We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Carbeile Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carbeile Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Holyhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed here with my 2 kids and mother in law for my husbands passing out at HMS Raleigh! Great Location! Had a lovely room( family room) with lovely views! Staff were very generous and helped carry our bags to our room as we had to deal with the bags and 2 little ones( 4+2) ! The kids loved the play area at the rear and stayed outside most of the evening until it began to rain! Breakfast the next morning was lovely, plenty to choose from!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vonnieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
25
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just leaving and a great time was had by us all. The staff were superb yet again, this time we travelled with a young child but she was made so welcome and the staff helped us to meet the babies needs. Can't wait to come here again as I don't think anywhere else would do. Great location near the naval base and great food, great real ales.
Thx all at the Carbeile a great stay yet again.
Must recommend everyone try it.
See you next time guys.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfella018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn lancashire
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The rooms look good following a recent refurb however the standard of maintenance isn't. the extractor fan in the bathroom was out of order the light over the sink didnt work the window mechanism was broken with the parts on the window cill rendering it inoperable. We stayed for three nights and in that time the heating had only been on as we arrived (to air the rooms) and was cold for the remaining time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrainsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grikka01, General Manager at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
I am very sorry that you were disapointed with your stay. I am aware the there are two rooms with window problems, this has been reported to St. Austell Brewery previously and we are awaiting repair. The heating is on a timer and comes on at 6am ~ 10am and 4pm ~ 9pm. I am sorry that this has inconvenienced you in anyway and wished that you had mentioned this to us so it could have been immediately rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed on a Tuesday night, they had a quiz and curry night going on, which we participated in. Food was really good, friendly and welcoming staff. The rooms were undergoing decoration and we stayed in room 4, which was absolutely amazing. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We visited the Carbeile Inn for my son's passing out parade at HMS Raleigh. It's perfectly located for Raleigh being just a 2 minute drive / 10 minute walk. We were all made to feel extemely welcome from start to finish & nothing was too much trouble. A few of us had the carvery, which was easily the best carvery I have ever had. The remainder of our party ordered from the menu and everything was cooked to perfection.

A dream of a place to stay for any real ale lovers! The hardworking landlord was extremely helpful & friendly, taking great pride in his establishment. Also a huge thank you to the lady member of staff (who also works in HMS Raleigh!). She treated us like family - a real asset to the Carbeile.

The rooms were very modern and extremely clean. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our stay there so much we returned again for a family meal after my son's passing out. Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Whilst staying at theCarbeile Inn for two nightsthe room quality was very poor and in need or urgent repair and upgrading.We stayed in room 5 which was a double room.Had better hotels in London for less. However the staff were freindly.Bar area was very clean but also very dusty in areas like window blinds.Evening meals were very good but breakfast need improving alot..Think the owners put to much into their evening reastaurant and tend to side line the accommodation side of things which is a shame really as it is quite a nice place..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed on Thurs 8th July to attend my son's passing out parade at HMS Raleigh, the location was excellent. We had dinner at the Inn and the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff made it a special occasion. The room was excellent and big thanks to one lady staff member who went out of her way to make the trip all the more special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreawales3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
3.9 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
605 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
37 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cardinals Hatt
The Cardinals Hatt
#7 of 11 in Saltash
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbeile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbeile Inn

Property: Carbeile Inn
Address: Trevol Road, Torpoint PL11 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carbeile Inn at Torpoint, a perfect jumping off point for your holiday in Cornwall and Devon, stay a couple of nights and explore the beautiful Rame Peninsula with stunning views of the picturesque Tamar Valley, the lovely coves and beaches along Whitsand Bay. On the edge of the Cornish town of Torpoint, the Carbeile Inn overlooks Torpoint, just 600 yards from HMS Raleigh. The Eden Project is just 50 minutes away and other places to visit include Mount Edgecombe Country Park, National Trust properties like Anthony House, Lanhydrock House, Cotehele, Bodmin Moor, Dartmoor and stunning coastal walks and beaches.The historic fishing ports of Looe and Polperro are only 20 minutes away or Plymouth, which is on our doorstep hosts a redeveloped seafront with the Hoe and Barbican providing an excellent day out.We have five en suite bedrooms all located on the first floor, which are comfortable and fitted with flatscreen television (with freeview), coffee and tea making facilities. There are two family rooms with a double bed and a bunk-bed, one twin room and two double rooms to offer. There is a single occupancy supplement added to all rooms. All prices include a full Cornish breakfast in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Carbeile Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carbeile Hotel Torpoint
Carbeile Inn Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing