We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family camping meets hippie retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballina Beach Village
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Family camping meets hippie retreat”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place for the family and pet friendly which was a huge plus. The staff are friendly and facilities are older but super clean and well maintained. The yoga program was good and the lovely man that instructed was a true delight to meet. I will definitely be returning for a retreat in this secluded paradise in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. Yes this Easter we offered free yoga, free dog whispering dog training course, geat shows each night including The Queens of Country; The Johnny Cash and June Carter Show, and the Buckley Family Band (didn't that take off) starring young rising star and winner at Tamworth Country Music Festival Sarah Buckley (just 14). What a wonderful weekend we all had (Chef is very tired, he cooked up a storm all weekend).

Thanks to all our wonderful guests who are like family, and our wonderful staff to who are like family as well. Sometimes I think we live in a perfect 'hippie meets camping world'.

PS We have 2 night 3 day yoga retreats in May, June and July.

Many blesssings, Rikki and the Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    74
    29
    7
    25
See reviews for
125
54
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed with our kids and friends in mid March had the most relaxing camping experience ever. I choose a tipi as we were only there for 1 night - and the kids loved it. We were part of a pretty big group, and some of our friends were a bit noisy on the Friday night, but were politely asked to shut it down which they did and that was the end of that.
The common areas had everything we needed, were clean and well maintained.
The staff were very helpful, polite and super flexible with our check-out time - big bonus THANKS! The band on Saturday night was so lovely and the whole atmosphere was great. I have already recommended it to our friends and will definitely be back! Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Take the mozzie spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danelleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
What a great group you were! Thank you for your terrific review, and word of mouth recommendation. It makes our work all worthwhile! Our tipi's are really, really popular - and are well set up with a double bed, single bed and fold out couch - which is great for little families wanting a fun experience. We are very much a family orientated business, and it is wonderful to see lots of little kids here. As I speak it is Easter - and the staff and I get such a buzz from the young ones! We call it the KIDS ON BIKES time - we see 3 little kids on bikes ride past, then 10, then 25 little kids on bikes. They have SUCH a wonderful time - bikes, scooters, skateboards are all allowed here. They form big gangs of kids and get to know each other really well. This Easter we have a dog whisperer coming for a dog handling demonstration (George from Sit, Drop, Stay), plus a doggie gymkhana, free Kidz Klub and of course music every night includng Sarah Buckley (14yo) who won the young talent quest at Tamworth here with younger brothers and sisters, plus Dad Mick Buckley the most wonderful muso and good friend. So its all happening here! See you back soon. Rikki, Ballina Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this beach village 3 times now (since 2011) and each time it gets better. The proprietors Rikki & Bernard are constantly looking for ways to improve the facilities and offer great customer service. The cabins cater more for families so sharing with friends becomes a debate about who's getting the double bed or the bunks. Still, the cabins are clean and outfitted with all the modern conveniences, eg air on, flat screen TV. Food at the Mermaid Cafe was fantastic. A very pleasant stay indeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MazV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review - and your very endearing comments. I don't think either Bernard or I thought that we would be acquiring such a large family when we bought this business but that is how it feels. It is a wonderful thing to be included in peoples lives in such a way - we feel like family. We get to see children growing up, new babies being born, children being married - even the odd wake and farewell. There is a great joy in providing support and accommodation for all our wonderful guests as they look to relax, destress, transit, or have a great weekend away. Thank you Maz for your comments - but truly it is our privelege.
Kindest regards,
Rikki
Ballina Beach Village
ps if we will lotto I promise you twin share cabins with two double bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We came down from Brisbane for a weekend with the kids. The park was nice; quiet, and friendly and the Managers were helpful. We stayed in a standard cabin which was quite modern and nicely decorated (though I did see some other older style cabins). We got a discounted rate through Wotif, so it was good value for us (family of four $119 per night plus a couple of free meals). The cabin had a livingroom, separate main bedroom, and then 3 bunks in an alcove of the hallway between the living room and bedroom. it had a full size fridge, microwave, hot plate and grill so you could cook if you wanted to, however make sure you buy your food before you head out of Ballina as the park kiosk has a very limited range of food, and there are no shops on that side of the river(Ferry costs $4.60 each time or a long drive round to the bridge).

We ate in the restaurant/deck on Saturday and the food was good - they do both proper restaurant quality food plus a hamburger/takeaway style menu. I had grilled barramundi with lemon myrtle which was yum. They also had live entertainment - a duo playing guitars who did a Johnny Cash/June Carter set which I enjoyed, and I'm not particularly a country fan.

The beach was a short walk from the park - its a long beach with nice white sand and interesting shells. 4 wheel driving is allowed on the beach, and i was worried this might spoil it for other beach users, but we only saw one vehicle in the distance. We were there after the school holidays had finished so I'm not sure whether it would be busier during peak periods.The beach is a surf beach (ie big breakers and rips) so I wouldn't let the kids (11 and 7) go more than waist deep, but we all still had lots of fun. You can also drive down to the river mouth were there is a long pier/sea wall, which people fish off of, and we saw two groups of dolphins, which was pretty cool.

The amenity blocks were clean and well maintained when we were there, there is also a well appointed camp kitchen.

My overall impression was that it is a clean, well maintained, friendly park, its location is good, being so close to the beach, but a little isolated, which is fine, just remember to take everything you need. It is advertised as ecofriendly and they have a lot of flyers for yoga and alternative lifestyle type courses etc, but if thats not your bag, then thats ok too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Louise that is one of the most impressive reviews I have ever read. Your writing style is so enjoyable and the review is so thorough. Thank you for taking the time and considerable thought to outline your experience for other guests. I know that they too will enjoy reading your writing. Perhaps you have a new career in your future - travel writer.
Thank you,
Rikki,
Ballina Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked into Ballina Beach Village on NYE and had a ball for 3 days.

You access Ballina Beach Village by taking the car ferry across to Ballina South and then it's like stepping into Indonesia. Sugarcane fields as far as they eye can see and Balinese flags outside the resort to welcome you.

Friendly staff, cute reception and a great bar/ restaurant that serves basic but tasty food.

We had an unpowered campsite in a nice shady spot surrounded by fellow dog owners (it's a super dog friendly resort)

It's near to Patchs Beach which is also dog friendly and the mut enjoyed running off leash along the beach.

The supermarket is on Ballina so make sure you stock up on food before you arrive, although the restaurant is there if you get stuck.

Make sure to try 'Our Daily Bread' cafe close by for the best coffee we've had outside Sydney.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We have really enjoyed the most wonderful Christmas and New Year School holiday period with our guests. Our key performance criteria is our guests happniess and we can honestly say that we have hosted so many, happy and wonderful family holidays this season that is absolutely rewarding for us too. Many blessings to you and all our guests for the New Year. May you all have health, wealth and happiness. See you all back here soon!

Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed over the Xmas new year period 2012/13. Our caravan site was superb - very nice and shady and quiet during the day. The park are Eco friendly and go to great lengths to keep you informed of events for the day. It was so lovely to see so many young families enjoying their time. We were very blessed to have 4 owls also sharing our site. We had Harry our 5 year old foxy with us and he loved it. Just one note to other campers - please don't throw your chicken bones out into the garden. Our little dog got a hold of one and became quiet sick. Use the bins provided and there are plenty of them. Be responsible for the enjoyment of all campers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelsHK017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Village, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. Yes we have had a wonderful season of happy guests and satisifed customers (thank you all for your wonderful word of mouth folks). Our wilderness camping sites with and without power really suit big camper trailers and tent set ups - vans too.

Come back and see us soon. We love to have happy families with us - they really make our work fun, and very very worthwhile.
Many blessings for the New Year, many you have health, wealth and happiness. See you back here soon!

Rikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to pass on my appreciation to Rikki and her wonderful, friendly staff members for allowing us to enjoy one of the best holiday experiences our family has had in a long while. Even Boomer, our Great Dane had a great time making new friends. The food on "the deck" delicious, the cabin provided all our needs with Ballina just a Ferry ride away and only walking distance to the beach for the teenage boys with a swimming to dip in afterwards. Highly recommend staying for the whole family even our furry members.

Room Tip: Depending on accommodation needs, I would suggest a cabin with toilet and shower included. Costs a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Village

Property: Ballina Beach Village
Address: 440 South Ballina Beach Rd | South Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballina Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ballina Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing