We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay...”
Review of Copley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copley Arms
Ranked #7 of 10 Torpoint B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights; this was our second stay at The Copley Arms. Situated in an excellent location very close by to Seaton beach and Looe Bay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is lovely. We love sitting outside next to the very pretty stream and lovely surroundings, enjoying a drink and some food. We had a very relaxing stay will definitely be coming back later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    20
    13
    12
See reviews for
38
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked for one night and ended up staying 3, having never been down that part of England before everyone was so helpful and friendly the food was great, and we felt very much at home, it would be wonderful to go back before we go back to NZ, we were also more than happy with our room which was very comfortable. A big thank-you Mike and Dianne and all the staff and family. Jenny and Rowan

Room Tip: All great, rooms downstairs handy to backdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself my partner and our son came here last night for a meal after being at the beach for the afternoon and was hoping to finish a nice day with some good food.. How wrong. My son had a child's burger, chips and beans - this included a dry burger bap and one very limp looking pan burger in the middle. My partner also had burger and chips and coleslaw - the coleslaw was such a small amount it could have been served with a tea spoon and it was the same situation with his burger. Last but not least - the worst meal I have ever had is my "Catalan chicken" - this consisted of 1 chicken breast, plain, greyish white and absolutely nothing on it. This was sitting on a bed of TINNED TOMATOES. Utterly disgusting, and to top it off my garlic bread that came with the dish was a burger bap cut into four with a little spread of garlic butter and I think microwaved so it was soggy. I'm very saddened that I have to write a review like this but sadly this place deserves it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AimiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyArms, Owner at Copley Arms, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It is regretful that this customer was not happy on their visit to the Copley. We served almost 250 meals that day and only received this complaint. It is a pity the customer did not complain at the time giving us the opportunity to put things right as we most certainly would have. The Catalan Chicken dish has many more ingredients than tomato including olives, onions, fresh garlic, paprika and chunks of chorizo and the garlic bread is made with fresh garlic, fresh parsley and real Cornish butter. It is always far better to mention any issues at the time. This applies to ALL restaurants and gives an opportunity to put things right there and then. Should the customer wish to contact us directly we would be more than happy to discuss it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torpoint hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped there for two nights while visiting Plymouth and Cornwall on a weekend break. Looks good from the outside. The staff were not customer friendly. The food was not interesting just basic. Rooms ok.

As a local pub it's ok

Will not visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this great Old 17th century Coach House, we stayed for 3 nights this June 3 easy to get to by road there is plenty of car parking FREE. We were greeted by Mike & Di the owners.
very friendly and happy people. They took us to our room which was very nice plenty of room and clean with on suite, the room has TV Coffee and Tea and a baby Fridge.The breakfast had plenty of choices all very nice, the meals on the evening menu had a good selection we ate there every night great Beer Too,it was my wife's Birthday and they done her proud.out side you can drink by the trout steam .The Inn is 4miles from Looe. Great place to use as a home base to see Cornwall,we will be back again.
Thelma & Roger

Room Tip: room 2 has own parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmanpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner, myself and our 5 year old daughter popped in for a meal on a Saturday night. The Copley Arms was very busy but we were found a table by a very polite young lady and given menus. The food when it arrived was delicious, generous and reasonably priced. The young lady who was waiting on the table, who we later realised was the daughter of the owner, was a joy happy to spend time chatting but working extremely hard to please many people. All of the staff were pleasant and polite. The pub has a lovely ambience a nice friendly place to visit, would be lovely on a hot day right next to the river with lots of trout to watch. Cant wait to go again with all 4 of our kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen100170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and i have just returned to N.Ireland after an weeks holiday in Cornwall and this is one of the nicest places we found to eat.The food was that good we came back 3 times during our stay and all dishes were cooked to perfection and menu is vary reasonably priced.The staff were pleasant and very helpful and of course the local ales were a treat.We are returning next year for a 10 day stay and the Copley Arms will be our first stop.Thanks to all at the Copley Arms.
David & Ellen Berry,Drumbo,Lisburn,Co Antrim,N.Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torpoint
3.8 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
596 reviews
5.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
848 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Seaton
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finnygook Inn
Finnygook Inn
#2 of 2 in Crafthole
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Arms

Property: Copley Arms
Address: Hessenford, Torpoint PL11 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Torpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Torpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Copley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley Arms Torpoint, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing