We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Millionaire treatment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Langdon Hills, Null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Millionaire treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Nare is by no means cheap, but that doesn't prevent it being the best English hotel we have ever stayed in with a fantastic location and superbly attentive staff. If you want to spoill yourself a bit, this is the place to be in the lap of luxury

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    38
    31
    17
    15
See reviews for
59
153
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

called in for sustenance while walking coastal path. Greeted by a very snooty guy who said he was booked up. went into lounge area and had coffees and beers etc. He came back and said he had a table for usin the restaurant. So we ordered crab cakes , mussels, and a shellfish salad.
I decided to have a glass of white wine. I asked for sauvignon blanc and was joined by the other two ladies. Then the three guys also decided to have a glass each. T he food was good and not expensive, but when the bill came we realised we had been charged £11.50 for each small glass of wine. We felt we should have been shown a wine list so we could have decided which wine we wanted instead of being given glasses of Cloudy Bay which was very nice but not what we would have ordered for a lunchtime snack.
If it had been a sunny day we would have sat outside for a snack which we have done before.
So be warned 'ask for a wine list ' or you might need a mortgage to pay the bill !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have not been back for a couple of years due to illness and just steping through the front door felt like coming home, everything about the hotel is pefect from it's ideal setting to the comfort of the rooms and the super staff that welcome you back like old friends, nothing is too much trouble even with tables groaning with excellent food in the morning I asked for thick cut toast and there it is and every other morning, we spent a week just relaxing, the outside hot tub has to be one of the best places to sit and just enjoy doing nothing. The food is outstanding and the dessert trolley has to been seen to be believed forget the diet and just indulge yourself. The Nare is a hotel to enjoy, if fact it is the only hotel I have stayed were you don't feel as if you are in a hotel it is so relaxed and everyone makes your stay special without being in any way pretentious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We broke our coastal walk with a light lunch here, on the Quarterdeck, amongst the well manicured garden.

The view is very relaxing and the food was decent - although we didn't stretch the kitchen (crab cakes and a cheese sandwich).

Although clearly a "nice place", they seemed used to passing trade on the coastal path, and we felt relaxed wearing our casual, slightly muddy, walking clothes. The staff were all very friendly.

It looked like a lovely place to stay if immaculate spa-hotels are your thing. For us, we stayed for an hour and enjoyed it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ukjms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Called in here with two friends last week on the off chance of a table for lunch to find the restaurant buzzing and full. Although attired in outdoor clothes and walking boots this didn't appear to faze the Restaurant Manager, who told us a table would be available in a short time and offered us the adjacent lounge while we waited. Our drinks order only took a few minutes - and our table was ready within fifteen. Aptly named The Quarterdeck the ambiance is one of a sailing theme with wonderful huge black and white photos of J class yachts on every wall. One of my guests, a keen sailor, and his first visit to The Nare, loved them. My friends had lovely mouthwatering sandwiches and chunky homemade fries, I chose the superb crayfish and avocado salad, all washed down with a bottle of their excellent house wine. Homemade ice creams served with Cornish clotted cream, and a shared cafetiere of coffee finished off the meal. It's not often one leaves a restaurant feeling as though it's money well spent, but we all remarked how good it was as we were leaving. Special mention should go to the charming European waiter - I think he said he was from Hungary - who obviously loves his job and enjoys looking after his guests. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: When the sun is shining and the outside terrace is open there isn't anywhere in Cornwall to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mature_sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having just returned from Cornwall after a trip down memory lane with the main object of the memory box being The Nare Hotel at Carne Beach I feel a dream has been spent. What I mean is this - my husband began visiting The Nare when he was a small child with his family and he is now in his 60's. It was the first place I stayed with both he and his parents back in the 1960's and we last had a holiday there 18 years ago so the thread has been strong through the decades. On the spur of the moment we decided to spend Easter in Cornwall and enquired about staying at the hotel but the rooms we chose were already booked which did not surprise us given the late stage.
However, we did book to have luncheon on the Quarter Deck on our Wedding Anniversary 2nd April. No complaints about the food but the restaurant area is shabby on not worthy of any deck I have ever been on! The manager was less than smart with decidedly casual air. Or was it arrogance. Perhaps we should have chosen to eat in the main hotel restaurant but the deck area was new to us having only been there for 8 years we were told. Possibly an ideal place to eat in when one is in swim clothes but the prices don't represent this. Our bill for luncheon was £75.00 for three courses (good we were not hungry as they were tiny) and one beer and one soft drink.

As we were not residents we could not go into the main hotel - staff most definite and sniffy about that but when standing in the car park area looking on to the main entrance part of the building it was impossible to miss the huge air conditioning units, either by sight or sound! Once upon a time the view over the countryside would have been just that but not now as various additions mean cars are more likely to be the view. So, it is either very expensive sea views or nothing.

We understood from a member of staff that applications for massive expansion are under way so this will have been our last return to dear old Nare - we are of a different age obviously. The position is the finest anywhere in the world and that will always be the pull but whoever is holding the map now has lost the plot totally. Also, is it true that one can take ones family pet and this pet will have a personal menu brought to the bedroom!!!!! No thanks!

The gardens are beautiful so well done whoever looks after them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SurreyMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A friend told me to come and visit this location. Indeed, the location was beautiful, in every sense of the word, however though we were only visiting a friend and he wasn't there. it was cold out side so we went inside as it clearly states non residents welcome. so my family and i went in. we asked if we could have teas and coffee in the bar as there was no one in there and there quarter deck was full and my family and i didn't want to walk through all the other people eating their lunches to get to the gallery. So when we sat in the bar the concierge came to us to said that only residents are allowed in the bar, he had a full house. and he said it quietly, like he was trying to whisper it so no one heard. 'There was no one in there'. We wouldn't of even been long. My friend, family and I were very disappointed at this and will stay somewhere else as we don't want this happening to us in the future, specially if we have our friends and family visiting us. Other wise the location, setting and welcoming was beautiful. Though it did have a bit of an old feel look, like it needed to be updated, however that is an extremely minor aspect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KungFuPanda1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan
1.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
24.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Property: The Nare
Address: Carne Beach, Veryan TR2 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Veryan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing