We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cool Mountain Lodge
Cranebrook, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are have been having our annual ski holiday at Providence Lodge for the last 3 seasons. Our visit planned for August 2013 will make it 4 on the trot. I think you would be very hard pressed to find better value accomodation anwhere near snow in NSW. The accomodation is basic but very comfortable and functional. The bonus of the electric blankets makes for a very comforatble nights sleep after a long day of skiiing. We have always found Wayne and Chris to be very friendly and accomodating Hosts, with Kevin (the cook) dishing up very generous hearty home style meals on a regular basis, his tomato soup being a very popular dish for our children. They have always shown flexibility with any special requests we have had diet wise which has been a blessing. Part of going away on a skiiing holiday has been the ability to relax at the end of the day and that is where the Lodge comes into its own. The drying room for your ski gear and separate drying cupboard for your boots always ensures that you have dry and warm gear ready for the next morning. In the main room there is comfortable lounges and a fireplace burning away allowing you to relax and chat with other guests before and after eating. The communal refrigerator allows you take take and store your own beverages, saving you the expense of paying top dollar for the same as you would at other licensed premises that do not allow byo.
There is a separate heated room with a pool table, T.V and games to keep the kids occupied which is also a bonus.
We have also visited at Easter, a must do for anyone to see snowy country from a completely different perspective, although we stayed in one of the cabins on that occasion, whilst very comfortable and more modern did not have the same atmosphere and convenience of Kevin cooking for you that the lodge has.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake, it is beautiful especially when the snow is falling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKeepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cool Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review
It is always good to see people who enjoy the outdoors and all that this area has to offer we look forward to your next visit in 2014
Yours Sincerely
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I needed somewhere to stay for a small job I had to do on one of the power stations. The Providence Lodge has the most wonderful owner, made me feel so welcomed. Home cooked meal was wonderful & the view is to die for. So quite and relaxing, I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gt1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cool Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It would be a pleasure to have you visit again next time I hope you can bring your family and enjoy what this area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Providence lodge with our kids and some other families on a family skiing trip and we were all so disappointed by our stay here where do I start?

Firstly the rooms – they were adequate there was a bed, blankets, pillows, ensuite bathroom and most of the things you should expect in a 3.5 star rated lodge. The heating however was not up to the job for a lodge where overnight temperatures could be below zero. There was a radiator in each room that was heated by water pumped from a central furnace. This was barely warm (I could easily put my hand on it) I made sure it was on maximum and we went to bed for the first night. In the middle of the night it was so cold we found it hard to sleep. I got up to check the heater and found it was cold! I thought it must be broken and would get it seen to in the morning.

In the morning I asked the owner / manager (not sure if it was one , the other or both) about the heating and was told that the furnace is turned off in the middle of the night as it is too expensive to have the heating running all night. When I explained that it was too cold to sleep he informed me that us “city” folk just are not used to the cold weather!

Next the sauna – we were looking forward to a nice sauna after a long day skiing (as their web site suggested). When I found it and looked inside it had several bags of laundry stored there which made me think it had not been in use for a long time. When I asked the owner / manger about this his reply was “Yeah. That’s not working.” Another disappointment - I guess that was getting too expensive for them to run as well.

The dinning room was quite nice with big glass windows overlooking the lake and surrounding countryside - a very nice view. However there were signs stuck up in prominent places on several walls stating “Be nice to the waitress. She is the last person to touch your food.” While this might be funny when read in a magazine, etc. having it prominently displayed in the dinning room either by the management or at least with their approval and also given their overall attitude it seemed almost threatening.

The meals themselves, which we pre-paid for as part of the accommodation, were very basic and minimalistic. The “Hearty” hot breakfast they advertise on their website consisted of 1 egg and a sausage or a strip of bacon with either beans or spaghetti (varied depending on the day). Dinner was three courses as promised (i.e. entrée, main and desert) and generally tasted nice. The real disappointment here was that the portion sizes were too small for anyone who had worked up a healthy appetite skiing all day and there was no real option to getting any more as they made just enough for each “guest”. There were no other shops close by so the only option was a one hour round trip to Adaminaby to order some more food and bring it back - not a desirable choice after a long day.

The meals were all standard and served in a very “production line” manner. There was no board or note letting you know the day’s menu, you just found out as it came to the table. On one night my child saw plates of roast and gravy coming out. As she does not like gravy she asked the waitress “Could I please have mine without the gravy?” This was received by the waitress with a rolling of the eyes and a quiet “humph” under her breath as she turned away and later returned from the kitchen with a plate without gravy. Given her attitude and the signs mentioned earlier my daughter was not sure if she should eat it but hunger prevailed as there was really no other choice.

Unfortunately that was only one of many times we made to feel as if it was a burden for the management / staff to have us there. Whether it was asking for missing towels to be replaced or for missing sauce at the dinner table we were always made to feel that we should just be happy with what we got and stop bothering them.

Such a pity! I think this lodge has potential but the miserly, arrogant and indifferent attitude of the owners / managers towards their paying guests spoils it. We will not be going back there again and I guess that would be the same for most people who have had the unfortunate experience of staying there. If this review results in one other family avoiding our mistake of staying at Providence lodge then it will have been worth writing it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here make sure your rooms are heated and bring some extra food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 895Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cool Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we did try to help you as much as possible in providing you with an extra heater and blankets for your room at no extra cost to you it might have helped if you kept the window closed and also the bathroom door as these let warm air out. In regard to the meals we had no complaints from any of the other guest that where with us at the time of your stay the only complaint we had was about you and your disregard for other people when you walked up and down the hall way grumbling about being cold you need to realise that you are in the mountains and need to dress accordingly not T-Shirt and shorts.
Yours sincerely
Management and staff
Providence Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of August for a long weekend with 2 small children in an adjourning room (one with a double/queen and one with 2 sets of bunks). The rooms are small but fine for the purpose as you are really only there to sleep. There is central heating however the rooms tended to be cold anyway especially the floor, the electric blankets were very welcome!

There is no doubt that the Lodge is suited to the budget orientated which is fine as they don't make out to be anything else. It is handy to have breakfast and dinner provided as there is certainly not much around. The meals were acceptable, very home style vs dining out quality and of course all depends on your individual tastes. There is no choice with the meals and most nights 2 options are served, so if there are 2 of you one gets one and the other person the other one. The portion sizes weren't always refective of adults/children - one egg for everyone! The Lodge refers to a children's menu however our experience was that a 'children's menu' was just a smaller version of an adults meal.

The Lodge also "pride themselves on creating a "family" atmosphere" which I would say is more of "families are welcome" however I do believe there could be more to make it more child friendly eg highchairs, more games, less knick knacks around to break. make the lounge/games room more of that and what child doesn't like ice cream for dessert vs sago pudding?

The owners and staff were friendly however more information on what was the routine for meals would have been appreciated. We were there for 3 nights however only on the 2nd night did they announce the timings for breakfast despite new guests. You also had no idea what was on the menu until it turned up in front of you. A blackboard with the days menu and timings for meals would make things alot easier especially if you have children to be able to plan (and I would have thought it would stop guests asking the same questions all the time!).

All in all it was a pleasant albeit cold stay (especially when the power was out for a number of hours) with the bonus being it was the closest place to stay in relation to Selwyn.

Would we be back? The jury is still out on that one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cool Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review
We are a family business and like to have people treat Providence Lodge as their home while they stay with us so we have a few little nic nac's around in the hope that it feels more homely.
We have even had children come out in their PJ's to eat and that is OK with us.
Yours Sincerely
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in a 3 person room for 3 nights in July. The accomodation was clean, comfortable and warm. Meals were amazing and filling, especially since we didnt have to cook and clean!

The owners were friendly and generous and the facilities all that you need. While basic you don't go without a thing!

Will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cool Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It was a pleasire to have you stay with us and hope you might like to visit again.
Yours Sincerely
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adaminaby hotels
9.2 mi away
Snowy Mountains Resort
Snowy Mountains Resort
#2 of 2 in Adaminaby
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rainbow Pines Tourist Caravan Park
14.6 mi away
San Michele Resort
San Michele Resort
#1 of 2 in Adaminaby
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Mountain Lodge

Property: Cool Mountain Lodge
Address: 68 Providence Rd | Providence Portal, Adaminaby, New South Wales 2629, Australia (Formerly Providence Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Adaminaby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Adaminaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cool Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool Mountain Lodge is situated in the National park just 25 minutes from Mt Selwyn. We are the closest accommodation to Mt Selwyn. We sit on the shores of Lake Eucumbene just a short walk to the water. We have 22 Ensuited rooms that sleep from 2-6 persons as well as self contained cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cool Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing