We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every respect”
Review of The Top House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Top House
Ranked #3 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class in every respect”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The room was bright and clean and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food also was excellent.

Can't praise this place highly enough, accommodation, pub and restaurant were all first class.

Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEYeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    63
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
134
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked 3 rooms at this hotel over Easter for family. The welcome we recieved was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and gave all information we needed. I was travelling with a very young baby and on arrival reception told me they had got their travel cot out just in case I needed it. They also put is all on a table in the dining area with plenty of room for the pushchair so as not to disturb the baby if she was sleeping.
The rooms were very clean and decorated to a very high standard. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at this pub as part of a ten day charity walk around the south west coast path. Good things about it were that the pub is lively and offers good cask ales. The atmosphere from the locals seemed friendly and warm. The breakfast was fine. The room was very comfortable and plushly furnished.
On the down side I found the reception a little cold and stand-offish. Everywhere else I went over the ten day walk people would ask a question about 'where have you walked today?' or 'where are you going?'. But in this pub no-one asked and I sensed that no one really cared. In fact, I wasn't asked anything - 'is everything OK?' or 'How are you?". The absence of those basic courtesies does create a negative impact. Perhaps it was the end of the year and they are a bit jaded by all of us walkers. At the end of the evening I asked if it was OK to take my pint to my room and watch TV. "As long as you don't throw it around the place" was the half jokey reply. Not the most welcoming of replies. In fact over my ten days at different establishments this was one of two places where I did not experience a welcoming attitude. Disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinJSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Arrived at my previous booked guest house,found it was dreadful and left in search of somewhere else to stay, checked the Hotels around Lizard and they are away overpriced..i found the Top House and was fortunate to get the last room..Excellent, great large bed and great views also bathroom with a powerful shower. Its better than some top class hotel rooms.

We got the very last..they must keep the best till last..which am thankful.

Would return again, got B&B for £85 for two is good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great place! Friendly, helpful, and great pub!! Looked like rooms have recently been redone. Modern, clean and comfortable.
Would strongly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a good value and pleasant stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utbjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having completed some research on hotels, inns and B&Bs in various Cornish locations, we booked the Top House through Expedia for 5 nights.

Upon arriving we were met warmly and were shown up to our bedroom (Kynance room) on the top floor. What can I say, but the views via the 2 windows were stunning! The comfy double bed was positioned so you could sit there in the morning and look out across Lizard point to sea. The room is tastefully decorated and we had a brand new TV in the room too, although as a slight downside, the DTV reception is a bit dodgy - not that this mattered a great deal with amazing sunsets to watch, a friendly and comfortable pub to sit in downstairs and a nice big bath to relax in after much walking!

We used the Inn as a base to walk around the Lizard from - Kynance Cove, Mullion and Cadgwith are all within a few hours walk around the amazing coastline. The Lizard Lighthouse is a very short walk too.

Once we finished walking, the Top House bar was a nice place to get back to, sit in and order food and drinks from. The food is good pub food which we ate every night. The breakfasts were lovely and very filling; enough to keep you going for a while!

All things considered, this is a lovely Inn, well positioned, friendly, clean, well decorated rooms and we'd recommend. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Book Kynance if you can for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HantsTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Good room, £85 double ensuite. Food in restaurant was very nice

Room Tip: double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
574 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
9.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Helston
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Top House

Property: The Top House
Address: The Lizard, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing