We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buckhorn Motel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Motel(Manitowaning)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hawberry Motel(Little Current)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Meldrum Bay Inn(Meldrum Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lodge(Manitoulin Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lodge Resort(Manitoulin Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manitoulin Inn(Mindemoya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
19
19
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
19
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie collectiongreat hospitalitynext morningthe ownerferrytowelsmotelislandtobermorylinens
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 43 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Buckhorn Motel is a modest place, nothing extravagant, but exactly what one can expect at Manitoulin Island. Rooms are decent size, extremely clean, with nice bathroom. Hosts Ameal and Cathy are very nice and friendly, coffee and muffins in the mornig are nice begging of the day. For the price we got it is extremely good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Putnik13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Buckhorn Motel on Canada Day after a tour of Manitoulin on our Motorcycles. What a lovely little place! Although not fancy, our room was very reasonable and impecably clean. Our room had new laminate floors. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were plush! The line-dried linens and towels were fresh and inviting. Ameal and Cathy were kind and personable hosts and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. We were offered towels to wipe down our bikes, wood for our kickstands, ice, and delightful homemade muffins with hot coffee in the morning. We will certainly return to Buckhorn in the future. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night while touring the island. I really didn't expect much from a roadside motel, but Ameal and Cathy far exceeded my expectations. The room we had was small but VERY clean. I swear I couldn't find a single speck of dirt anywhere! Both of our hosts were beyond helpful and so friendly. Anything this hotel lacks in amenities, they certainly make up for in service. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ramsar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Four of us were motorcycling the Georgian Bay loop and we booked into the Buckhorn Motel after reading the reviews and speaking with the owner on the phone. What a truly lovely couple, and the motel was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. Fresh coffee and homemade muffins were waiting for us in the morning, along with towels to wipe our bikes down before we headed off to catch the ferry to Tobermory. Don't overlook this gem of a motel when staying in South Baymouth, and take a minute to chat with your hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Like meeting strangers and having them invite you into their lives and home after the first hello. We were guests not by accident, after reading some positive reviews were not steered wrong. Firstly this is a motel not a 5 star hotel, places like this can be musty and not be in the most perfect of areas but the owners made our stay shine! Squeaky clean and very large rooms. The TV only had one channel but he had ton's of movies to rent FOR FREE, and complimentary coffee with muffins in the morning. Internet included here! Close enough to the ferry to catch an early morning departure. Thank you Cathy and Ameal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews