We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel like we were very special guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made to feel like we were very special guests.”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I was travelling with my cousin and elderly aunt. We wanted a place to stay for two nights with no stairs for my aunt to climb and we wanted to be close to the ferry. We were touring the island each day and didn't need more than a room to sleep in and breakfast each day. We felt very lucky to have found the Southbay Guesthouse. This small, quiet and friendly family run B&B satisfied our first two criteria and much more. Our hosts went out of their way to make sure that all of our needs and wants were attended to. We were located in one of the cottage rooms that accommodated three people (one double bed and a single cot, which proved to be very comfortable). The rooms were clean and comfortable for sleeping. There was ample seating outside in the gazebo and in various other locations on the grounds. Each morning, a delightfully presented and satisfying continental breakfast was served in the common dining area at a time that was convenient for the individual guests. There were several restaurants located nearby for lunch and dinner. There are many interesting and beautiful places to visit on Manitoulin and we enjoyed touring each day. The hosts of the Guesthouse also operate a gallery/giftshop which displays and sells a variety of lovely and interesting handmade items. The atmosphere was welcoming, peaceful and unhurried. We extended our stay for an extra day and wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmony001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Our stay on the Manitoulin Island was enhanced by the friendly staff and over the top attitude of everyone. The outdoor fire pit provided an ideal opportunity for meeting other guests and naturally led to interesting conversations. Guest room two was well decorated, had a comfortable bed and private bath. The breakfast was outstanding. We would highly recommend the Southbay Gallery and Guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyboycva41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Very nice B&B, especially rooms #1 and 2 as they have private baths. Other rooms are nice as well if you don't mind sharing a bathroom with one other room. The owners are most accomodating, with little extras such as hot tub, campfires in the back yard, and a beautiful craft store. They also offer infra-red spa and chair massages for an extra fee. As location is very important, this spot is perfect as it's located a stone's throw from the ferry terminal for the Chi-Cheeman going to Tobermory. The breakfasts are very well done and, although listed as continental, there's plenty of food with a beautiful fruit dish, hard boiled egg, toast, cereals, juice, yogurt, juice, nuts, cheese, muffins, scones, tea and coffee. The owner, Jose, is an extremely pleasant man and all staff are very helpful. We got some wonderful tips on what the important sites were on the island so we could make the most of our day. The rooms are equipped with small fridges, wonderful organic lotions and body washes and are kept very clean. I'd recommend this B&B for anyone wanting a nice quiet, comfortable place to stay on Manitoulin Island.

  • Liked — Friendly owners and staff.
  • Disliked — First night there, only room available had to share bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank foss4NorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We booked a weekend there for our 18th anniversary and just adored the bedroom. It was hommy and so clean....Brenda is a great hostess and always there to make your stay more pleasurable...We would go back again every year....It's so peaceful and a very relaxing place.
The hot tub was always ready and hot and relaxing...breakfast was served every morning with fresh fruits. It was quite enjoyeable for us and relaxing and that is what we were looking for.

  • Liked — It was very clean and hospitality was just fantastic.
  • Disliked — Room was a little tight, small.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchies90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, ON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We pulled off the ferry on our Harley and not 30 seconds later we were at our lodgings for the night - very convenient at 5:30pm after a full day of riding and looking forward to a shower.

Our hosts were very warm and friendly, making sure we (and our bike) were taken care of during our one night stay. The gift shop was packed full of amazing treasures - even my husband had a good look around!

Our room (Pottery room) was very clean and comfortable - beautiful quilts. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub all to ourselves later in the evening and although we didn't go into the sauna or for a massage - those are really nice additional features included in a very reasonable rate.

Breakfast the next morning was a sunny start to our rainy day weather - nice fellow guests and smiles all around. Coffee, tea, juices, excellent fruit salad, yoghurt, homemade bread with wonderful preserves, eggs, cheese, nuts - a refreshing change from heavy, greasy sausage/bacon you usually have at other places.

Overall, we had a very peaceful, relaxing stay with some quality time together (no TV :-), a great night's sleep and very good value for our money. We also now have a perfectly crafted dream catcher to wake to each morning reminding us of our memorable trip to Manitoulin Island.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Riding_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Booked this place in advance and was really looking forward to it after a very long drive through northern ontario. Arrived around six only to be met by a less than helpful proprieter that claimed that she had mixed up the reservation date. Don't see how because she was very clear in the call ahead that the room was ours. We were only in South Baymouth to catch the morning ferry and there were not many choices for alternate accomodation. Luckily we found a decent room at the Wigwam motel. These ladies were awesome and even gave us the room at a discount. I can't comment on the condition of the rooms at the Southbay because I never got a chance to see them; but the outside was not at all as it seemed on the internet. They claim to be the closest to the ferry but the two other area motels are closer , nicer and cheaper with much more accomodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yammimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This wonderful guesthouse is just a stone's throw from the Chi-Cheemaun Ferry dock. Our host was outside, waving to us as we pulled in late in the evening. This was a sign of the warm hospitality we experienced from our hosts. Other travelers that we met were equally interesting and engaging--perhaps friendly B&Bs attract friendly people! Our room and private bath were small, but very comfortable--and large enough to accommodate our family of 4 in one room. Children will love exploring the tipis that are set up on the grounds. The gallery on the premises is a true delight to the senses. It overflows with original arts and crafts from the island and beyond. My family had a difficult time pulling me away. It was our first time visiting Manitoulin Island, and guesthouse staff were very helpful in suggesting points of interest to us. I would surely love to return to the island, and our hosts at Southbay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuminOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manitoulin Island hotels
0.0 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 33 in Manitoulin Island
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse

Property: Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse
Address: 15 Given Road | South Baymouth/closest cottages to the ferry, Ontario P0P 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Manitoulin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cottages available for check-in at $875/couple/week (Ask about pet friendly units) Cottages have WIFI, air-conditioning & TV included in an elegant,safe,relaxing atmosphere. Each cottage has a kitchenette, 3 or 4 piece bathroom & separate bedroom & sitting area. Two Pottery Studios with queen sized bed, 4 piece bath, air conditioning, & heaters at $100.00/ night. Enjoy a sweet sleep on our superior quality pillow top queen sized beds, lush bedding, cozy down-filled duvets/pillows and handmade quilts. Antique Decor, ceiling fans. Relax on a shaded verandah or private deck .Enjoy conversation around the campfire & visit our unique art & craft Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbay Gallery & Guesthouse Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing