We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St James guest house”

St. James Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. James Guest House
Ranked #9 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St James guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped at st James guest house for our sons passing out parade. We found the hotel to be clean and the owners very friendly, the breakfast was spot on, would defiantly go back. The hotel is literally 5 mins drive to HMS Raleigh making it and ideal place to stay if your loved one is passing out, and its close to bars, restaurants and takeaways. All in all its a great value for money hotel,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed there oct 2012 very good location just up the road from ferry port and local bars and Restaurants. We found the owners very helpful and friendly. And the food was great too. We will definitely go back and stay again, I would also highly recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ady D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having read the tripadvisor reviews, only one wasreally negative. I agreed with the majority; the guest house is clean and the owner is very friendly and helpful. Could find no fault with the breakfast either.
The decoration of the rooms was a bit dated and maybe a bit shabby- in need of re-decorating. But as the price for a family room ( 3 adult shared) was £75 for the night, the room was adequate for us. We only stayed 2 nights and the room may have been a bit too small for a longer stay. The room has a loo and a basin in a very small room and ,strangely , a separate glass- doored shower opening straight into the bedroom... No privacy when showering.... Luckily there is a bathroom just down the corridoor which we could use as the non en- suite roooms were not occupied.
The view out of the window was of a very untidy back yard... but we weren't there to look out the window I suppose!The price for a double room was quoted as £55 a night. . So it was our decision to share the family room rather than book 2 rooms.
So the guest house is definitely not anywhere near as bad as the "house of horrors" review. If you want a clean , friendly room with a good breakfast, and you don't want 5 star decor, then St. James would be ok. We wouldn't not stay there again...Hope this review is helpful if you are considering making a booking.

Room Tip: Check whether you room has en-suite,as not all rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I spend a weekend almost monthly in Torpoint and St. James Guest House is my stay during the visits. Tiny and Tracy are very friendly and welcoming, and the room (regular one) is very good and clean. A great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JussiSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Arrived at around 6pm on the 15th December for the passing out on the 16th and received a warm welcome from Tiny at the door who advised on parking arrangements which were no problem. Received a welcoming pint in the lounge bar at a very reasonable price. Asked Tiny about local eateries in the area, a great carvery up the road by taxi or a short drive, a chinese restaurant withing walking distance or the local curry house. The curry was great! Had a couple of beers and a chat with other guests in the lounge until about 1030 and then to bed. Family room, nice firm mattress on the 4 poster bed.
Breakfast was great, between 8 and 9am, and a full english.
Left for the passing out parade at HMS Raleigh by 915am and we got there just after 20 past 9, yes, it is that close.
Tried the recommended carvery on the way back and that was a fab meal.
Got back to the St James at around 830pm and sat in the lounge bar until 1130 with Tiny and other guests. Didn't see or hear a dog nor did we see any evidence that a dog was in the guest area at any time, very clean and tidy.
Value for money of the stay was excellent and would recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

my family and i stayed here for my nans 90th birthday, party which was held in torpoint, my dad and mum arrived first and rang us to tell how disgusting it was, unfortunately they were right. bedding was stinking and dirty, the shower was gross, no hot water, the hosts were appalling, and the breakfast was revolting, we were served mouldy bread and the dining room was filth. i have no idea how this place has great reviews i reckon they have written them themselves. Do not stay here in my experience its the most disgusting filthy hovel i have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torpoint hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The St James Guest House is a small family run business. Clean and friendly and most importantly within walking distance of all buses and the car ferry into Plymouth. The owner is called Tiny but the reception and food is anything but. We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting several National Trust properties close by and Tiny leant us a local map to help with directions. We were very happy here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bedrom with view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekMHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#20 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Guest House

Property: St. James Guest House
Address: 16 St. James Road | Torpoint Town, Torpoint PL11 2BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
St. James Guest House Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing