We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Hostile unfriendly staff, mediocre rooms and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Hostile unfriendly staff, mediocre rooms and food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

After many years of planning to stay at this wonderful location we finally got there to be treated with almost palpable hostility.

Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank C_Cretemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    25
    19
    6
See reviews for
28
149
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

the hotel is very well located. It's just on the cliffs with a wonderful wiew at the lighthouse and the green meadow.. It has a very nice beach just down to the hotel
The proprietors are very kind, the atmosfhere is familiar and in line with the nature outside. But what is real special is food. Apart from the magic view and the lighthouse light in fornt of the restaurant, the cuisine is excellent, refined and original.
The best food I hade in all Carnwalls ..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giungla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

These are just three words to describe the holiday I had in the Summer!
The room had stunning views of the coast line and was also a sun trap. It was always clean and was serviced daily.

The restaurant had an excellent range of food and catered for special dietry needs. Presented to a high standard the staff were more then willing to cater for our every need.

With the coast path at the bottom of the garden no need to get into the car to explore the magnificant coast line of The Lizard.

The family run hotel creates a lovely atmosphere, which has certainly enticed me back for both an Easter and Summer stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Having read mixed reviews about HBH on TripAdvisor before travelling, we were somewhat apprehensive about this hotel. In addition, the first part of our trip was in Devon, staying at a hotel that exceeded our wildest expectations, so the Housel Bay had a difficult act to follow.
What we found basically was pretty much what we expected. The lift was permanently out of service except for luggage transfers, so a disabled guest would have been awkward to deal with (there are no ground floor bedrooms). Our second-floor room was very average, without a sea view, and only a shower instead of a bath. The plumbing in this hotel is old and noisy; if you are a light sleeper you will be awakened early by pinging pipes!
If it is foggy, the nearby Lizard lighthouse will be sounding its foghorn which will also keep you awake, until you get used to it!
The gem of this hotel is the bar/restaurant. The food was so good that we ate dinner there each day, eschewing other local eateries in the hotel's favour. The only criticism one could make is that the specials board did not vary much, but the quality was 5-star.
The Sunday menu is different to the remainder of the week, a roast-dinner type menu being offered all day with no chef's specials.
Breakfast was served in the bar dining area, which has superb sea views. The breakfasts were very good with a cold buffet and choice of hot dishes, served by friendly and helpful staff. Your table is denoted by a small plaque so the seating plan is chosen for you. The hotel catered for non-resident diners, so even if you are not staying there you can enjoy the fine food for lunch and dinner.
There is a large garden area with seats and tables, which we used for afternoon tea so as to enjoy the sea views.
The hotel has been in the same family for 25 years

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

My partner and I were probably spoilt on our 'West Country Tour' by the previous hotel where nothing was too much trouble. In the light of this, we were surprised at the tone of the welcome on arrival. Our booking was eventually verbally confirmed and we were told our room number (27). This turned out to be tiny for a double, barely sufficient room to walk between the bed and the wardrobe. The lift was out of order for passengers however we could use it to deliver our luggage to the second floor.

Although the room was recently refurbished, even with it's lack of space, we felt it lacked something in the way of warmth/ambience, particularly being north facing overlooking the static caravan at the back of the hotel.

The hotel was well situated for the walking holiday which we had planned and we found that we were generally able to eat early in the evenings, enjoying the view over the bay. The staff were generally helpful and polite however the owners always appeared to be extremely busy and not as personable as some of the privately owned hotels which we have enjoyed in the past.

Our room was clean and the shower room sufficient for our needs. I found that I could not sleep particularly well due to the noise levels in the hotel, particularly the loud closing of fire doors on the stair cases and people walking past the room at all odd hours. The local lighthouse fog horn over 24 hours did not help with the sleep either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxiqueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Housel Bay offered to us an outstanding family holiday. The cheerful friendly staff could not have been more helpful and supportive in all our needs and requirements. The food is truly outstanding; congratulations to the chief and her team. As foodies we expect the very highest of standards and we were not disappointed whether they be fish or meat dishes. It is always good to taste local incredients; the lobster straight out of the bay was a wonderful meal. As for the rooms, they were well furnished, spacious and always spotlessly clean. And the view; truly spellbinding. We shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headmaster0_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I booked an exec room with sea view for my first wedding anniversary. Upon arrival after a 7 hour drive, one of the employees told me that the owner had moved my booking to the following day and he told the owner I would not be happy. He then took me up to a twin room the size of a cupboard overlooking the car park with no explanation that this was not the room I booked! The owner returned after 2 hours and claimed it was a computer glitch, then let slip that the room I booked had been subsequently booked for 6 nights. Do the maths! He did not offer a rebait or an apology. I did not have the booking confirmation so I started to doubt myself until I returned to work the following Monday and realized that I was right all along. Beware! I did not take up the offer of the twin room and had to drive another hour to find another hotel. This completely spoilt my weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank isaacandshab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
20.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Housel Cove, Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing