We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature with convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoulin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Bay Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature with convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a good location in Manitoulin if you are looking for a place in front of a nice clean lake, in a quiet bay, with a nice exterior setting, clean rooms with all accommodations. Karen and Klaus are great hosts and the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Karen and Klaus are exceptional hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and varied; we had perfect pancakes (not from a mix) and seasonal fruit salad, frittata with garden fresh tomatoes and homemade bread and jams, incredible eggs wrapped in ham with tomato butter (Karen's own). Our room was beautiful, tastefully decorated and so clean with a full wall of windows and a balcony facing the water. Watching the sunrise over the lake from our room is unforgettable. Quiet, heavenly gardens with many places to curl up and read a book or just have a nap. Cool, crystal clear water to swin in. There is a kayak, canoes, life jackets, fishing equipment all there for you to use anytime. Klaus assisted us with our daily itinerary and had exceptional knowledge of the island. My only complaint is that we only stayed three nights! Bring food for lunch and dinner because you won't want to leave to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family (2 adults & 2 kids) spent 3 nights at the lodge. We had the most wonderful time, and were sad to leave. Great central location for getting to places on the island. Wonderful clean room, clean lake to swim and canoe and fish, great breakfast. The evening communal bon fire was great to visit with fellow travellers. I cannot think of a negative thing to say. Please enjoy this place, Klaus and Karen are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms great, with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyinPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our expectations were exceeded in every possible situation. The housekeeping accomadations, the breakfast, the view, the hosts, the property, I could go on but I think you get the picture. Actually you don't, unless you've been there you haven't seen the lake shimmering in the morning light from the breakfast verandah or read a book beside the lapping, hypnotic waters. We loved it and will definitely be back next summer! Thanks again to Klaus and Karen. Wayne and Pat

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Green Bay Lodge cannot be described. It is beautiful, the owners are warm and hospitable, Jessie is a great companion, the food is delicious, the space is idylic, and the gardens are inspiring.
If you want a stay in a place that will linger after you leave it I recommend GBL to everyone. Stay at least a week it is worth it.
I have travelled the world and have found a place where I will return frequently in Ontario and that place is the Green Bay Lodge!
Thank you Karen and Klaus for such a special holiday.

Teresa

Room Tip: All the spaces are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Friendly hosts, got to know the other guests at breakfast and campfire. Lovely gardens by the bay in an idyllic setting. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garcoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The road down to the lake is not a very good one ? if you love your car as much as your wife then do not go ?, the gourmet breakfast was always based around an EGG , eg , They was a really nice couple there from germany and she said to me I did not no they were so many ways to cook eggs ? i did not realise what she meant until the end of our stay by this time I was eggless!, Nice hosts I agree , but not a good road through the forest , also too many Mosquitos and too many EGGS sorry but will not be going back ,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eggman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manitoulin Island hotels
10.4 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
10.0 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
14.4 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 28 in Manitoulin Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
51.1 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lake Wolsey Cabins
Lake Wolsey Cabins
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bay Lodge

Property: Green Bay Lodge
Address: RR#1, Rockville Road, Site 6 | Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Manitoulin Island
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Green Bay Lodge Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing