We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talking in the Lizard!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Caerthillian Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Talking in the Lizard!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

First of all: Austin and Linda (the owners) were very kind and helpful people. We talk with them during breakfast, more or less for I think two hours, having a really good time. So thank you all for your kindness!
Then, about the b&b: I think it is beautiful during summer, now they are having some renovation on the outside (we were there before the beginning of the season, so it is normal to have some work in progress). Building is really nice, with is light blue exterior.
Room was very good, with a huge bathroom (never seen one so big in UK), and breakfast was amazing (the sausage was the best I have ever eaten, bought at local butcher, from local farms).
It is located just behind the square, and all places to eat are within walking distance, and also you can go to Kynance Cove or The Lighthouse by foot.
Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: I think every room is ok, we had room number 3, it was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
55
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really helpful and friendly.
They drove my mother and sister which stayed at the YHA to the youth hotel.
The room was nice and had a LCD-Tv.
Really near to center of Lizard.
Breakfast was good.
Bathroom missed a shower head.
Sadly when I had to leave early on the last morning, I asked the evening befor to prepare my breakfast a little earlier, he forgot it so i had to leave only with some bananas, which he quickly gave me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

As a treat to the end of a stressful Christmas my husband & I needed some sea air to blow the cobwebs away and decided to head down to Cornwall again as we had such a lovely time during our last visit. We decided to try our luck and hoped that The Caerthillian would be open and much to our pleasure, it was! Our blustery arrival was warmed away by Austin and Linda who showed us to our warm,comfortable room, with its tea making facilities & variety of hot drink options,along with some delicious biscuits.After a lovely soak in the bath, we headed to the Top House Pub(a stones throw away from the guest house),at the top of the lane, and enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal and a nice pint of ale. After a lovely, snuggly sleep in the most comfortable bed,we were looking foward to a repeat of Austins wonderful full english breakfasts.We were not disappointed,it was yummy! With wonderful walks to the Lizard light house,Kynance Cove and drives to Cadgewith,Helston and the Qweek Seal Sanctury, we spent three comfortable and restfull nights at this 300 year old guest house,The Caerthillian. Austin,Linda and their family are wonderful hosts with a wealth of knowledge regarding the Lizard, and interestly the history of their house and the surrounding area.We couldn't recommend a lovelier,peaceful haven hidden in a wonderful place!

Room Tip: All rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A truly wonderful B&B. Comfortable rooms providing excellent value, and an exceptionally friendly welcome from Austin and Linda. Highly recommended - especially the breakfasts!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangorstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having stayed here twice in recent months, I can thoroughly recommend staying at the Caerthillian. It is a very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. The breakfast will keep you going all day whilst exploring the surrounding area.The welcome was genuine, warm and friendly and felt like home from home. Looking forward to returning here in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Caerthillion has a wonderful location in the centre of The Lizard.
Its a real home from home,
The rooms are very comfortable and very well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and tv.
The owners Austin, Linda and their family are the most wonderful hosts you could ever wish to meet and can advise you of all the local attractions and activities available during your stay.
We had stayed at The Caerthillion previously when other members of our family booked us in and we are so glad they did now we have found this brilliant b&b we would not dream of staying elsewhere and have returned year after year and will continue do to do so for many years to come its a true highlight to our holiday and we will recommend anyone staying in Lizard to stay here.
To Sum up The Caerthillion its simply the best for its location,atmosphere,quality of service,comfort and facilities in the rooms and value for money and Austins breakfasts are legendry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coesfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are in for a real break and are looking for some great accomodation, stay at the Caerthillian Guest House. Their rooms are cosy, spacious, 100% spotless and bright and "the full English" is delicious - what else do you need when doing the Coast Path? Austin, who has got a heart for vegetarians, and Linda - both of them ecoconscious foodies - made our stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks a lot from Guido & Klaus

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caerthillian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caerthillian Guest House

Property: The Caerthillian Guest House
Address: Lizard Head Lane, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most prominent buildings in The Lizard, she has accommodated visitors since early Victorian times. En suite bedrooms, sea views, private parking. Prices from £35 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Caerthillian Guest House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing