We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

The Goose & Gridiron
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Merrickville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Tracey and Rob, Thank you for an awesome rib dinner on Saturday Night. The place was packed, again, but our food still arrived hot, and quickly, and the service was great. Have had ribs in several places and can honestly say....the best ever. Massive, perfect baked potato with excellent coleslaw. We saw a plate of fries going to another table and they looked so good, we ordered a plate to share. They were as good as they looked. I have always liked the food at 'the goose', especially the best pizza for miles, but was still impressed with the rib dinner.
We always enjoy 'The Goose' for the food and the very friendly staff. Interesting print above the fireplace.....Great food, staff and atmosphere. See you soon!
Clarke and Jane

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks guys for your kind words and support. It was an awesome night and we are so glad you had a great meal and a great time!! Hearing such nice comments makes it all worth it, Cheers from Rob&Tracy and all the staff at The Goose!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food & service were Great. However sitting o the patio in the summertime seems to attract bees and the like. The seating inside is nice and the service a little faster. Will go back :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dwyer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We are happy you has great service and food. Unfortunately we are in the country in Merrickville and surrounded by "Mother Nature". We do not like to spray pesticides due to the negative impact it has on the environment and also the links to cancer in women. Cheers and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful inside and out! Very friendly staff with great service. The food was very tasty and we were provided large portions. I loved the atmosphere. Price was affordable and I would highly recommend the Goose & Gridiron.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dolores H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us. Cheers, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had our son't rehearsal party dinner in a lovely room beside the main dining area. The service was wonderful and the food was even better. Very affordable, good size portions and delicious. I would highly recommend this friendly restaurant and pub.

Thank MomofGroom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We have had many rehearsal dinners in our private room. We love to be part of that special day for couples. Thanks for choosing us and all the best and good luck to the bride and groom! Cheers from all of us at The Goose!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a Fisherman's Chowder, Fish & Chips and Mussels to start. All excellent, very good value for the dollar. Then to top it off our waitress was awesome! Thanks for a great meal, we will be back next time we are in Ontario.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at The Goose & Gridiron, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your awesome comments, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goose & Gridiron also viewed

Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to The Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing