We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly”
Review of Carbeile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carbeile Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Due to a family birthday locally I was advised to use the Carbeile Inn, Torpoint.
My daughter and I booked the day before and was offered a room without any issues agreeing the cost and check in times for our stay.

On our arrival we were greeted with a smile by a member of staff whom took the time to show us around and explain all the details properly which made us feel like we were in good hands.

The family room provided was modern, specious and clean providing all we needed for our stay. I could really see all my family having a longer stay here next time as this is and ideal base to visit family and local beaches.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast (which was fab) but had seen the meals coming out looking really tempting so will certainly be using this next time!

Overall, a perfect family friendly Inn that meets all your needs in a friendly and welcoming way. Can’t wait to be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Popped in wednesday evening for a nice steak,I had chips with mine and the wife had mini jacket spuds with hers.Very nice and plenty on the plate.I was especially impressed with the salad with my steak,mixed leaf lettuce ,red onion and tomatoes with a nice dressing.Will definitely be returning for another full meal soon.Hope the hosts do well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from the carbeile ,stayed for 2 nights in a double room which was clean fresh and bright.Can honestly say that the landlady and her staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodated every request we had and I would not hesitate to recommend the inn to anyone travelling to Torpoint .The food is good freshly cooked better than average pub grub ,breakfast fresh and plentiful at a time of your choice to suit.I was happy with the prices I paid to stay eat and drink.location great for hms Raleigh 5 mins away .
Best point.....the customer service.really do go the extra mile.thanks!!!!made our hard trip easier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurandRobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am sorry to say I was very disappointed not with the main meal of roast that was beautiful, but the starter and the sweet was very lacking, I had a pâté starter, after I removed the thick top of set butter I tasted the pâté it was tasteless, no flavour at all, the sweet was supposed to be a creme brûlée, what happened to the Lovely rich cream base it was like scrambled eggs and tasted really bland, no finesse when serving and no little biscuit that would have been a nice addition. As I said the gammon was beautiful as was all the veg and lovely rich gravy.
I would have said something but I did not want to upset the person who had organised it as she normally does take time out to pick the area and place to eat.
Also I think your drains need cleaning by the toilets.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DizzieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Used due to its location for what I needed (Bed, bread and beer).
A perfectly pleasant place to stay.
Simple lunch fare - very good value at £5.00
Similar evening menu - basic pub food - with a specials board
At Austell beers - quite OK
Breakfast worked (low budget full english)
People and service very friendly.
Room clean and presentable, shower a little under pressured but nonetheless working (and typical of the Mira electric showers). Small soaps provided, but no shampoo or showergel.
As the room chilled off at night the heating seemed a little late coming on, but it did eventually make it.
Main gripe (not a complaint) was the rooms were not very well soundproofed, creaking floors, bangs and crashes of doors and draws, other peoples alarms.
Dart board and pool table, lounge area with boards games - family friendly.
Outside decking area looked good.
All in all however it is what it is, an acceptable pub B&B, good value and welcoming

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pick_E_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the issues you had with the noise, I will look into this and see what steps we can take to reduce the impact on our visitors. It was good to meet you and I hope your son's pub prospers up country! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Carbeile Inn, Torpoint.
We received a warm welcome as we arrived to check in, we'd just had a long journey and it was a nice touch by the staff.
The staff are all great, very helpful and attentative to whatever needs we had.
The food was first class, we had the carvery, which was very nice, all nicely prepared and well presented, very reasonable cost too, certainly get value for money. The main menu was plentiful, loads of various dishes, spoilt for choice. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection and a good start to the day.
The bar has a great selection of real ales, by St Austell brewery, which may i add, was the perfect pint. As well as the usual choice of lagers, spirits etc, and before i forget, a Cornish lager, Korev, which was a great taste.
The rooms were comforable, nicely decorated, modern, clean and warm. Large tv, plenty of teas, coffee etc.
We had a view of the sea, which was nice to wake up to on a morning.
I can highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying at this Inn, reasonable cost for the accomodation provided, nice handy location to get to, in a nice part of East Cornwall.
For those parents or loved ones that are looking for accomodation to go to the passing out parades at HMS Raleigh, it is the perfect place, and only a 10 min walk from the base.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlislekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are delighted you had such a good stay and thank you for your really positive review. We are particularly glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your welcome which we think is important after a long journey down. We hope to see you again soon for some perfect pints!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed for one night as I was passing through. It’s in a handy location within walking distance of the Torpoint ferry. I had a cracking nights' sleep in the big comfortable double bed. In the morning I treated myself to a 'Mega-breakfast', too. Many thanks team!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks for your review Richard, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
4.6 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
622 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,052 reviews
3.1 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Saltash
Travelodge Saltash
#3 of 4 in Saltash
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbeile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbeile Inn

Address: Trevol Road, Torpoint PL11 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range: $109 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carbeile Inn at Torpoint, a perfect jumping off point for your holiday in Cornwall and Devon, stay a couple of nights and explore the beautiful Rame Peninsula with stunning views of the picturesque Tamar Valley, the lovely coves and beaches along Whitsand Bay. On the edge of the Cornish town of Torpoint, the Carbeile Inn overlooks Torpoint, just 600 yards from HMS Raleigh. The Eden Project is just 50 minutes away and other places to visit include Mount Edgecombe Country Park, National Trust properties like Anthony House, Lanhydrock House, Cotehele, Bodmin Moor, Dartmoor and stunning coastal walks and beaches.The historic fishing ports of Looe and Polperro are only 20 minutes away or Plymouth, which is on our doorstep hosts a redeveloped seafront with the Hoe and Barbican providing an excellent day out.We have five en suite bedrooms all located on the first floor, which are comfortable and fitted with flatscreen television (with freeview), coffee and tea making facilities. There are two family rooms with a double bed and a bunk-bed, one twin room and two double rooms to offer. There is a single occupancy supplement added to all rooms. All prices include a full Cornish breakfast in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carbeile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbeile Hotel Torpoint
Carbeile Inn Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing