We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Forge is an ideal place for a couple to stay...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Forge

comfortable sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
comfortable sitting area
double bed kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
comfortable sitting area
double bed
kitchen area
patio
view from upstairs window
View from cottage on early summers morning
Front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lizard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cgh49
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Forge is an ideal place for a couple to stay and visit the Lizard and surrounding area,you won't be disappointed .”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely holiday staying at the Forge the last week of September.As you have read the other reviews ,I won't repeat all the lovely things that people have said about it apart that they were spot on.What I will say is that if we return to this area in the future we wouldn't dream of staying at any other place .I will just add that everything that one would want such as tea bags,coffee,washing up liquid,towels,scones with jam and clotted cream,fantastic views of the countryside and a sea view in the distance are all supplied.A fantastic place to stay and the owners Ann and Nigel couldn't be more obliging,a lovely couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really enjoy meeting all the visitors that stay and it is a pleasure to help make their visit to The Lizard a friendly and enjoyable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you so much Jill for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you have enjoying your week with us. We love living on The Lizard and it is our pleasure to try and make sure that all our guests have a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rhodri00
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, and beautiful accomodation”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Firstly I would like to thank Ann and Nigel for a fantastic break, they really have made a hidden jem. The Forge is situated in a quite area with great connectivity to all the Lizard has to offer.

It was great to enjoy the peace and quiet in great surroundings, enjoying a beer on the patio while watching the sea in the distance. We had several evening strolls down to Church Cove and around the coastal path.

Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you Rhodri for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our intention to make sure our guests have a peaceful and happy holiday and we do hope that you will visit us again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A hidden gem, total rest and relaxation. The pictures don't do this place justice, it's just beautiful. So cosy, clean and well maintained. Lovely gift of a cream tea, fresh milk, flowers and chocolates.
Lovely local pub, great walks. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is our pleasure to have guests stay at The Forge and always our aim to make sure that they feel welcome and have a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teaclippe...
Bedford - England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place and perfect location”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a warm welcome on arrival from the owners, Ann and Nigel. A cream tea was waiting for us - wonderful after a long journey! The cottage was very clean and comfortable and was equipped with everything we needed for a two week stay. Wifi was ideal for emails. Phone reception in the area was a bit patchy, we were told that 'ee' is best, however, I was using Vodafone and managed to find 'hot spots' so not a problem. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are looking at returning.
Great house, very friendly community, lovely place to stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on The Forge. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_0001...
Lizard, United Kingdom
1 review
“very nice!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we have enjoyed our stay very much. The house and especially the view from the couch were great! Thank you very much!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias L
1 review
“Very cozy little apartment with excellent views on a great location”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The small apartment is very well furnished and nicely decorated. It has great views over hills with sheep and horses as well as over the cliffs and the sea. It's cozy to spend time in, also on rainy days. It's perfectly located, a short walk takes you to the little village where you find everything you need, and it's a perfect starting point for longer walks along the cliffs. Ann and Nigel and the cat are all very warm and welcoming. The Forge is a highly recommended place, we would come back any time!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and do hope that you will be able to visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing