We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very happy, lovely, welcoming place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Copley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copley Arms
Ranked #5 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very happy, lovely, welcoming place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

As we live not far from here, its really a lovely place and so happy to have found it. I cannot fault this place, everyone working there are lovely, friendly, polite, will do what they can to make your visit enjoyable.
Entertainment at times, lots of tourists visit, lots of locals, and you know what they say, if the locals love the place and use it, as well as eat there, it speaks volumes!
A little stream runs by where you can sit and eat/drink.
We will always make a beeline for this place, even after trying others at times :D Winter you will have a roaring fire to sit next to.
Anyone traveling/touring from place to place would love it here.

Tatty

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
36
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights & totally relaxed in this family run pub
Our room was clean with lovely crisp, cotton sheets, fresh towels & a mini fridge
We ate here every night & the food was fresh & tasty & it was lovely to have fresh bread & fruit for breakfast
There was a wait for evening meals as the pub was busy (Cornwall, sunny august, kids off school!) but we were always informed of how long by pleasant, young waiting staff who stayed professional despite the rudeness and impatience of some of the other customers
We liked that we were left to come & go as we pleased and someone was always around if we needed anything but we weren't pestered
We will be visiting again soon, taking some family with us, as we felt so comfortable & the price of B & B had not been inflated for the summer season
Thank you to all at The Copley

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

a big thank you for a wonderful and relax time .we were very happy with are room it was very clean.the food was good and a good choice.the love river to sit there in the mornig was lovely thank you all sarah and pete

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights; this was our second stay at The Copley Arms. Situated in an excellent location very close by to Seaton beach and Looe Bay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is lovely. We love sitting outside next to the very pretty stream and lovely surroundings, enjoying a drink and some food. We had a very relaxing stay will definitely be coming back later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked for one night and ended up staying 3, having never been down that part of England before everyone was so helpful and friendly the food was great, and we felt very much at home, it would be wonderful to go back before we go back to NZ, we were also more than happy with our room which was very comfortable. A big thank-you Mike and Dianne and all the staff and family. Jenny and Rowan

Room Tip: All great, rooms downstairs handy to backdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself my partner and our son came here last night for a meal after being at the beach for the afternoon and was hoping to finish a nice day with some good food.. How wrong. My son had a child's burger, chips and beans - this included a dry burger bap and one very limp looking pan burger in the middle. My partner also had burger and chips and coleslaw - the coleslaw was such a small amount it could have been served with a tea spoon and it was the same situation with his burger. Last but not least - the worst meal I have ever had is my "Catalan chicken" - this consisted of 1 chicken breast, plain, greyish white and absolutely nothing on it. This was sitting on a bed of TINNED TOMATOES. Utterly disgusting, and to top it off my garlic bread that came with the dish was a burger bap cut into four with a little spread of garlic butter and I think microwaved so it was soggy. I'm very saddened that I have to write a review like this but sadly this place deserves it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AimiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyArms, Owner at Copley Arms, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It is regretful that this customer was not happy on their visit to the Copley. We served almost 250 meals that day and only received this complaint. It is a pity the customer did not complain at the time giving us the opportunity to put things right as we most certainly would have. The Catalan Chicken dish has many more ingredients than tomato including olives, onions, fresh garlic, paprika and chunks of chorizo and the garlic bread is made with fresh garlic, fresh parsley and real Cornish butter. It is always far better to mention any issues at the time. This applies to ALL restaurants and gives an opportunity to put things right there and then. Should the customer wish to contact us directly we would be more than happy to discuss it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torpoint hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped there for two nights while visiting Plymouth and Cornwall on a weekend break. Looks good from the outside. The staff were not customer friendly. The food was not interesting just basic. Rooms ok.

As a local pub it's ok

Will not visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
5.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn on the Shore
The Inn on the Shore
#1 of 1 in Downderry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Seaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Arms

Property: Copley Arms
Address: Hessenford, Torpoint PL11 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Copley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley Arms Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing