We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I add.”

Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Hungarian, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Don't confuse the hostess's enthusiasm and exuberance for intrusion, she loves her establishment and the attention to detail shows that. Too many people winge about, the lack of and/or quality of restaurant service these days...well you will get it by the bucket load here. Great Austrian/German food and nice atmosphere...go the trout pate...yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed both our cuisine and service. Thank you so very kindly for such a positive review. Your compliments have naturally been passed onto the chef, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Wonderful food; squid, salmon and pizza!
Brilliant service!
We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of bubbly when we arrived, can't go wrong with that!!

1  Thank ANN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your compliments for both the selection of meals you have enjoyed and the service. Much appreciated, and your positive comments have most certainly been passed onto our chef Joshua. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant is a gem of a find. The service was absolutely excellent. The host was so accommodating and warm and made some exceptional recommendations for our meal, which did not disappoint. I have dined here several times and will never be tired of the wonderful Austrian, European, Italian menu. From the pates for entree to the lush mains all the way through to the divine apple strudel for dessert.... that's if you can fit it all in. I just had to go 'all out' and spoil myself. The wines that are hand picked by the establishment compliment the meals perfectly and you can also enjoy them in their beautiful wine. The coffee is 'top notch' also. Whether you want to dine in the gorgeously appointed restaurant or dine outdoors in the serene courtyard you will be sure to enjoy every second of your dining experience! I will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

We thank you most kindly for the compliments and review posted on your recent visit. It is always uplifting to have positive comments made, and is very encouraging to our entire team. Look forward to seeing you here again soon, and we'll ensure that your dining expectations and experience continues to be enjoyed well into the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went there with a group of about 10 people. We were greeted on arrival and were welcomed. All was well until we moved to the dining room and the hostess wouldn't stop interrupting our conversations to explain the menu (she did so more than 5 times) and give her input on what we should eat. It was incredibly tiresome throughout the entire meal and then when we later ordered dessert, she took it upon herself to increase our order of 5 strudels to 10! She explained this away as saying that she knew that we wouldn't be able to help ourselves and needed one each.
The girl behind the bar was a joy as she was not insistent on pouring drinks down our throats but was still available without us having to go searching.
If you want a private dinner amongst friends, give this one a miss as the hostess doesn't understand distance and insists on being a part of your party.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gindavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

We appreciate the time taken to post your review and thank you for doing so. As owner of this establishment, allow me to offer a personal apology if my enthusiasm was perhaps misunderstood, and in any way lessened your enjoyment of the evening. This was for never my intention. The organizer of your party is a regular patron of our restaurant. So as to benefit everyone at the table of 10 guests, this person requested my personal assistance in explaining the concept of the menu. As a result I thought it appropriate to steal a few extra moments of your conviviality. He was also consulted regarding all items ordered. As this person has on many previous occasions enjoyed the desserts at our restaurant, he solicited from me directly that the Strudel order be increased, for it was his wish that everyone should enjoy one of his favourite dishes. It may be the case that his directive was misunderstood. Memory serves me correctly that the dessert was consumed with gusto, and nothing was left over. Your group thanked and complimented both the service and meals on their departure, hence it was our belief that all enjoyed the evening. Thank you in advance for giving me the opportunity of clarifying any misperceptions. Cynthia Bierling (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate twice at this restaurant during our recent stay at Beaufort House. Their mediteraneo pizza was so delicious we went back for more the following night. Highly recommend their hungarian goulash and apple stroudle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drag0nfly01, Owner at Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

It fabulous to hear that you enjoyed our Italian pizzas, and better still, that you returned for a second taste! We do appreciate have such great feedback on our traditional cuisine, and we have certainly passed on your compliments to our Chef to continue providing tasty dishes. Thank you for the time taken to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coat of Arms Kaffeehaus Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing