We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.24 July 2013John & Sue Honiton , Devon.”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #5 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 2 days really nice pub, great food especially Cornish breakfast . Very friendly and helpful staff ,didn't have any decaff tea but got some next day Thankyou. The rooms were very clean well looked after as was the bathroom. The view was pretty good to overlooking the sea .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear John and Sue

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had had a great stay in our lovely Cornish Inn and particularly enjoyed the breakfast. We were only too happy to provide decaff tea, something we probably should have had anyway, so will now keep on as on option.
We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

really nice pub that is good for tourists, nice staff and a comfy old style place which is a real cornish treat. very central to visit all parts of the Lizard.
Try the cornish stout on draft really nice.
has outside seating also

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear farrowp

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our lovely Cornish Inn and appreciated the traditional feel and charm of the place.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a very long day walking the coast path, the Top House pub was a welcome sight. Myself and two friends had one twin room and a double. The rooms looked to have been quite recently "done" and were clean, modern and of a very decent standard.

We managed to agree a discounted rate for eating and drinking in the pub and had a very good experience.

Breakfast was a decent size and of good quality and the food in the evening was pretty good as well. Overall - pretty good.

The Lizard Village has a bit of and end of the road feel to it but the views from the coast path are pretty spectacular as usual.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyi-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Andyi-24

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay here at the Inn.

It was interesting to read that you felt the rooms had recently been done; they were refurbished in 2007 so several years ago now, however we do upgrade furnishings as needs be such as cushions, throws, etc. I guess that is testament to how well we maintain them in all areas and our housekeeper certainly does a grand job keeping them spotlessly clean and fresh.

We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes
James and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Lizard before, many times. This is the first time we have stayed at The Top House and we are so glad that we did. The pub, restaurant and our room were very clean and tidy. We stayed in the Kynance room which had great views, one window looked out towards the Lighthouse and Old Lizard Head and the side window looked out towards Kynance Cove. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for a days walking and meals were served throughout. The fish was excellent, we had the Hake served on crushed new potatoes in a lovely sauce, we could have eaten it every day!
The bar serves St Austell ales, my favourite was Proper Job but be warned it goes down too easily and you can't remember going back to your room!!
They also serve weaker ales starting from around £2.70 and locally brewed ciders.
We stayed for 10 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. If you sit at the bar you find some really nice locals who are happy to chat and share stories with you, our favourite was a retired lifeboatman called Peter Mitchell and his dog Cretey who my girlfriend adored.
We will definitely go back to The Tophouse and would recommend it to anybody wishing to stay at The Lizard. The walks to Cadgwith Cove and Kynance Cove are a must.
Many Thanks Michael and Vicky. :-) XX

Room Tip: it has one of the loveliest coastlines in the world on its doorstep,and the walking made us fitter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Michael and Vicky

We are so happy to hear you had such a great time here and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Inn. Kynance certainly is a beautiful room and the view is delightful, particularly watching the sun set over the cove. It was great to hear you enjoyed your food and that the breakfasts set you up nicely for the day out walking.

We certainly have some lovely local’s at the bar who make such a great atmosphere and welcome visitors. There are some great stories to listen to!

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another relaxing stay.

Best wishes
James and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whenever we are visiting the area, John, Kookie (our Jackchi) & I make a beeline for The Top House. Whatever the time of day we &, most vitally, our dog are made most welcome. Delicious food is always available. A definite improvement on my home-cooking & I'm not a bad cook! Also we last visited on a rainy, chilly June day after walking to & back from The Lizard & the warm, toasty open fire was most welcome. The food is well-priced as we are assured the ingredients are locally sourced. We made enquiries to stay for our next Cornish break & would have booked but alas we learnt they don't accommodate dogs. C'est la vie...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Trisha m

Many thanks for your lovely review and for your continued support. It means so much when we have visitors who come and see us when they are back in The Lizard.

So sorry that we cannot accommodate you on your next break as we do not accept dogs in our B&B rooms; we only allow dogs in the bar area currently.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We hope next time we see you the weather will be better but like you say, even if it’s not it’s a good excuse to get the lovely open fire lit!

Best wishes

James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Top House had been recommended by friends who stayed a couple of years ago so we booked in for two nights when staying in the Lizard. From arrival, James, Donna and the whole team could not have been more accommodating. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was beautifully appointed and the view out towards Kynance Cove was really special. The first night of our stay we ate in the restaurant, both selecting fresh fish from the specials menu. These were both outstanding and if fresh fish is available I'd definitely recommend it. We enjoyed drinks in the bar on both nights of our stay, it is a very friendly and relaxed place, made all the better by the fact we only had to climb a flight of stairs to get to our room. Breakfast was lovely, a good selection and all the meats were from the local butcher and very very tasty. The Top House has an excellent location right by some truly spectacular scenery - I couldn't recommend a visit to this part of the country any more. In the rooms there were local honey based bath products for use and we bought some to bring home with us as a memory of our trip. We'll be returning in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Kathryn
Many thanks for submitting such a lovely review; we are so pleased your expectations were met and you felt so welcome and found the bar to be friendly and relaxed. That’s just what we like to hear.

We love this time of year when we can regularly get such a variety of fresh fish on our specials menu and we are glad you rated your meals as “outstanding”; we will pass this news on to our chefs. It is fortunate that we have such a great butcher literally across the road and the meat is excellent quality.

It was good to hear you enjoyed the complimentary honey toiletries too.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lizard is the most southern point of England, a picturesque península only 30 miles from Landsend, in Cornwall. I stopped in front of The Top House Inn, a wonderful old pub in the middle of the small village and asked for a room. As it was a Saturday, my chances were slim to find accommodation. However, the pub, which was also a hotel, happened to have one double room left which I took immediately for the overnight charge of 80 pounds Sterling, breakfast included.

The landlord showed me into a wonderfully refurbished room with a comfy double bed (I was alone though) and a large modern bathroom. The shower-cell was spacious enough to accommodate 2 people at the same time. WIFI, in room TV, a coffee tray set up, but no minibar. As the room was on the ground floor I could hear every step of the guests in the above room. However, I had a good night’s rest without any further disturbances.

The breakfast was really outstanding. A young lady taking your order while you have your first cup of excellent coffee. The scrambled eggs were the way they should be and the croissant was nice and warm. However, much to my surprise, they did have any porridge.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Of you want a really quite room, ask for one on the first floor. Mine was on the ground floor where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friedrichwelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Friedrichwelke
Many thanks for your lovely review; we are glad you were surprised by what our lovely Inn had to offer and that you managed to get the last available room!
We do have porridge and are so sorry you were told we didn’t have any. We have spoken to the member of staff who looked after you at breakfast and they are now aware that if a guest would like porridge, it can be made to order even though it is not on the menu.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope you will come back and see us if you return to The Lizard in the future.
Best wishes
James and Donna Glosby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
700 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
9.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Address: The Lizard, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $118 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing