We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Nare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and i recently had Sunday Lunch in the main restaurant at the Nare. It was excellent with beef carved from the trolley (reminding us of Simpsons in the Strand London), friendly and efficient service, all enjoyed whilst being able to view Veryan Bay in all its glory.

Room Tip: unable to comment on the rooms as we only used the restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for The Nare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 308 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We love the Nare. We came here 10 years ago when our children were small, and we came again a week ago for their Bridge week.
The first thing to say is that their investment in staff is amazing. There were about 25 people, conscientiously looking after about 20 guests. And those were just the visible ones!
We had a good seaview room, well worth the extra for the constantly changing seascapes, and we had a lot of cocktails. One of your reviewers mentions that these are expensive, but they come in tumblers!
The food, in both the main dining room and the Quarterdeck, was reliably excellent, but again it was the good humour and politeness of the staff that was most impressive, along with the daily splendour of the afternoon cream teas.
Our bill was £1800 for 2 for 5 days, all in. We loved it.

Room Tip: First floor seaview room was perfect
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThorpeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

you can take your dog or even 2. We went with friends who also had 2 dogs . The hotel is like home from home, squashy sofas, comfy beds afternoon tea, dinner is delightful, superb wines. It is right by a fabalous beach. In the summer it caters very well well for young families. Amazing walks, extreemly friendly staff, all in all an up market yet unassuming hotel the staff are trained well and know how important it is to look after you, during your stay. Not the cheapest hotel in Cornwall however worth every penny. If we could afford to we we spend more time visiting we loved it, it was our 5th visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, clean and well furished but the sea view rooms amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceridwyn1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I cannot rate The Nare higher. I have been lucky enough to stay here twice now. The first time was for my parents' ruby wedding anniversary, when the whole family came to stay. We had such a marvellous time - they were great with my young son, and made the whole weekend feel just wonderful.

The second time was just my husband and I. Again, we had a fantastic time in this hotel. It is slightly old-fashioned, but lovely nonetheless. We are hoping to come back again next year with some friends and we know we'll have a lovely time again.

It's very expensive but, to my mind, worth every penny. Very, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view as the view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locutus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped in at The Nate Hotel for a quick coffee on Sunday afternoon. We were treated and shown to some seats in a little snug area, by a charming bloke who was plea sent and approachable to kept an air of professionalism at all times. I had a cappuccino and my girlfriend had a latter. Both drinks were served quickly and v good quality and taste. And the price was reasonable too, not too expensive but not the cheapest drinks we've ever had, but you do pay for what you get. It was a really nice hour, we were overlooking the coast with amazing views. We will be going back if not just for coffee, we may go back to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BcbAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The views over the beach and English Channel are memorable and the standard of comfort high, also the breakfast and dinner were well cooked with a good wine list. Its just a shame its so expensive compared with other top Cornish hotels such as the Budock Vean at Mawnan Smith and Treglos Hotel at Constantine Bay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must.......its the sea view which sets this hotel apart from most others.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlymouthTrufflehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stopped at this Hotel four times .
Every time as good as the last time.
The staff are wonderful and the food is too.
We have been in four different rooms,all very lovely and very comfortable .

Room Tip: Lovely rooms at the front .sea view just wonderful And looking over the hotel gardens
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryrose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veryan
2.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
912 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
114 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
633 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nare

Address: Carne Beach, Veryan TR2 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Veryan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veryan
Price Range: $374 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nare is Cornwall's top luxury hotel. Sitting in its own grounds, overlooking a beach with perfect sea views, here you will find peace and relaxation in elegant and luxurious surroundings. Rated by the AA as the best hotel in Cornwall every year for the last 20 years, The Nare has traditional standards of comfort, luxury and service that are increasingly difficult to find in the modern world. Individually decorated rooms and suites, delicious food from the hotel's two restaurants and outstanding Spa and leisure facilities make The Nare the perfect choice for couples enjoying a romantic short break or families looking for a location to suit all ages and generations, at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Nare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nare Hotel Veryan
Nare Veryan In Roseland
The Nare Veryan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing