We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb base to explore East Cornwall and Plymouth area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambridge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge House
Ranked #6 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
1 review
“Superb base to explore East Cornwall and Plymouth area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Satyed for the Bank Holidayweekend. The room was lovely and bright with views over River Tamar, saw lots os ships coming and going. Milton and Sarah (owners ), were very helpful and friendly. Milton cooked super breakfasts to order, any way we wanted, the coffee was fantastic.
We visited rame peninsular , with great beaches and Plymouth is a good and happening city. (much cheaper to stay in Torpoint than in Plymouth!).
Went to Dartmoor the 2nd day, wow wonderful and rural, yet it can be very dangerous, so Milton said, if you dont know what you are doing.
Would come back and stay with Milton and Sarah thay are both brill.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterman4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

Stayed in Torpoint over the weekend of 14th February. Our room was on the 2nd floor which offered great views from bedroom and bathroom, over the sea (Navel dockyard) and countryside. The room was very well appointed with lots of great touches, (hairdryer, herbal teas, cotton buds, nice toiletries ). TV has DVD and IPOD wow!

Owner Milton is very friendly and cooks breakfast to order in a farmhouse style kitchen/diner. You can see Milton cooking which I thought was great
All in all a great stay and we will surley return

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowflowers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

An excellent b&b just a stones throw from the coast line.
Nice family atmosphere and run by a lovely couple, the room I had was spacious and well presented... I will certainly stay again when visiting the area.
Perfect if you have your own transport or hire car... great price for superb quality accomodation.
Thanks.... Nathan C

  • Liked — The room (event though pink hehe) and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nathan_crome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

Cambridge House, Torpoint
5th June 2008
Mortons Sheffield

We stayed at Cambridge House for one night only due to our daughter passing out from HMS Raleigh. We booked 2 rooms which were on the top floor with good views all round. The rooms were very light and airy and the decor was of a very high standard. It wasn't the biggest room we have ever stayed in but this was not a problem at all. We did have tea and coffee making facilities as well. The bathroom was large and spotless and clean and I have to say was on par with one of the top hotels in Dubai we had stayed in. The owners should be given a pat on the back for this. Breakfast was a full English breakfast which was very good.

The position of the place was good as only a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal if on foot. HMS Raleigh was a 5 minute drive away. We had a wonderful day at the parade so I would recommend anyone staying here on their visit. We had travelled from Sheffield and would have liked to have stayed longer if my daughter had not to be at Porstmouth by the Monday.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM57Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

Stayed at Cambridge House whilst visiting my family in Torpoint.
My family and I stayed in the family room, sleeps 4, was told it has just been refurbished, smelt very new! I love the smell of new carpets!! Well decorated, yet simple, beautiful truckle bed for children to sleep on, Milton the owner said from Laura Ashley, shower great, bathroom a little bit small but works perfectly.

Milton and Sarah were great although we do know the area quite well. Breakfast was very good nothing to much trouble we will go back

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnsmithGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed at Cambridge House for our sons passing out parade at HMS Raleigh. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of May. We had 2 ensuite double rooms on the top floor, a long way up(2 flights of stairs) but the view over the sea and naval dockyard was fantastic.
Both bedrooms were light and airy with good built in wardrobes , one bathroom had super views but the smaller room was an internal bathroom. All bits worked well in rooms, Milton was a very helpful and friendly host. This was our first visit to this part of the country and he helped us with things about the parade.
The kitchen had a big refectory style table (pine I think), breakfast was great, anything we wanted , there was 4 of us and we orderd 4 different mixs of food and eggs, no problem for Milton!!
teh whole house was spotlessly clean and as we found out Milton does it all , cooking cleaning and all the ironing. Oh yes the linen was of a great quality level. The house is most obviously a family home first and then a business, but the mix works well.
We would stay again if in the area

Helpful?
1 Thank quinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

My partner, his mother and I recently spent two nights here and don't think we'll be rushing back !! We had two double rooms with a shared en-suite in a little suite of rooms with it's own door which in theory sounds perfect ..... however ....... The en-suite wasn't big enought to swing a cat in. I would say I'm average size for a female and struggled to bend over in the shower without cracking my head (or some other part of my anatomy ) on the wall. The wash basin was minute ... so much so that it was impossible to get enough water in the kettle for more than one cup of tea ...... had to fill it from the shower !
Some of the following comments might appear to be rather picky, but are there to make the point that the overall impression was that very little thought had been given to the furniture / facilities or layout. If the proprietor & his family had spent even one night in our rooms, I'm sure they would then have done things differently !!
In the mother-in-law's room ( which was inadequately small for a double ) the mirror had obviously been fitted on the wall by the proprietor who's over 6' tall . Consequently all she could see was the top of her head (and that was when she was standing on her toes!! ) The mirror in our room (which was a good size) was at the same height but also over the foot end of the bed, resulting in it being as much use as a chocolate fireguard !
The TV in one of the rooms had broken and was away for repair ... it was expected back that night, but needless to say it didn't arrive, but there was no suggestion of a reduction in price, and the remote for the TV in the other room didn't work.
There was no dressing table or shelf to put any cosmetics etc on and the tea / coffee making facilities were on a tray on a 1920's style packing trunk (very trendy but NOT practical .... kneeling down to make the tea, isn't my idea of fun !! )
The wardrobe was totally Ikea .... wooden framework and hanging rail covered by canvas with a canvas roll down front. Did the job I suppose but not my cup of tea. The bedside table was the same and a bit wobbly ... not really suitable for putting drinks on !
On to the good stuff ..... breakfast was fine, the rooms were very clean and it was only a short walk into Torpoint. If it had been about £20 a night cheaper, it might JUST ABOUT have been value for money. However having looked at other B & B's in the area, they were all similarly priced but of course I can't speak for how they'd compare.

Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyLizzy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
1.2 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Property: Cambridge House
Address: 70 Wellington Street, Torpoint PL11 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House Cornwall is now under new management, as of March 2015. Rob & Trish look forward to welcoming you to Cornwall's forgotten corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cambridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing