We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike and Sue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Caerthillian Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Extremely comforable well run B&B . Brilliant breakfast , from full English to whatever you want , if he can , Austin will oblige . Stayed for a week , a wonderful base to explore the Lizard peninsula , both walking and driving .
Austin has a good knowlege of the area and it is well worth having a chat with him , if you want any help / advce .
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 , which being a corner room has a very light and airy feel , with windows to the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Caerthillian Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very user-friendly Guesthouse - one of the best we have stayed at. Austin was incredibly friendly and helpful. And they cook a full English breakfast that's a work of art. We stayed in Room 3 which is very light, spacious and it has an excellent sea view. And the rates are extremely good value. Lizard - the village - was a very pleasant surprise including three very good restaurants within easy walking - or staggering distance - depending on how many pints of Doombar or Korev have been downed by the end of the evening! And finally there are wall to wall beaches around - including my favourite anywhere in the world - Kynance Cove. Still a magic place. Rock on!

Room Tip: Room 3 is excellent if you want a distant sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank Tettsu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned from another brilliant stay with Austin and Linda at the Caerthillian. Its a great Bed and Breakfast, they are just so friendly and the breakfast options are just superb.
The rooms are lovely and airy, its just a lovely place to relax in. If you want stunning coastline you will be hard pushed to better The Lizard. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

After a very warm welcome I stayed for two nights in a very nice and clean room (I got a key, could leave and come in as I wanted). The breakfast was how I wished it. To kep it short: A completly satisfaying stay by very friendly people in a well kept beautyful house.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Annalea92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had another wonderful trip in August, this b&b continues to be our favourite. See my previous reviews really, nothing has changed, it's still the best b&b we've ever been to. Austin and Linda are always so friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts are amazing, the room is lovely and always spotlessly clean. We will continue coming back to the Lizard for the foreseeable future as it's one of the most wonderful places in the world, and we wouldn't ever stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexy8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been spending 8 - 10 days at the Caerthillian for 10 years now during the summer. We love Lizard - such lovely places to walk and ideal as a base for exploring this magical place. This is a Victorian house with lots of character, the rooms are bright and airy and spotlessly clean - a must for us. Generous hospitality tray and lovely soft white towels every day. Lots of hot water and drinking water quality is great - no need to buy bottled water!
Brilliant breakfast, whatever your taste and much choice.
Austin, Linda and family are the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful; we feel so comfortable around them - home from home without the work!
Excellent value for money and we believe, best rates in the village. We have no hesitation in recommending the Caerthillian.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this b&b during our walking holiday on the Lizard. The location of this place is great, only a short distance fromthe official path (and you can even cut a corner if you use different footpaths).
Austin, the owner, is very welcoming and was also one of the few owners who confirmed our telephone booking via email - great to reduce the stress levels!
The b&b is in a lovely old Victorian building and as a previous reviewer mentioned: if you want modern, this is not for you. However, everything was very well maintained and clean and we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast is served in the entrance hall and was very tasty.
I would have given this place 5 stars except for a few minor niggles:
When we arrived, Austin took our shoes and stored them in the laundry room. Unfortunately, they were still just as wet in the morning as they had been at night. Clearly, if you are walking on a sunny day, this wouldn't be an issue.
Our bathroom was carpeted - personal preference, but I am not a fan (carpet was new and very clean).
No wifi reception which I missed a bit since in general the mobile receptin in this part of the world is dodgy to say the least.
All in all, I would definitely recommend this place - any small niggle was made up for by the friendly owner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshirewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caerthillian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caerthillian Guest House

Address: Lizard Head Lane, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most prominent buildings in The Lizard, she has accommodated visitors since early Victorian times. En suite bedrooms, sea views, private parking. Prices from £35 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Caerthillian Guest House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing