We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Ice Cream”
Review of Roskilly Ice Cream

Roskilly Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brill Ice Cream”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As we only had ice cream, I cannot comment on the quality of the food served at Roskilly although people on the table opposite had tea & cake which I must admit look delicious. The Ice cream was Fab and was as good if not better than our local Marshfield variety. Three varieties were ordered, coffee, caramel crunch & ginger, all as good as each other. Unfortunately the scoops served in a tub looked smaller than that served in a cone. All in all a nice place to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryanlarge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“More marmalade please!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have visited here for many years, and it never looses its charm.
This year we discovered their marmalade and toast and I must admit we were a bit addicted, to the extent the waitress suggested we could buy a catering pack for our return home tomorrow ....the food and ice cream is delightful quality and the staff are relaxed and friendly. We can't wait to return next year. Thank you x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARKERLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this place for last five years and always look forward to it.
I particularly look forward to their fantastic salads and we usually eat there almost every day during our holiday as we stay nearby.
This year they have a new menu and it's not a patch on their old one-no salad bar! We're still gutted that they stopped their BBQs a couple of years back. Not sure why because it was hugely popular.
It has always been a job to get a table there but worth the wait. This year we could have sat anywhere at any time-as it's on our way back from the village to our cottage we walk through daily.
Risk illy staff and local pub staff also said that the food wasn't as good since the menu changed and I think this was also evident from the lack of customers. We couldn't find anything we wanted on the menu.
In addition, it was quite dirty. The tables are quite old and tatty and very sticky so the wasps were everywhere. We thought about trying the inside area but it was airless and like a furnace, even though it wasn't a hot day.
Very disappointed altogether-this has been our favourite place to eat and drink for years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm100mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too many wasps!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Have always visited, for the past 8 years. Called this evening, for something to eat but unfortunately their were far too many wasps for us to have enjoyed a meal. I realise they are limited with what they can do but we have not experienced this problem anywhere else on the Lizard, cornwall. Shame really- we won't go back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Morish milkshakes!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After walking from our digs in coverack we made a pit stop adhere!! We ordered a pot of tea for two and two milkshakes. It's two scoops of any ice cream made into a milkshake. We went for strawberry and wow it was scrummy! Great service, I didn't know we needed a table number to order but this was far from an issue for the ladies taking my order and they even brought our order out to our table even though it was quite busy! Great atmosphere and sweet little sparrows around the place. Had a nice wander around the grounds before continuing with our walk!!x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LW2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roskilly Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Roskilly Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing