We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location on a nice day and inside is not bad either” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilcove Inn

Wilcove Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Torpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
plymouth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely location on a nice day and inside is not bad either”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took my daughter here for lunch on a Friday as it was her birthday. Good choice of dishes and portion sizes (lighter bites available) Good service and tasty food. Would recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordon, Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, lovely pub, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited this pub today (29/07/13) and had a brilliant lunch. I don't know how anyone could fault the food. My wife had chilli tiger prawns in stir fry, my dad had fish and chips, mum a chicken salad and I had lasagne with a Greek salad, together with a side of chips and garlic bread. Everything was excellent and the chips were some of the best we had eaten - ever. The portions were large and with 7 drinks the bill was only £63. I know it's different strokes for different folks but I would like to see what people who left negative feedback were expecting because I thought it was superb. Will definitely be revisiting every time we're down in cornwall. Tip - try the elderflower cider -bootiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arrivanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wasted journey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thought it would be nice to have a nice meal at The Wilcove Inn but on arrival was told that it was a themed Mexican Night and that it was fully booked despite tables in patio and garden area not been used. How a public house can refuse custom on a Saturday night is beyond belief I thought there is a recession on. Extremely disappointed as was the embarrassed host surely you don't need themed nights on a Saturday when most people go out to relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lazerlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff. Mixed feelings about the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Second time here with a big party. The staff are super friendly and the location beautiful. However the food has been average. Some of our party were very disappointed . I do like this place however I would say the food is average. Stick to traditional pub food and stay away from the exotic. Also a nice play to drink and enjoy the location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with great food and superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely location, good beers and great food but the staff are the real stars. Food is super, service is great and Jonathan is a brilliant host/barman/waiter you get the drift! We regularly visit and it is great to sit outside by the waters edge on a sunny day. Well worth your hard earned cash.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilcove Inn also viewed

Torpoint, Cornwall
Crafthole, Torpoint
 
Torpoint, Cornwall
Torpoint, Cornwall
 

Been to Wilcove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing