We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

whilst we did not actually stay at this hotel we did eat there on a number of occasions, the interior did look dated, but the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, the lady who owned it found us a table with the best view even on a very busy night and what a view!!! even if your just out for a walk on the cliff tops stay here for a while and have a drink and spot of lunch, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    25
    19
    6
See reviews for
28
149
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came here for a meal on our last night.
We sat in the conservatory part and the views over the ocean and lighthouse were out of this world.
The service and food was professionally done. It was a real fine dining experience and very well presented.
I would definitely recommend it for couples on honeymoon and for a peaceful tranquil experience. The hotel had a very nice character about it. We did not see the rooms, as we were not staying there but would like to next time we visit the Lizard and Cornwall.
The food was quite well priced and the specials board had lots of very nice seafood dishes.
One of the nicest meals I have had for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve3678_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great views, helpful manager.
Unfortunately the rooms need a refurbishment and the mattresses renewed.
The restaurant serving staff need some training. Failed to understand why the tables in the dining room, which were set up for meals, were not used. Dinner was served on the verandah and no table cloths used. The serving staff stomped around which was quite distracting and negative. Could even hear them from our room which was on the first floor!
Quite spoiled what was a relaxing, quite enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Room with a view a must to gain full ambience of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent a last-minute night stay at the Housel Bay Hotel. Our first impression was breath-taking. The view is probably the very best this hotel can offer. Unfortunately the service/customer care was a full let-down! And gave our stay a bit of a sour taste. Spending almost £300/night, we had to view/let us into the rooms ourselves. The dinner was delicious, but the serving stuff miserable, lazy and unfriendly. We also had breakfast at the hotel and one of the non-trained waitresses even had a go at us for asking to change the table for a better view (which was available, just not set up as yet). Compared to the dinner also the breakfast was a let-down..blunt and flavourless...keeping in mind the price. You will be better off to stay in a hotel near by and to enjoy the view by hiking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa 太
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely stay at The housel bay hotel. The views are absolutely amazing. Excellent food, very helpful and friendly staff........
Just rooms need refurbishment ..........
Breakfast from 8.30- 9.30 , but if you are late still have lovely food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just stayed here on a short honeymoon trip around Cornwall. What an amazing place, and as one previous reviewer had pointed out, an eclectic haven and definitely not your run of the mill hotel.
The views are absolutely amazing, the welcome warm and the food excellent.
Alfred, the owner made every effort to make sure we had a great time and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful too.
If you want a really relaxing escape, this is the place; we will be back.
Thank you Alfred and the rest of the team.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view. It can't be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Another great stay at The Housel Hotel, Housel Bay. Front facing room this time with beautiful view. 2 blinds plus curtains meant that lighthouse beam was not distracting at night. Excellent food although the menu was the same most nights. Very helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast not until 8:30 but we soon got used to having a lie in!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lizard
4.8 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
10.1 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Housel Cove, Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in a spectacular location at the Lizard in Cornwall. A lovely sandy cove nestles beneath the Hotel, and the Cornish Coast Path runs through the gardens and cliff lands. A place in which to walk, to eat and drink well and to set aside the cares of the world. Unspoilt scenery, outstanding cuisine (AA Rosette and RAC Dining Award) and a healthy lifestyle, we are also home to Britain's most southerly webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing