We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great flavours”

Downtowne Ice Cream Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Merrickville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Popped in on our way out of town for a cone. A nice variety of homemade ice cream and gelato flavours. There was a large candy variety as well. The service was very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adriel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home made ice cream.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The best maple walnut ice cream ever!!! A must place to visit. Long line-up but well worth the wait ...enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HELLOSUNSHINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful gelato and ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is always busy in the summertime and it is easy to see why. Their ice cream and gelato is made on the premises and it is wonderful. We always get a single scoop in a waffle cone and the two cones come to over $10, so it's not cheap, but you really get what you pay for.

We recently got a puppy and discovered that they have complimentary puppy cones (tiny cones with a small amount of ice cream) for dogs. Our puppy loves it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very good ice cream and waffle cones but expensive! Lots of flavours to choose from. Cute shop with locally made toys and lots of candy choices. Tried to sponge toffee and it was very very salty for some reason. $23 for a small kids cone, a double scoop waffle cone, single scoop waffle cone, toffee and 2 Oreos. Nice staff. Very friendly. Offered suggestions on flavours and samples! Went at 530 on a Friday and we were the only ones there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but i've had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

A refreshing treat for sure. But as far as home-made ice cream goes, this one is averagely good. I've had far better - in NYC as well as in Wakefield.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtowne Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to Downtowne Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing