We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location, shame about the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

My partner and I were probably spoilt on our 'West Country Tour' by the previous hotel where nothing was too much trouble. In the light of this, we were surprised at the tone of the welcome on arrival. Our booking was eventually verbally confirmed and we were told our room number (27). This turned out to be tiny for a double, barely sufficient room to walk between the bed and the wardrobe. The lift was out of order for passengers however we could use it to deliver our luggage to the second floor.

Although the room was recently refurbished, even with it's lack of space, we felt it lacked something in the way of warmth/ambience, particularly being north facing overlooking the static caravan at the back of the hotel.

The hotel was well situated for the walking holiday which we had planned and we found that we were generally able to eat early in the evenings, enjoying the view over the bay. The staff were generally helpful and polite however the owners always appeared to be extremely busy and not as personable as some of the privately owned hotels which we have enjoyed in the past.

Our room was clean and the shower room sufficient for our needs. I found that I could not sleep particularly well due to the noise levels in the hotel, particularly the loud closing of fire doors on the stair cases and people walking past the room at all odd hours. The local lighthouse fog horn over 24 hours did not help with the sleep either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxiqueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    26
    18
    6
See reviews for
28
149
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Housel Bay offered to us an outstanding family holiday. The cheerful friendly staff could not have been more helpful and supportive in all our needs and requirements. The food is truly outstanding; congratulations to the chief and her team. As foodies we expect the very highest of standards and we were not disappointed whether they be fish or meat dishes. It is always good to taste local incredients; the lobster straight out of the bay was a wonderful meal. As for the rooms, they were well furnished, spacious and always spotlessly clean. And the view; truly spellbinding. We shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headmaster0_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I booked an exec room with sea view for my first wedding anniversary. Upon arrival after a 7 hour drive, one of the employees told me that the owner had moved my booking to the following day and he told the owner I would not be happy. He then took me up to a twin room the size of a cupboard overlooking the car park with no explanation that this was not the room I booked! The owner returned after 2 hours and claimed it was a computer glitch, then let slip that the room I booked had been subsequently booked for 6 nights. Do the maths! He did not offer a rebait or an apology. I did not have the booking confirmation so I started to doubt myself until I returned to work the following Monday and realized that I was right all along. Beware! I did not take up the offer of the twin room and had to drive another hour to find another hotel. This completely spoilt my weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank isaacandshab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer. Room was small but well equiped and recently refurbished - bathroom was spotless and almost new. view was excellent (room 22, at the front in the middle). The restaurant was excellent with superb quality of food and friendly service. wine list is good and reasonably priced. the view from the back of the hotel is across houses and probabaly not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachyporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Lovely clean sea view room, very attentive owners and friendly staff with great chef and bar. Highly recommended for secluded quiet lazy break.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inhalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband and I were really disappointed by the experience staying here. It was mainly down to ther service - we felt they really didn't care about whether we had a good stay or not. This is the first time I've ever written a review, but really felt I ought to share what I found there.

In line with other travellers' reviews the room was small for £100 and the bathroom was rather outdated, however it was clean enough. Overall I'd say the room was acceptable but not great value for £100.

Where we were really disappointed was the bizarre service and restaurant booking and eating system - completely not what I expect from a hotel. When I booked I was told over the phone that we could decide on check-in whether we preferred to eat in the bar or restaurant, as the menus changed so we could decide based on what was being served that day. We arrived at 4pm so plenty of time for this.

However, when we were reading the menus to decide, the maitre d' (I think the wife of the owner) told us straight off (without us even asking, we were still reading the menu at thids point) that whichever one we picked there were no window tables left and that we should have booked earlier! Then when we said ok we don't mind not having a window table we said we'd like to eat at 7pm and she said no, they were fully booked until 8.30pm with "hotel guests". I was tempted to point out that we also were hotel guests!

Normally this wouldn't be an issue for us to eat later, but we had a very early start the next morning which I explained to her and asked if we could eat right at the start of service at 6pm to which she also just said no. I said we really needed to get to bed by about 9 (we were up at 4.30am the next day and my crazy husband was running 44 miles for charity!) and asked what other options we could have. Maybe just sandwiches in our room, or was there a pub nearby we could eat at? She just said no everytime and didn't even try to help us, as if we were being really cheeky trying to eat a meal early!

I was really upset at this, not so much for having to eat later, but because she was so rude and unhelpful. My husband suggested we go out for a short drive to enjoy the local area and relax, so we drove less than 5 minutes down the road to the village at Lizard Point and there found a lovely local pub and a great clifftop cafe serving excellent local food at very reasonable prices! We had a lovely meal there, no pretensions just really friendly staff and tasty meals. Would highly recommend it for those staying in the area. I think it was called the most Southerly Cafe. I'm sure the hotel knew about these places as its such a small town, but was disappointed they didn't try to help us.

When I have been in a similar situation in other hotels and they were unable to fit us into their restaurant, the norm was to recommend another place locally and book you a table there so as not to spoil the experience of staying in the hotel. i was sad they didn't do this.

Breakfast the next morning was fine. Again a bizarre table booking system: I'm used to a first come first served set-up where you walk into the breakfast room and pick your table. In this one each room had a table assigned. This meant that even though when I arrived all 9 window tables were empty, I had to sit behind a pillar. When I left, 1 of the 9 window tables was taken. What a waste of the sea view! And its still a mystery to me how people even get allocated the best tables....

The saving grace of the Housel Bay is Alfred the owner on reception. A lovely chap, very friendly and welcoming.

So in conclusion, the views are lovely, the building is interesting and attractive, the gardens and parking are great too. The rooms are adequate and the service is just odd and at times upsetting for me. It feels like a very antiquated guest house, the type you would go to for the same week every year and book your restaurant table 6 weeks in advance. Not in my view well suited to a weekend traveller or to younger couples (my husband and I are under 30, the average age there was about 55)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LK1000Surrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Food - 10/10
Views - 10/10
Peacefulness! - 8/10 (depends on fog horn at lighthouse!)
Service - 9/10 - Good, but felt it could be slightly better
Decor - 7-8/10 - This has been updated, and is certainly nice and clean, but the odd thing here and there is a bit dated!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disrupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
10.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
20.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Housel Cove, Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing