We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorensen's Resort
Nearby Hotels
Apex Inn(South Lake Tahoe)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Valley Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Bay Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)
$119
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunray Tahoe Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Seasons Resort(South Lake Tahoe)
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy S Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)
Tahoe Keys Resort(Lake Tahoe (California))
The Cabin at South Lake Tahoe Keys(Lake Tahoe (California))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
194
52
17
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
52
17
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake tahoecross country skiingflowers bloomingroom cabinhigh sierraroad noisefall colorsanta's villagebeef burgundyaspen grovecozy cabinssledding hillwood fired saunasnow shoeswe loved our staycomplimentary winebed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 284 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family has stayed at Sorensen's each winter for 17 yrs now. We started coming here when the kids were toddlers, it is the perfect location for spending the day going out to play in the snow and coming inside to get warm and cozy. We cross-country ski here each winter, skiing at various locations in the National Forest land all throughout the valley. Hope Valley is gorgeous, and Grover Hot Springs is just down the road! We bring a dog most years, so we appreciate that some cabins allow them. The sledding hills are fun, the cafe is great, and though there is wifi we chose to be unconnected the whole week (no cell phones, tv or computer---bliss!) In summer we have hiked throughout the area, many incredible trails, very few people, amazing mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first time at Sorensen's and we LOVED it! Along with our 7 and 9 year old children, we went sledding on the property (Sorenson's provides free sleds so leave yours at home) and snowshoeing (Sorenson's provided snowshoes rentals free of charge for our entire stay) along the Carson River. Our cabin was perfect for the 4 of us (Homestead cabin; kids had their own room). Ate 1 dinner (their signature Beef Burgundy stew was to die for and they even gave me the recipe!), 1 lunch (the quiche was excellent) and 2 breakfasts (my kids said their waffles were the best ever!) at the restaurant on-site. The BEST hot chocolate was served free of charge between 9am-5pm daily so was good to warm up to after being in the snow playing all day. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Cabins with a front or back deck are nice for relaxing after a day of exploring in Hope Valley
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swyershopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a wonderful winter hide-away and a perfect spot for back country winter sports. Our cabin was snug and cozy and filled with personal touches. We had a full kitchen, but we also had a meal delivered (Room service! Like having your Great Aunt Margaret bring you dinner in bed!) from the tiny but delicious restaurant. The bed was terrific, firm and piled high with quilts. The big bonus was being able to purchase sno-park passes from the front office. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fun, cozy and unique. Great wine selection! Make reservations for dinner. We stayed at St, Nicks. Fun-will be back. Hope to bring some friends next time. Went snowshoeing out the front door. Drove up the road to Hope Valley Outdoors Cross Country. Big and beautiful! No crowds. Nice staff-desk and kitchen! On a one to five scale-Great! Luv-it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougO104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the last 15 years we have stayed 5 nights at Sorensen's each winter. It is a one of a kind place, where amazingly, you can get away from phone calls and computers. Hope Valley is full of wonderful trails where you can cross country ski or snow shoe for free, and Kirkwood is a short drive for those who want more speed. Our children love Sorensen's even more, a safe place where they can build snowmen, sled, and come into the cafe for free hot chocolate all day long. Because we come every year, we have been there with mountains of snow, and when there wasn't a drop. But we have always found plenty of activites and places to explore nearby. It isn't the destination for people who always have to have things just so; it isn't a mega resort and you are above 6000 feet in a remote spot in the Sierras. The beauty and pristine location are to be cherished. The cafe is great, but you can also save a lot of money by packing food to cook in the well stocked kitchens. The owners are also active in keeping Hope Valley free of commercialism and excess and they are also humane employers who treat their employees well. It is Yosemite without the crowds and much better food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews