as we were only there for 1 night - and the kids loved it. We were part of a pretty big group, and some of our friends were a bit noisy on the Friday night, but were politely asked to shut it down which they did and that was the end of that.
The common areas had everything we needed, were clean and well maintained.
The staff were very helpful, polite and super flexible with our check-out time - big bonus THANKS! The band on Saturday night was so lovely and the whole atmosphere was great. I have already recommended it to our friends and will definitely be back! Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Take the mozzie spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danelleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

What a great group you were! Thank you for your terrific review, and word of mouth recommendation. It makes our work all worthwhile! Our tipi's are really, really popular - and are well set up with a double bed, single bed and fold out couch - which is great for little families wanting a fun experience. We are very much a family orientated business, and it is wonderful to see lots of little kids here. As I speak it is Easter - and the staff and I get such a buzz from the young ones! We call it the KIDS ON BIKES time - we see 3 little kids on bikes ride past, then 10, then 25 little kids on bikes. They have SUCH a wonderful time - bikes, scooters, skateboards are all allowed here. They form big gangs of kids and get to know each other really well. This Easter we have a dog whisperer coming for a dog handling demonstration (George from Sit, Drop, Stay), plus a doggie gymkhana, free Kidz Klub and of course music every night includng Sarah Buckley (14yo) who won the young talent quest at Tamworth here with younger brothers and sisters, plus Dad Mick Buckley the most wonderful muso and good friend. So its all happening here! See you back soon. Rikki, Ballina Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#7 of 20 in Ballina
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chaparral Motel
Chaparral Motel
#9 of 20 in Ballina
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Village

Address: 440 South Ballina Beach Rd | South Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $37 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ballina Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing