We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Caerthillian Guest House
Ranked #4 of 12 Lizard B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Caerthillion has a wonderful location in the centre of The Lizard.
Its a real home from home,
The rooms are very comfortable and very well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and tv.
The owners Austin, Linda and their family are the most wonderful hosts you could ever wish to meet and can advise you of all the local attractions and activities available during your stay.
We had stayed at The Caerthillion previously when other members of our family booked us in and we are so glad they did now we have found this brilliant b&b we would not dream of staying elsewhere and have returned year after year and will continue do to do so for many years to come its a true highlight to our holiday and we will recommend anyone staying in Lizard to stay here.
To Sum up The Caerthillion its simply the best for its location,atmosphere,quality of service,comfort and facilities in the rooms and value for money and Austins breakfasts are legendry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Caerthillian Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are in for a real break and are looking for some great accomodation, stay at the Caerthillian Guest House. Their rooms are cosy, spacious, 100% spotless and bright and "the full English" is delicious - what else do you need when doing the Coast Path? Austin, who has got a heart for vegetarians, and Linda - both of them ecoconscious foodies - made our stay an unforgettable experience. Thanks a lot from Guido & Klaus

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We´ve been to Lizard for a music festival, and have chosen the Caerthillian as it was nearest to the campsite the festival took place on. Booking was no problem at all by email.
Arriving in Lizard we found out that the place was situated ideal for our plans, rooms were spacious and clean, bathrooms fine, bed very comfy.. Austin and Linda have been very welcoming, with lots of tips, and we had a lot of chats with them, even though Austin was forced to join the danish tradition of having a drink just after breakfast, which was executed by our danish friends we´ve been with.....
All in all, a great time, will be back for sure, at least to check if they enjoyed the german beer and the CD of the band we supported on the festival....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muecke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A wonderful place, one that we return to again and again and will continue to do so. We're already missing it, roll on next summer when we can go back! I said it all in my last review really, fantastic people, lovely rooms, beautiful place, tasty breakfasts, the Caerthillian has it all. The best b&b we've ever stayed in, and absolutely fantastic value for money. Only wish we could visit more often :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexy8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After a long and tiring journey The Caerthillian was a warm and welcoming retreat for a peaceful rest, along with a friendly and helpful service.The bed was really cosy and comfortable,and we slept like logs. The host and his wife were really lovely serving a scrummy English Breakfast the next morning.They also gave us plenty of info about the surrounding area and places of interest to visit. All round it was an excellent stay and we definately intend to return to this little piece of heaven on our next visit. We would highly recommend the Caerthillian as a restful place to stay if you ever visit The Lizard area of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Lovely views
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent rooms and very friendly owners. The first place on our walk who did washing for us. The lunch bag was also excellent and a lot of fresh food in it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A very imposing property both inside and out. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, great breakfast and Austin is a great host - so laid back! He made plenty of time to advise us on the local pubs and restaurants and more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
0.4 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#5 of 12 in Lizard
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caerthillian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caerthillian Guest House

Address: Lizard Head Lane, Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most prominent buildings in The Lizard, she has accommodated visitors since early Victorian times. En suite bedrooms, sea views, private parking. Prices from £35 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Caerthillian Guest House Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing