We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Parks - Ballina
Nearby Hotels
Ballina Heritage Inn(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avlon Gardens Motel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Palms Boutique Motel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Inn Motel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn All Seasons(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$82
$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ballina Manor Boutique Hotel(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
167
110
30
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
110
30
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfgames roomjumping pillowensuite sitegreat parkwater parkholiday parkputt puttpowered sitequiet parkcamp kitchenrock wallkids poolhighly recommend this parkwater frontgreat familygreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 351 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I found the customer service from the park staff to be exceptional. They were very considerate to our needs & circumstances. They are very welcoming of pets, but also mindful of those how are travelling without their best friends!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Renae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Advertised as pet friendly park but there is only a small area where you can take your pet. You cannot take your pet (even on a lead for a walk) anywhere else in the park except for the small corner area of where you are camped or you leave the park. Pets cannot be off a lead to play even in your own camping area!

Pay for your BBQ, this is the only caravan park where we have stayed where you have to pay to use the BBQ - even the ones in the camp kitchen you have to pay for! You would have thought that you pay a high price for staying in the camp grounds that using the BBQ would be included in the price!

Security, what security? Lots of security camers and even a security guard on between 10pm and 2am and items are still getting stolen and management are too busy to check the cameras!

Bad Weather - don't even think about getting a refund just make sure you have travel insurance (they even have a sign at the front of reception stating this)!

Room Tip: If you have a pet - don't stay here!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RKB08_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideHP, Front Office Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments, this is a great opportunity to talk about Pets and Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park. We are well aware not all customers want be on holidays with a dog that belongs to others. Thats why we set up the pet friendly section which incidentally is in the premium waterside section of the park. There are also two cabins available which take small dogs. Many customers travelling with small dogs have remarked positively about that area! In relation to leads, most people think its reasonable to keep a dog on a lead, we certainly do (unless within your caravan or secure annex). The BBQ's take $1.00 coins this is to reduce the safety risk to children (who could easily turn them on) and people occupying more BBQs than they need, this makes way for more available hotplates. We would have been happy to give you the coin if you asked for it. You may understand we cannot discuss security in detail but can advise "on site uniformed security" makes up a large annual expense. We do recommend valuables are secured just as you would anywhere else. We do hope this response has given you and others an understanding of the effort and consideration we give to the above topics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

hi there, we booked to stay there on 2 consecutive weekends, the 2nd one being the Australia day weekend. we have 2 young foster children with high needs, and on the first weekend we had a little wind and rain which the children didnt cope with very well.
over the next week we saw the bad weather forecast for the following weekend and rang to discuss our options and basically hit a brick wall.
we waited untill friday night to see how the forecast was going and at the last minute decided to heed all the warnings put out by authorities about unnessesary travel.
we live in Pottsville and a local SES member visited parks between Wooyung and Kingscliff and advised patrons to leave before the worst weather hit.
after the weekend we were sure we had made the correct desicion by staying safe.
park management were called to see if anything could be done regarding maybe going there on a quiet weekend as a gesture of goodwill, bearing in mind we paid top dollar to stay there over holiday weekend, but we were advised nothing could be done.
we did enjoy coming to this park but we wont be attending in the future

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakesideHP, Front Office Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to respond.
We do understand that you had foster children with needs and that staying in a caravan with them in wet weather may have been difficult however we recall doing all we could to find an available and more spacious cabin.
We feel the main point to make is that with all due respect it is not our fault the weekend turned out to be wet. It is hard to see how a refund or more would be due with the urgency we recall you expected, particularly when this park has some of the best indoor facilities around and many other guests were arriving. We have worked hard “weather proofing” this park for our guests and we did let you know about the cinema with extra day time movies, the indoor under 5’s playground which is full of toys and activities, the indoor games room, the 24hour indoor big screen TV room and plenty of board games and DVD’s available at reception. We even have a giant indoor camp kitchen, which is located next to the water park. At that time of the year it is hot so even if it is raining the children, like many others here that weekend would have enjoyed all facilities anyway. Indeed we posted a number of photos of other families enjoying themselves at the park, it’s just that you chose not to arrive. We regret your situation but we are not really responsible for your decision in this case. We do hope you come back one day after all you have said you enjoyed the park in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park lies along the easterly shore of Shaws Bay Lake, where you can swim, and watch fish leaping!.
A friendly lady receptionist checked us in for 2 nights on a powered site, @ $37 (£24.50) pn.
Site 5, close to the Amenities, is a wide grass site (though rather bare at the moment, in January).

Amenities : modern block with locked door, but decorative open wall blocks, so mosquitoes could be a problem (I only saw one in the shower on our first day.)
8 basins, 5 showers, 5 toilets, and a small room with a bath! On Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning, all basins dirty and no sponge or paper towels, to wipe them. (Felt like Goldilocks in the showers too : shower 1, too low – shower 5, head would not swivel – shower 4, very low water pressure – shower 2, just right!) All shower floors dirty, and no mop and bucket to wash them. They were all much better on Sunday afternoon to Monday morning, so I guess it was just those ill-mannered extended family groups down for the weekend who had messed them up!

Industrial-sized bins next to the Amenities - Overflowing bins towed away to be emptied at 8.45am.
2 good laundries and plenty drying rotaries.
Very large, bright and clean Camp Kitchen. Outdoor picnic tables.
Good-sized gym. Mini Golf.
TV reception very poor, but there is a public TV room with 8 plastic chairs.
Good-sized swimming pool and a ‘water park’, which is a really nice water-play area for littlies.
Outdoor playground and jumping pillow. Volley Ball on the lakeside..
Games Room with snooker table, arcade machines and a vending machine – also an enclosed play area for small children (The Nook).
There is a Function Room/Cinema, but we didn’t see it.
They have a section of the Park which is Dog Friendly, but most of it is dog-free.

The Park has 2 different kinds of cabin, as well as Waterfront Villas, Lakefront Bungalows sleeping up to 9 people, and a Holiday House sleeping up to 12 people - as well as en-suite sites and powered sites. A lot of permanent cabins have nice gardens, but there is little vegetation on most of the Park. Alternate sites seems to have a tree or a shrub beside them. Consequently, not many insects, or birds, but we were visited by 3 ibis, on our second day.

- 5 mins drive, across the bridge, to River Street, the main drag, parallel to, but 2 streets in from, the beach. Plenty cafes.
- 15 mins drive to Ballina Fair shopping centre (inc. Woolies, Target, Best & Less, K-Mart, Coles, Big W, etc.)

(Suggestion to Park, on Amenities : Another soap dispenser by the second row of wash basins, and a small kitchen sponge under each, for catching drips/wiping out basins. A mop and bucket, with a friendly suggestion that customers use it! Also, a hook beside each wash basin is always useful.)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Been there for about 10 days during the Christmas holidays in a tent site.
The caravan park is located in a great spot: lake, river, ocean all very close and beautiful.
Unfortunately this caravan park is really really overpriced. The most expensive around.
And after paying premium prices you go to the common kitchen and you have to put in $1 coin to activate the electric BBQ!
Even worst the common kitchen gets locked up after 9pm, so you cannot wash up your dishes after having dinner in your camp site.
At night there is almost no lighting around the caravan park except the lights that some people in caravans leave on.
And there are security cameras everywhere! Never seen so many cameras in a caravan park. It makes you feel like you are in a refugee camp.
Another bad thing is that we had to pay 50% at booking time (months before the stay) and the whole bill balance by end of October. And if for any reason you have to cancel you do not get any refund (I wonder if they would keep your camp site empty since they have kept your money??!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews