We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful few days in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alstonville country cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alstonville
Alstonville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a peaceful few days in the country”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nestled in the country just a kilometre out of Alstonville.Beautifull setting looking down the valley to the Ballina coast. Feed the animals or just sit on your balcony and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Val des Monts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent 1 week at the Alstonville Cottages as part of an exchange program. The eight cottages are tastefully nestled into the landscape and overlook the rolling valley down to the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Behind the office is a wonderful pool that is perfect for cooling off on a hot day. There are walking trails down to a picturesque creek, which is cool, clear and fast running.

The cottages are cute, simple and very clean. In addition to the bedrooms and bathrooms, amenities and services include a stove, sink, BBQ, fridge, television,etc, which is great for people like us who want to relax and spend the entire day on site. You can even purchase fresh farm eggs for breakfast.

The property is a farmstay setting, including several animals. As an animal lover, I was thrilled to visit the horse, donkeys, cows, chickens and last but not least, Sam the super friendly family dog.

Proximity to Alstonville was a definite plus for us. Alstonville is a cute little town and a great place to stop for a coffee, have a nice meal or do a little shopping (there is a great little vintage shop called Gingerlily). The cottages are also within 30 minutes of other great tourist towns including Byron Bay, Lennox Head and Ballina.

The owners are very pleasant, friendly and accommodating; they contributed to our great experience.

We would definitely stay at the Alstonville Cottages again should we find ourselves in that part of NSW.

Marc and Natalie

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NatnMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Lots of good things about this place - beautiful setting and surroundings - the owners have made a great job of the whole place (but it is not in the country being 5 mins from the centre of Alstonville and off the main road). The cabins (they are not cottages) all have great views but are, on balance, average, with the main problem being the kitchenette and very limited cooking utensils and space (hence the poor rating for the rooms). There are, however, very good Weber gas bbqs to use on the deck. The owners are very friendly and gave great advice, so in the main good, but some average elements.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have now stayed here twice in the last couple of months meeting up with family who travel from Lismore. The facilities of the 2 bedroom cottages are ample and well laid out for large gatherings with beautiful decking and outside eating area. The communal facilities, pool and gardens are kept impeccably clean and the the hosts make it so easy to relax in this wonderful scenic location. The kids loved the pool, and feeding the animals and making friends with sam the hosts dog. We will definately return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelator_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We (my husband, 3 children aged 9, 6 and 3 and me) stayed for 2 nights as part of a road trip. We received a very warm welcome from our host, Duncan. We were booked into Cottage 2 which was clean, comfortable and well equipped for our needs. From our deck there was the most amazing, private view over the pastures to the mountains and ocean in the distance that just demanded that we sit with a beer, minding our steaks on the BBQ while the kids ran about on the grass area. While the beauty, peace and quiet really sold this to us, the highlight for the kids was being able to feed the animals and collect the eggs from the hens. The next morning we enjoyed a great walk through the rainforest to Duck creek just beside our cottage. There was a lovely pool and a great wood fired pizza oven. Downside... wished we had organised to stay longer as it was the most relaxing part of our trip - happy kids, happy parents you can't beat that :)

Room Tip: Cottages 1 and 2 are probably the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzyfolkontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Very friendly and helpful on arrival. Simple but clean self-contained cabins. Lovely rainforest walk - saw 2 large goannas! Close to town and shops. Beach (Lennox Head) about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleagleTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were only stopping for a short break, so we did not get to use all of the amenities at Country Cottages. The cottages themselves are more modern cabins - we stayed in a two bed example with a nice deck. While modern, they come across as a bit spartan for the price - not really comfy cottages. The feel is of a modern cabin with basic (but new) furnishings, and cheaply finished on the interior. The beds won't last too long - they already sag in the middle - the lights are low wattage white eco lights which give a cold atmosphere and there are not really enough of them, the TV is smaller than most PC screens, and the bathrooms feel fairly "clinical white". There is no cottage feel.

Outside, the decks are quite spacious and good for kids, and a BBQ is provided with some outdoor furniture. There is a pool, some farm animals and walks. The location does not feel particularly rural, but city guests will probably feel that it is... it is basically on the outer edge of Alstonville's suburbs next to the cemetery. I was actually expecting "Country Cottages" to be out on a large rural property, not a small acreage block on the edge of town, but the presence of animals and some very nice views will keep most happy.

The biggest disappointment is the breakfast hamper, for $10 a head: 1 egg, 1 tub of yoghurt (supermarket, not local), a small popper of long life milk, 2 slices of bread, half an orange and a slice of kiwi fruit, and some jam. For the price, most rural accommodation offers included breakfast, but if they do have a breakfast basket, it has generous quantities and lots of options. The cost of a few more eggs, a loaf of bread, whole fruit (not dried out slices), some local jams etc. is next to nothing for management, but would add a genuine rural/country feel to the place. For $10 a head you can go to a cafe and get someone to cook you something, so there needs to be a lot more raw ingredients in a basket to make it seem good value.

As it stands, it felt very stingy in the end, which is a shame. The place itself has a lot of potential and the staff are very friendly, so hopefully they take a look around at what other places do to make their accommodation more inviting, and their breakfast options more generous. For the price at just under $200 a night, there are currently better options.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gycentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alstonville
6.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
0.7 mi away
Alstonville Settlers Motel
Alstonville Settlers Motel
#1 of 4 in Alstonville
155 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arabella Garden Inn
Arabella Garden Inn
#1 of 1 in Wollongbar
40 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tallaringa Views
Tallaringa Views
#1 of 1 in Alstonville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alstonville country cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alstonville country cottages

Property: Alstonville country cottages
Address: 7 Alstonville Cemetery Rd, Alstonville, New South Wales 2477, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Alstonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alstonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alstonville country cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom self contained holiday cottages at Alstonville on the Byron Hinterland.Ocean views from your cottage and walks through the rainforest. Experience a private farmstay. Pets are welcome.Conference and Function Room available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alstonville country cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing