We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place that beat our expectations”
Review of Green Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoulin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Bay Lodge
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place that beat our expectations”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We wanted to spend a quiet week on Manitoulin Island and we found the right place. Green Bay Lodge was perfect from the start. Even my initial emails with Klaus were great.

The lodge is situated in a central spot that makes it easy to visit all parts of the island and it's very close to the cup and saucer trail. We stayed the entire week and met lots of great people while we were staying there. We stayed in the rooms below the house which are very cosy and feel like a home immediately. They are full of home made wooden shelves and loaded with books and cottage furniture. There is a full kitchen and there is lots of space in each of the rooms. I think the bed in the room we stayed in was actually more comfortable than our own bed. At night it is pitch black and silent, it's impossible to not get a good nights sleep here. After leaving the lodge we felt very well rested.

The owners, Klaus and Karen are amazing people; so warm and friendly, in the mornings they really bring everyone together while serving breakfast, and the food was fantastic too. If you want advice on where to go and what to see Klaus will bring you a map and go through the entire island with you, you will always feel looked after. We also took out the boat and Klaus came out to show us how to use it and then left us to explore Lake Manitou.

There were a couple of days were we never left the lodge. You can easily go for a swim or go and sit in front of the little pond which is full of little fish and just relax. If you are trying to get away from the noise and hustle of a big city we can't recommend this place enough. You will come back well rested and restored.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Don't let how secluded it is fool you! My husband and I arrived on our motorcycle. We were told to say to the right of the private drive to the lodge. We did it! We are the first ones that actually followed the directions properly. (Klaus had put up a sign for motorcycles so that was fool proof). The lane opened up to a beautiful setting, well manicured lawn and beautiful flowers. This is a very peaceful place with all the amenities. You have your private living quarters with everything you need. Plenty of social time with other guests. Campfires in the evening. The breakfasts in the morning were awesome. Great variety Karen. Bottomless delicious coffee, orange juice, fresh fruit and more. The view from the breakfast table was perfect overlooking the lake. Klaus was excellent in navigating us around the island, letting us know all the attractions and places to eat. Nice water for swimming and a very peaceful lake. We had a great stay at the Green Bay lodge. Thank again Karen and Klaus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Green Bay Lodge and it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy beautiful gardens and lake. Our room was meticulous,, the grounds were well manicured and the gardens beautiful. Klaus and Karen were the most gracious hosts and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived and their dog Jessie is a wonderful companion on an early morning run.
Our only complaint was that we did not stay long enough. Thanks so much Klaus and Karen. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orum
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Thank you Klaus and Karen for a wonderful stay. We heard about the Lodge through family members and have been telling anyone who would listen that if they ever head to Manitoulin, this is the place to stay. we are visiting from Denmark and found this to be the perfect place the rest with a lovely view if the lake and gardens.
greetings from Anita & Svend from Denmark and Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svendsplast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We couldn't have been more pleased with Green Bay Lodge. The beautiful gardens, lovely views of Lake Manitou from both the lounge chairs and our private patio, the food, comfy bed, nightly bonfires with fellow guests...everything was just what we needed and wanted. We would go back in a heartbeat and probably will. Thanks Klaus and Karen for your hospitatlity. The only problem is we didn't book a long enough stay...three nights was too short!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The tranquility and serenity of green bay lodge was just what we needed. Karen and Klaus were perfect hosts, helpful, thoughtful and friendly. The lodge grounds are beautiful and we had a great time splashing in the lake, having bbqs and toasting marshmallows over the fire. As 4 dog owners Jessie was a poignant yet welcome reminder of our own lovable mutts left at home. This is a little slice of heaven on earth and well worth a trip down the bumpy track. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JussieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were looking for a B&B at the last minute and found the previous reviews on trip advisor to be very positive so we booked a room. The only room left was a beautiful studio type room with full kitchen, dining area and living room with high ceilings and a lovely balconey overlooking the lake. The proprietors, Karen and Klaus have a very friendly and relaxed way about them and made us feel welcome. We enjoyed two lovely breakfasts outside surrounded by beautiful flowers with our hosts making sure we were well looked after.
We loved that the property was so secluded yet had all the conveniences of home. There is a dock for swimming and lounge chairs for sunbathing. There are small boats and canoes for rent and there was a campfire each night.
It is a minutes drive to the famous 'cup and saucer' trail and is fairly centrally located on the island for exploring. We will definitely return in the future and have already suggested it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delicateflower76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manitoulin Island hotels
10.4 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
10.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
14.4 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
36 reviews
51.1 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
73 reviews
19.6 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bay Lodge

Property: Green Bay Lodge
Address: 322 Cosby Subdivision Rd | Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Manitoulin Island
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Green Bay Lodge Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing