We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Dinner”
Review of Carbeile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carbeile Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am sorry to say I was very disappointed not with the main meal of roast that was beautiful, but the starter and the sweet was very lacking, I had a pâté starter, after I removed the thick top of set butter I tasted the pâté it was tasteless, no flavour at all, the sweet was supposed to be a creme brûlée, what happened to the Lovely rich cream base it was like scrambled eggs and tasted really bland, no finesse when serving and no little biscuit that would have been a nice addition. As I said the gammon was beautiful as was all the veg and lovely rich gravy.
I would have said something but I did not want to upset the person who had organised it as she normally does take time out to pick the area and place to eat.
Also I think your drains need cleaning by the toilets.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DizzieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Used due to its location for what I needed (Bed, bread and beer).
A perfectly pleasant place to stay.
Simple lunch fare - very good value at £5.00
Similar evening menu - basic pub food - with a specials board
At Austell beers - quite OK
Breakfast worked (low budget full english)
People and service very friendly.
Room clean and presentable, shower a little under pressured but nonetheless working (and typical of the Mira electric showers). Small soaps provided, but no shampoo or showergel.
As the room chilled off at night the heating seemed a little late coming on, but it did eventually make it.
Main gripe (not a complaint) was the rooms were not very well soundproofed, creaking floors, bangs and crashes of doors and draws, other peoples alarms.
Dart board and pool table, lounge area with boards games - family friendly.
Outside decking area looked good.
All in all however it is what it is, an acceptable pub B&B, good value and welcoming

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pick_E_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry about the issues you had with the noise, I will look into this and see what steps we can take to reduce the impact on our visitors. It was good to meet you and I hope your son's pub prospers up country! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Carbeile Inn, Torpoint.
We received a warm welcome as we arrived to check in, we'd just had a long journey and it was a nice touch by the staff.
The staff are all great, very helpful and attentative to whatever needs we had.
The food was first class, we had the carvery, which was very nice, all nicely prepared and well presented, very reasonable cost too, certainly get value for money. The main menu was plentiful, loads of various dishes, spoilt for choice. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection and a good start to the day.
The bar has a great selection of real ales, by St Austell brewery, which may i add, was the perfect pint. As well as the usual choice of lagers, spirits etc, and before i forget, a Cornish lager, Korev, which was a great taste.
The rooms were comforable, nicely decorated, modern, clean and warm. Large tv, plenty of teas, coffee etc.
We had a view of the sea, which was nice to wake up to on a morning.
I can highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying at this Inn, reasonable cost for the accomodation provided, nice handy location to get to, in a nice part of East Cornwall.
For those parents or loved ones that are looking for accomodation to go to the passing out parades at HMS Raleigh, it is the perfect place, and only a 10 min walk from the base.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlislekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are delighted you had such a good stay and thank you for your really positive review. We are particularly glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your welcome which we think is important after a long journey down. We hope to see you again soon for some perfect pints!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed for one night as I was passing through. It’s in a handy location within walking distance of the Torpoint ferry. I had a cracking nights' sleep in the big comfortable double bed. In the morning I treated myself to a 'Mega-breakfast', too. Many thanks team!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks for your review Richard, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went here for an informal wedding reception and had a superb meal... carvery was delicious with succulent meat and tasty veg. Love the Cornish lager on sale there too! Kids loved the play area and big beer garden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jojonic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonJonesPL11, Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you for your great review! We have only just begun our management of Carbeile and want to make sure we are listening to what our visitors say, good or bad. It's always good to start off on a positive though! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We called in for a meal on the way home, after attending the Armed Forces Day in Plymouth. Comfortable seating in a good sized restaurant area away from the bar, with a pleasant waitress. We had a very enjoyable meal, good pub food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A good welcome, comfy clean rooms and a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Staff are very welcoming. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prestonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 23 in Plymouth
2,706 reviews
3.9 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#5 of 10 in Torpoint
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Copley Arms
Copley Arms
#7 of 10 in Torpoint
124 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbeile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbeile Inn

Address: Trevol Road, Torpoint PL11 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range: $115 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carbeile Inn at Torpoint, a perfect jumping off point for your holiday in Cornwall and Devon, stay a couple of nights and explore the beautiful Rame Peninsula with stunning views of the picturesque Tamar Valley, the lovely coves and beaches along Whitsand Bay. On the edge of the Cornish town of Torpoint, the Carbeile Inn overlooks Torpoint, just 600 yards from HMS Raleigh. The Eden Project is just 50 minutes away and other places to visit include Mount Edgecombe Country Park, National Trust properties like Anthony House, Lanhydrock House, Cotehele, Bodmin Moor, Dartmoor and stunning coastal walks and beaches.The historic fishing ports of Looe and Polperro are only 20 minutes away or Plymouth, which is on our doorstep hosts a redeveloped seafront with the Hoe and Barbican providing an excellent day out.We have five en suite bedrooms all located on the first floor, which are comfortable and fitted with flatscreen television (with freeview), coffee and tea making facilities. There are two family rooms with a double bed and a bunk-bed, one twin room and two double rooms to offer. There is a single occupancy supplement added to all rooms. All prices include a full Cornish breakfast in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carbeile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbeile Hotel Torpoint
Carbeile Inn Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing