We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place to stay !!!”
Review of YHA Lizard Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Lizard Point
milfordplaza
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay !!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great value accommodation, with very friendly staff and
possibly one of the very best sea views anywhere in the World.
Nice, peaceful and relaxing.
Also, one of the very best Cafe/restaurants only a few mins walk away
at the Polpeor Cafe. Great for evening meals while watching the sun set,
and fantastic food, at realistic prices.
All contributed to a really great value weekend on the Lizard.
( Warning - The Beds were a little short and uncomfortable for tall visitors.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
13
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Walking the Coast Path I just had to stay here, it's even further south (just) than the lighthouse next door. I was lucky enough to have a male dormitory of four beds to myself. The dorm was fine, the shower was OK except I managed to shut the lighting cord in the door and struggled to re-open it - marks on the door frame suggested that this had happened before. No breakfast was a bit of a pain but there is a large catering kitchen if you bring your own food or get up early and walk to the pub in Cadgwith which is what I did (they stop serving at 09:30, though, and if there's a group of you, book ahead).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hostel is in a fabulous location, is a great building and is very well-looked after. Our room was a reasonable size (five bunks for 2 adults and 2 kids) with the best view I've ever had from any hotel in the world and exceptionally clean. The kitchen is well-equipped and also spotless.
The only two things that were a drawback for us was that it was really quiet - no other families for the first two days of our three night stay and most people went to bed early - and the volunteer who was looking after the place seemed to find the guests a bit of an inconvenience.
I like YHA hostels and this is probably one of the best, but I worry that YHA is losing its core purpose. There was no encouragement to socialise and no activities (like there is in French hostels). But, for all that, you really could not fault the view or the standard of accommodation so if you like a quiet getaway it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea view but may be worth asking for this before you book. Rooms at the back suffer f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Even if I am used to the hostel, I have to say that this one was amazing. very big kitchen available (no breakfast service) and clean as well. I found bedroom very comfy with sea view included. I did really like this place as absolutely in the dark outside so that you can see the lighthouse light so impressive and fascinating. price perfect too....please remember your hairdrier if you like as here is a bit expensive (2pounds for hiring!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 74_Isy_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my first experience of a YHA hostel and it was a pleasant surprise. Good comfortable accommodation and a well equipped kitchen. The weather was good so we had wonderful views by day and the stars at night! Also the lighthouse light sweeping across the sky. I don't know how I would get there without a car, I was given a lift from Truro, but it's worth a trip for the walking and the location. The Witchball Pub and restaurant is nearby - very good food and beer. Also recommend Anne's Pasties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed their for a night in August, very clean and confortable rooms, some overlooking the clif.
Beautiful location, easy acces by car and if you are walking on the cornwall cost trail.
Has a massive very clean kitchen, a dining room, a living room and even a dining room for groups so that everyone can enjoy their holidays.

Will go back as soon as I do my next trip down to cornwall

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with view if you want to had a romantique side to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great location, hard working staff, lovely rooms, great facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
572 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
797 reviews
6.3 mi away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 2 in Coverack
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lizard Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lizard Point

Property: YHA Lizard Point
Address: Lizard Point Youth Hostel Polbrean, Lizard TR12 7NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Lizard Point 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Lizard Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Lizard Point Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing