We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Ballina
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Another wonderful holiday at Lakeside ,we had perfect weather,our cabin was lovely yet again ,staff provided fanatastic sevice again. This was just the thing we needed before Christmas. What a great way to relax having a drink looking over the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for Waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 344 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the moment I was greeted at the reception counter, I felt like I was in a welcoming environment. The landscaping is well maintained as are the facilities like the amenities blocks and the water park. The proximity to the water makes for lovely views as you either walk, fish or simply sit and ponder. I will be back for another visit and will encourage my friends and family to do the same.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank timaru64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at Ballina with our 2 boys. We had a 3 bedroom waterfront bungalow by the Lake. The park was really lovely with the usual great facilities you expect to find in a holiday park like this. The different thing about this one was how lovely and quiet it was and for us the position of the cabin was perfect. The lake is lovely and peaceful and we were able to take a walk along the water's edge looking for hermit crabs and other sea life. It was truly relaxing and really something different. We will definitely be back again - soon!

Room Tip: Choose a cabin by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The parking had to be shared but was not big enough for two large cars. The staff member I informed about the problem promised to resolved the problem but that never happened and I never heard from them during our stay.
The bunk beds had bed bugs which bit my child all over and left her feeling unwell needing medical attention. The fridge & freezer was not cooling / freezing even on high and spoilt our meat & vegetables .
The cabin states that it sleeps 6 but not near big enough for two adults , child and toddler to live in, we were very crammed for space .
There were 3 game machines and toddler ride that were out of order in the games room which was so disappointing for the kids.
Customer service needs to be improved to satisfy the customer and make it a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideHP, Front Office Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We tried very hard to help this customer so it is a shame she felt this way in the end.
We offer one car park per site, we don’t know why she wanted to occupy two. Incidentally this inconvenienced other guests. We have significant procedures in place to prevent bed bugs (we have never had them), we checked very thoroughly and found no evidence whatsoever. We suspect Sand Fly’s are the more likely culprits from the beach. The cabin is an economy family design; they are very popular and provide the best value with great features yet without the high price. In this case we did offer a bigger cabin but it was declined, “sighting cost”. The games room has many machines; they are serviced locally so if any were inoperable they would have been fixed promptly. We welcome this customer’s return and will do our best to offer the most suitable cabin next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We got ourselves a powered site for a night and how we were blown away by its location and the view of the lake! Amenities were great. The lake was great for fishing and the entire park had a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere which made it even it better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Absolute lake frontage, spoilt ourselves with an ensuite site, spotlessly clean. Although it rained for 7 days out of the 10, we were never overwhelmed by rain water. The great asset to this park, is that it is adjacent to a fantastic open area, where dogs can have a walk and and a run. The facilities were spotless, great laundry/s and plenty of activities for the kids. TV room, games room, crazy putting etc., BBQs as expected were extremely clean and maintained daily.
Great place, even if it is a little out of town, but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew_Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Lakeside and found the location very engaging. Close to the water and great walks. Extremely clean and well presented park. Cabin was well fitted out and had everything for a short stay. Enjoyed our short stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarcyIpswich1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#14 of 20 in Ballina
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Chaparral Motel
Chaparral Motel
#9 of 20 in Ballina
43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballina Heritage Inn
Ballina Heritage Inn
#1 of 20 in Ballina
355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Ballina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Drive, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ballina
Price Range: $72 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw's Bay lake, Discovery Parks - Ballina offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Discovery Parks - Ballina is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing