We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very clean and tidy place with an unbeatable...”
other travelers have booked this property
Directly Across from the 'Beach & Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Directly Across from the 'Beach & Lake
Refurbished Cottage by the Sea - Avoca Beach Front Lawn for BBQ and relaxing with friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Directly Across from the 'Beach & Lake
Refurbished Cottage by the Sea - Avoca Beach
Front Lawn for BBQ and relaxing with friends
Lounge / Kitchen Area
Master bedroom with two large beds made up as a King Size
Clean modern bathroom
Key safe on site for early / late check in / out
Local cafes near by
Avoca Beach during high tide surfing season
Historic Avoca Beach Picture Theatre
Avoca Beach Sunsets / Sunrises
Cocktails at Bombini Restaurant Avoca Beach
Bombini Restaurant
Dive at Avoca Beach / Terrigal Beach
Dine Across the road from Sandy Corner Cottage
Snacks by the beach
Paddle with friends on the lake, great fun!
See the bird life on the lake, better still have a paddle on the Kayaks at sunset, its beautiful
Point Cafe, great coffee, great food, great location
Safe, patrolled surf beach
Walk along the lake from the cottage to a choice of watercraft.
Wine, water, sea breeze, relax, sandy corner cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Avoca Beach, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
978juan
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and tidy place with an unbeatable location!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our experience at Sandy Corner was fantastic. Everything we required was provided for and the place is immaculate.

Easy access to the lake, beach and shops makes this place a great destination for a holiday or even a weekend away any time of the year.

We were fortunate to be there on the last weekend of the month so we got to experience the markets that are situated just around the corner.

Great little place! I will be coming back and I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location. Everything is provided.
Liked least: I was happy with my experience.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Hi Juan, thank you so much for taking the time to review Sandy corner, a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. I'd love to have you and your partner back again so please keep in touch. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh...
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
“Great romantic weekend getaway cottage”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Marks place for a birthday weekend. It was just perfect - right in front the beach, even better than the photos. We loved the place - it had automatic blinds, which opened up right to a view of the beach, a great retro games coffee table which took us back to our childhood with pacman and donkey Kong, and each room had flatscreen TVs with internet, so super easy to relax and watch Netflix on rainy days. We would definitely love to go back. Mark even arranged for us to borrow kayaks to go for a paddle down the river.

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Hi Ashleigh, thank you so much for your review and so glad that the weekend was all you had hoped for. I have recently added a fireplace so perfect for those winter nights with a hot chocolate or a glass of red wine. Would love to have you both back one day so keep in touch. Thank you again for your lovely review, very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“An exquisite getaway”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed an exquisite three night holiday together at Mark's magnificent cottage by the sea. Superbly appointed throughout, the cottage is situated in a dream location at the head of the lagoon, right on Avoca Beach. Locals entertain at dawn and dusk as they frolic with their canines at the "dog park" on the beach opposite the cottage. In addition to the stunning beach and lagoon (water activities galore!), the property is only moments away from funky cafes and restaurants. Weekend markets nearby are a load of fun too. Our host made sure we were perfectly taken care of every minute of the day. Don't walk, RUN to stay at this property!

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Hi Meredith, thank you so much for your beautiful review and kind words. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay so much and made the most of your three day mini-break! If you are ever passing through again and need a place to stay I'd love to host you again. Many thanks again, Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect weekender”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Weekend away from Sydney in January this year staying at Mark's cottage was great. Avoca is an easy short drive from Sydney and a very nice spot to spend a weekend. Mark's cottage is perfect; its clean, comfortable and in a great location. Mark was happy to help and provide recommendations on what to do at any time while we stayed. Highly recommended for any couple looking for an easy, relaxing weekend.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Hi Josh, thank you so much for your review and kind words. The cottage went under a major renovation in March and is looking amazing so if you're looking for another quick getaway let me know! Again, thank you for taking the time to review Sandy Corner Avoca Beach! Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronzos
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific spot”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The cottage was exactly what we were looking for. Superb spot near shops and across from beach, great facilities and fittings, and lovely porch. Loved staying there, very relaxing and comfortable stay. Mark is very attentive and considerate to his guests. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Hi Rob, many thanks for your kind words and review of the cottage. I hope to host you both again one day so please keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesspoin...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A seaside oasis for couples”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had a relaxing two-night weekend at this lovely little "Cottage by the Sea" at Avoca Beach. Located close to the beach and near the lake, it's an ideal oasis for couples. The cottage is delightfully furnished for comfort and with an eye for style. The luxury bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was very quiet and efficient, and we appreciated this as the weekend weather was quite warm and humid. We were impressed with thoughtful extras including a Nespresso machine with a good selection of coffee capsules, a Bose Bluetooth speaker, the HD TV and free wireless WiFi. The owner, Mark, thoughtfully recommended a couple of excellent restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the front door. We appreciated this advice because we enjoyed two lovely dinners nearby. A great weekend.

Date of stay: November 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and surrounds. I look forward to welcoming you both back to stay at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette18...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a great stay in Cottage by the Sea at Avoca Beach. The location was great, close to shops, beach and cafes.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thanks for your review Lynette and look forward to having you back again for a few days in May.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing