We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still doesn't really cut it”
Review of The Nare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We've been here a few times now and on each occasion our opinion has been the same - the dining room and service is good but the cooking has never really risen above average. Much superior cooking is to be had at the Tresanton Hotel, The View at Millbrook and the New Yard at Trelowarren near Helston (none of whom we have any connection with). A shame really as everything else is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbleandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked for a week in august 2010 a "comfortable country view room" with an adjoining cabin room for our 2 sons. It was quite an expensive room with a daily rate of GBP 582 per night half board. It was booked more than 6 months in advance. Arriving there we were very dissappointed with the rooms nr 29 which was located near the exhaust of the kitchen ventilator. The whole day from 6.30 AM till 11.00 PM the room was dominated by a terrible noise and filled with the kitchen air. We immediatly complained about this and refused to stay in this room. The hotel management "understood " our problem but could not do anything about it because the hotel was fully booked. As we had booked for our room we were liable for 75% of the week rate, so we stayed in in the hotel and avoided the rooms as much as possible during the day. We think the staff should have informed us in advance at the time of the booking about the unpleasant location of our room in the hotel, which they didn't.

The hotel has a beautifull location, friendly staff and friendly guests. The interior is old fashioned. Some more rooms were also close to this kitchen ventilator. So watch out for this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelfamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I usually think that the tripadvisor reports that just say how someone couldn't get served are annoying..but when it happens to you it really is annoying. We dropped in for a cream tea - but couldn't get served, even though a manager was wondering around, and several staff were laying tables for dinner (it was around 4pm). So we headed for the wonderful Melinsey Mill nearby..where we bumped into another couple who'd been at Nare, couldn't get served, and done the same as us.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
11  Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I've been to the Nare before but not for about 3 years and then 10 years ago i came with my then teenage daughter 3 years in a row. I've seen comments that it is more for older people - certianbly in the summer there is a real mmix of ages with younger couples and children, people taking their elderly parents and my daughter still thinks it is the best hotel ever and was last there when she was 18.

If you want peace and quiet time to walk think read then this is the place for you. the views over the bay are stunning, the beach below the hotel often deserted even in August, and the coast footpath goes past the door. The rooms are all beautifully furnished and kept. I had a single country view room for the first 3 days and a seaview room for the last 2. Only quibble is i wish the single rooms could have say 4ft doubles in them - sleeping in a single bed is not something many of us do now.
Can't speak too highly of the staff - friendly but always professional, and nothing is too much trouble. Staying by myself felt perfectly comfortable, and eating alone in the dining room was fine and very enjoyable.

The outdoor swimming pool and hot tub are wonderful and never busy. Its definitely not cheap but given what you get for the money and you don't need to spend much more to have a lovely time it is good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlawyer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds and a stunning view of the ocean. We stayed in the garden room suite which was quite large, clean and comfortable. The room rate included meals which we looked forward to every night. The service at dinner was top notch although it reminded me of something from a bygone era, a little stuffy.

I can't say anything bad about the place as the people were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. I felt a bit young and out of place, which isn't a complaint. The average guest there was very well heeled(you had to be to afford it) and most were in their 70's. I should point out that many were also longterm guests with several we talked to coming to the Nare for 10 plus years.

I like the place alright but it just wasn't my cup of tea. I could easily recommend it but only to my older, well off friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in June and had a lovely time. Everything about this hotel is just great. The hotel is set in a beautiful location and is tastefully decorated with really comfortable rooms. Our room was a 'country view room' which was lovely although ideally we would have liked to have had a sea view room or suite, but unfortunately the cost of such rooms exceeded our budget for this trip. A good choice of food offered at breakfast and in the evening we dined in the restaurant. which has stunning views and a warm atmosphere. Again a good choice offered and all very nice.The hotel has a good size outdoor pool (the weather was too nice to try the indoor pool) and sitting / sunbathing areas. Small personal touches around the hotel and attentive staff just added to the experience of staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We wanted a place to relax for a few days and we were not disappointed. The hotel and it's artwork is simply enchanting. The staff cannot be more helpful. There is something decidedly English about this place - everything stops for tea in the morning and the afternoon. The highlight was a relaxing massage in the small but perfectly formed spa facilities. The Therapist was a lady called Anne who was asked to provide a relaxing massage and I have to say it was the best I have ever had. Worth a trip just for the treatment. Don't miss this one out.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C20CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan
4.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
503 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Address: Carne Beach, Veryan TR2 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Price Range: $262 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Nare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Veryan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing