We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made?”

The Goose & Gridiron
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Merrickville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in with a group. Had the ploughman's lunch - not impressed. The rolls seemed shop bought not proper bread. The cheese wasn't a big hunk of cheddar or a slice of blue or Brie - no, it was a few slices of white & orange cheese - what you'd buy at YIG in a packet. The chutney wasn't bad. Most of the plate was filled with greens - never seen that before... Disappointed. Friends said the appetizers they had weren't bad but not worthy of a pub - more like a chain. As an aside, Trip Advisor should take a look at all the "one review" high ratings this place has - highly suspicious....

Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

There are many renditions of a ploughman's lunch. It is just what it says. There are many different variations of this meal since it was a combination of different items brought to the field for a farmer's lunch. That being said our version of this meal is in the form of a salad that's why it has all the greens. It's also in our salad category on the menu. Our bun's we serve with it are baked on premises daily so I assure you they are not store bought. Our cheese is also bought by the brick and is cheddar and we use mozzarella for the other cheese as this is mild for most peoples tastes. Thank you for the comment on our chutney, it's home made as well! And as for the comment on the validity of reviews, of the 8, 1 star reviews we have received, 5 of them were by people who have only had one review so that answers any questions about validity issues and I'm sure TripAdvisor has ways of authenticating reviews. Again I have said this many times, we always strive for 100% satisfaction and if we don't hit the mark please contact us. We will make sure you are taken care of and completely happy to the best of our ability. We have all made mistakes (all of us) but it's how we correct them that count. Writing on forums without giving an establishment a chance is unfair and frankly is not thoughtful to those people who work hard everyday to try to satisfy as best they can! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 293 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

The atmosphere isn't anything special. The food is fine, but nothing different or special. The service was fine, nothing special. The prices are fine. Absolutely fine, but nothing special....

Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Our building was built in 1856 and we believe is quite special as do many others. Our menu is quite extensive and all food is home made, by us per order so we put our special touch to it. Our servers take pride in their work and offering great products for very good prices. They are a busy and efficient group that split their time efficiently between many guests at once. At the end of the day we believe we have a very special place in a great little community. We are a family restaurant and pub and cater to a wide variety of clientele so what might not seem special to some is very special to many others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband & I stopped here for lunch on a recent weekend visit, and as usual were not disappointed. The staff are friendly, lowkey & welcoming, and the menu has something for everyone. I had the cobb salad, which had fresh grilled chicken, crisp bacon & a variety of vegetables, blue cheese melted on top, with choice of dressings. Quite delicious. My husband had the special with turkey rice soup & tuna sandwich with all the trimmings. The perfect lunch for us both. You are not rushed there, and are made to feel welcome. We used to go to a pub up the street, but stopped going due to rudeness & attitude from the owner. The Goose has been our go-to spot for quite a while now, & it never disappoints. Recommended for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LovePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are truly humbled when we receive great reviews like to one you submitted. From ownership to staff we work very hard at The Goose to make everyone's stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. To hear that you are a go to favourite, well for us it doesn't get any better than that and we appreciate your trust and continued patronage. We are always here for our guests and don't ever hesitate to contact us if there's anything you ever need to discuss with us. Thank you so much for your gracious comments and we hope to see you again soon! Cheers from all of us at The Goose :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visited the Gridiron for the first time by taking my girlfriend Michele out for her 40th birthday, it gets top marks, the food, Atmosphere and Service were outstanding. We started by having the G&G Combo platter which usually is just small finger foods to get you started, The portion we received was surprisingly generous not mention Very tasty......... For the main coarse we both had the Striploin steak with Potatoes and Veggies........The Steak was the best we've had, my hats off to the chief, it was tender and cooked to perfection.
- We highly recommend this restaurant, We will definitely be making a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stodzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for making us part of a special day!! Thanks for your gracious review and we hope to see you for your 41st!! Or sooner!! Cheers from all of us at The Goose :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We live in the area so we go regularly to the Goose for supper or lunch. They have great soups for the lunch. Lately, I have been enjoying their sticky toffee pudding way too much. My favorite dish on the menu is the Madras Chicken Curry with a delicious cold Granville Lions Winter ale, I could not ask for better. The kids love the pizza and my husband is a fan of their chicken and ribs, there something for everybody. The service is always friendly, I recommend to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pinelmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to many more! Cheers from all of us at The Goose :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goose & Gridiron also viewed

 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to The Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing