We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good view but a touch formal”
Review of The Quarterdeck

The Quarterdeck
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Quarterdeck Restaurant is located at The Nare Hotel on Cornwall's Roseland Peninsula. With spectacular sea views over Gerrans Bay, it is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a relaxed lunch or stylish evening meal. The Quarterdeck has a classical yachting décor, sheltered terrace and a reputation for fabulous food made with the finest local ingredients. We have always been a big supporter of West Country farmers and specialise in locally reared beef and the freshest of seafood caught from waters almost on the doorstep. The Nare's wine cellar is extensive with wines from all round the world selected and laid down by Toby Ashworth, proprietor.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, good view but a touch formal”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The quality of the food and service in this restaurant could not be faulted and nor could the view over sea. The hotel itself is very formal although the staff were very friendly and welcoming with the Quarterdeck being the less formal restaurant of the two in the hotel. Food was very well presented and well cooked although the menu was slightly on the fussy side (we both ended up ordering steak and chips for our mains). The food was good value but by no means cheap although there was a selection of wines available by the glass.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with fab view”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is the more modern restaurant at the Nare and it has a very high standard of cooking. You can get basic sandwiches and crisps and salad or a full, posh dinner.

It's clearly popular with locals. They often have people coming for birthday parties or other special events. It's also great for the kids as there's lots to look at and a separate 'gallery' where you can sit and talk and drink cocktails or tea and coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Calm before the storm”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Grasped an hour or so on the beach in glorious sunshine as the winds started to rise, and stealed ourselves inside for a great lunch watching the palm tree bending to the winds. Wonderful spot on the Roseland. Very well cooked food, excellent fixed price daily menu. Very good, well priced and interesting range of wines by the glass. Staff formally trained and a pleasant change to see. Second visit in the same week and will definitely head back on next trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Quarter Deck”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We first ate here a few years ago on a beautiful sunny day. We enjoyed it so much we went back on our recent holiday. This time the weather was poor but the experience was just as good. We both enjoyed our food and the service was good, but polite rather than friendly. The only downside was £10 for a small glass of chardonnay !

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnandjoycef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veryan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous for a Treat”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have eaten at the Quarterdeck a couple of times on an evening and each time the food has been superb.

Although it generally works out quite a bit more expensive than other restaurants, it is worth it for a special treat and the setting is stunning.

The website states that the Quarterdeck has an informal atmosphere - I can't quite agree with that - it probably is less formal that the Nare's dining room, but it still has a fairly formal feel on an evening.

For wine buffs there seems to be an extensive cellar - I am no expert, but I have had some of the nicest red wine there that I have ever had.

Highly recommended if you want a "dressed up" evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julieann100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quarterdeck also viewed

 
Veryan, Roseland Peninsula
Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Quarterdeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing